We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value 2 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We too were on a Travelzoo deal, complete with evening meal on the first (Friday) night.
Overall it was excellent value, though not a 5* experience that is expected of De Vere, but that's probably because it is a relatively recent acquisition. There is huge potential to make this into a luxury destination, but lots of work to do (particularly on the grounds). The long driveway is not one I would wish to navigate in the dark as there are numerous large potholes. Reception staff were helpful and the room was fine, if a little small, though the bathroom was a good size. The dining room is very impressive and the evening meal was fine. Breakfast was a good quality buffet which was frequently replenished. No cold dishes (cheeses/hams etc.) were available, however, which is o.k. as long as you are not there for a longer stay.
Although the hotel itself is a little isolated, the overall location is great with reasonably quick access to the likes of Evesham/Stratford and the north westerly Cotswold villages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear mikebWakefield,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. Your kind feebdack is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here on a racing weekend, the staff were very pleasant and friendly, room was clean and warm, bar and restaurant had lots of character, would definitely stay again and recommend it to others. Excellent value for what we paid.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank theshawsfromeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear theshawsfromeccles,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved staying in the castle and thought it was excellent value on Travelzoo deal. We upgraded to turret room and the atmosphere of an old building was beautiful and as we expected. If you want a modern hotel without creaky floorboards don't stay here - but if you want helpful reception staff, historic building and amazing croissants we recommend! The dinner was good though charging for £1 for rolls is a little mean and possibly embarrassing for waiting staff.
We hope to return and would love to learn more about the history of the castle and the ghost that apparently frequented our room!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the building - there is no lift to this area so its not suitable for pe...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaDKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear MaDKipling,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Like many we took the Travelzoo deal. The hotel was full on Sunday night. As others have commented, the building is in need of substantial investment as are the grounds and the bone shaking but impressive driveway. The room was a good size and well appointed with a large bath in an adjoining turret. Bed not at comfortable. Breakfast was OK if a little disorganised but dinner was disappointing. The staff are helpful and friendly but could do with some basic training. The waiter who brought our wine didn't even remove the foil before drawing the cork and asked if we wanted fresh glasses when switching from white to red. Is that being picky? Don't think so, nobody had bothered to show him. So a mixed experience. Lovely setting and reasonable value but you're always expecting Basil Fawlty to stick his head round the door. It could be fantastic.

Room Tip: If on a special offer probably worth upgrading your room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear David W,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent visit to Studley Castle.

Having read thoroughly your concerns, please accept my sincerest of apologies for the challenges that you faced during your visit and I can assure you that all the points you have raised have been shared with the respective managers and added to our training plan so that going forward, we ensure that similar events do not occur in the future.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion

Best Wishes
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just got back from a short stay there, the hotel is magnificent looking a bit tired here and there, the staff very pleasant.
The room we had we thought what a lovely room, on closer inspection the window had mould, the power was off and the bathroom radiator was not working, we duly reported faults to be told it would be passed on to maintainence how ever I do not think it was, so cold bathroom in morning.
So staff in that area was not helpful.
Good things there afternoon teas are to die for, beautiful cakes and the sandwiches were well presented it was a lovely tea.
The ceilings were a sight to behold every bit of decor was so tastefully done it was the best.
Would I go back yes but avoid ROOM 10

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Helen L,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. However, please be assured we will be taking appropriate actions to ensure that all of our clients and guests receive the level of service that they would expect whether it be for leisure of business.

Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you want historic surroundings, peace and quiet, good food, attentive staff and great customer service (lost property received within a week!) then this is a value for money hotel worth going to for a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisndjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear chrisndjak,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed on a Travelzoo deal which all things considered was great value. The castle itself is in need of some serious investment although there are signs of this but the location offers peace and quiet but as with the building it could be so much more.
Our room was dated and basic but clean and was a fair reflection of the price paid. The three course dinner was of a good standard and enjoyable. Shame about the wine list where only five of about thirty were in stock. Luckily the only red they had was well priced and very drinkable.
Breakfast could have been acceptable but one member of staff hadn't turned in so it was a rearguard action and guests were continually asking for cereal, plates etc. The staff did the best they could but were run off their feet.

Overall not bad value for money but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear ianboardman64,

We thank you for your feedback following your visit to Studley Castle and note that on this occasion we did not entirely meet your expectations.

The challenges you have referred to in your posting are noted and have been taken on board and where appropriate further training will be implemented or remedial actions will be taken. Please be assured that your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually and we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Best Wishes,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
216 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
4.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing