We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in everything but staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked a Travelzoo deal including D, B & B and glad we didn't spend more! Shown to a tiny double room with one chair and tv on same wall as bed so not viewable. Paper peeling off walls in corner of room and in sheets in corridor. Asked to be moved and shown to room in original castle, big room with lovely ensuite and no peeling wallpaper. Public rooms grand. Very restricted menu for dinner, choice of 3 for each course - we're told this was a new menu. We both had pate with onion chutney - nothing to write home about. I had salmon - moist with tomatoes, spinach and potatoes which was all bland. Mike had roast of day - ham with very disappointing veg ('roast' potatoes, more like boiled and browned) sprouts and carrots. Chose cheeseboard as most likely to be tasty dessert- how wrong. Cheese should be room temperature but it was too cold. The staff were very attentive and apologetic, no complaints as to service. A shambles otherwise. Not up to DeVere standards as we have otherwise experienced and we won't be returning! Such a shame as the area is stunning and the building could be exceptional if up to standard.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PinkElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear PinkElly ,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. However, please be assured we will be taking appropriate actions to ensure that all of our clients and guests receive the level of service that they would expect whether it be for leisure of business.

Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a great night stay mini Christmas get together.The building is very impressive and would be good for romance and weddings.The young staff group were excellent,nothing was too much trouble.Special thanks to Mike Emma,Connor and Kim for breakfast service.Standard rooms are compact but clean and lots of storage.Will go again in summer to make use of the grounds and terraces.Evening meal was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaroseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Lindaroseh,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and joined some friends for a Travel Zoo overnight stay. This hotel was until recently operated by Best Western, but is now part of the De Vere stable. Prior reports refer to the somewhat tired nature of the Hotel, something that I do agree with when it comes to the bedrooms. The public areas are ok, and the Restaurant is an amazing space with a high vaulted ceiling. The upsides are the Staff who are great, and the food. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. The hotel has clearly learnt the lessons referred to by others regarding the breakfast. We had no complaints. The two areas that need attention are 1) the public rooms are both cold and have low light levels. We could not even read a newspaper, and at one stage, in the bar, we had to put thicker coats on. 2) the bedrooms need refurbishment, better beds and pillows are a must, that and a good lick of paint. The room we were in was small with a single small desk chair.

Having said all this the hotel was good, indeed at the Travel Zoo price, it was great. If De Vere wish to move the Hotel to 4 or indeed 5 star they will need to spend some serious money on the bedrooms, and improve the heating, but the potential is there. Yes there are some builders around but they didn't impact on us at all

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Robin F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel itself was amazing driving up to a castle was a beautiful scene to be welcomed with. The room itself was small and basic but for the price it was well worth it ....UNTILL 8:15AM we were right outside where the builders were working which totally ruined the experience. The hotel itself should of firstly told the guests that some maintenance was occurring before booking but at least make sure they didn't start work before 9am when they were suppose too. When I finally got so angry I called down to reception they said they would go have a word with the builders. The banging sawing and drilling however, did not cease and we hastily had to leave the room with a headache and in our hast we left some clothes in the wardrobe. Not the relaxing country experience I was looking for, we deliberately picked this hotel outside of Stratford to avoid the noise of the town life, we had more relaxation in the falcon hotel, Stratford centre the next night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TER5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear TER5

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured we are taking appropriate action to ensure that all of our guest’s expectations are met and that all of our visitors receive the level of service that they would expect whether it is for business or leisure.

Kind regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is undergoing change from being a Best Western to a DeVere hotel. DeVere have only had the place since 30 July 2013.
We stayed on a cheap Travelzoo deal so it is difficult to be too critical.
The building could be fantastic but needs some serious money being spent. Some of the public rooms are huge and seem to be a bit of a problem to heat .All the staff we met were very helpful and enthusiastic about the developments and the General Manager was very positive about the changes that will be made. Will be happy to return in 6/9 months to see how it has developed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bact1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Bact1940 ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently booked three rooms at Studley for myself and my sisters to celebrate my birthday. Did this having read the very varied reviews on this website so ensured I did pay for an upgrade to a room in the Castle. That said this was still a great, value for money, break. The rooms were delightful, the staff were efficient and friendly, the meals were very good and we all had a great time. We arrived early but the staff went out of their way to get us into our rooms. I asked for tea lights on the dinner table (it was my birthday!) and got both tea lights and a complementary glass of bubbly. What more could you want.

Is the hotel perfect? No, it's a work in progress but most common parts are just lovely and the quirkiness just added to the experience. Was the food perfect? No, they had run out of apple pie so I had to have chocolate cake for dessert- what a hardship! Would I go again? Most certainly. This is not yet five star perfection but at the current prices this is a steal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Kate S,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Overall, a pretty good experience. The hotel is clearly being renovated which is reflected in the current price.

Our room was functional and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean - although when it came to having a shower the water pressure was extremely low and the temperature was either too cold or scalding. Hopefully a new plumbing system will be installed.

A couple of other things I'd suggest to make it better - our room was on the same side as the kitchen and some members of staff spent their breaks on the stairs outside, talking very loudly to one another and waking us up in the middle of the night and then again at about 6am. I would expect the hotel staff to have more consideration than this for guests who were trying to sleep.
There was a terrible low vibration noise until about 2am and then it stopped - I think it was coming from the extractor fan in the bathroom although it might equally have been coming from outside. Whatever the cause, it was really loud and kept me awake.

Overall though, the staff were/are amazingly hard working, helpful and polite. They were understaffed at breakfast - someone had phoned in sick - and as it was a particularly busy morning (the hotel was fairly full) they all had to work really hard, ensuring all the guests had everything they needed - so congratulations to the staff for this. It is much appreciated! Breakfast was delicious!

If I stayed here again I'd ask for a room facing away from the car-park and the kitchens as the views are better on this side and there would (hopefully) be less noise coming in from outside (there is no double glazing as it's an old building.) ... but I will wait until the building work is finished before returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the building from the car park and the kitchens.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyshine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear sunnyshine29 ,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
216 reviews
8.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
4.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 7 in Redditch
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing