We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night For Business” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“One Night For Business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed at Studley Castle expecting the worst after reading the reviews, however was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was extremely welcoming, both in terms of atmosphere and customer service.

Room was cleaned to a good standard and the decor was as you would expect for a hotel of this standard and price.

Bar area was extremely relaxing with roaring log fire and a good selection of beverages.

Evening meal was okay - a limited menu which did seem a little over priced at £16 for a main meal. However Studley is only a few minutes away by car, so it's easy to go out and find better choice.

The bed was a good size, however the springs did poke through, but nowhere near enough to prevent a solid nights sleep.

Overall an okay hotel which was reasonably priced with breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear PRG86

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    151
    122
    110
    99
See reviews for
82
256
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

It would appear my first review was a bit too strong and tripadvisor asked me to amend it, so I'll keep this one simple, Cold Communal Areas (Bar & Restaurant) dreadful service in the restaurant. Advertised facilities were not available (Mountain Bikes). Room had a problem with mould and 3 of the four radiators did not work. What a shame because the Castle could be a wonderful place to stay. But for the moment stay away and take heed of the other December 2013 reviews on this site. Like I have stated gutted to have to write a poor review because it could be really good at Studley Castle.

Room Tip: Turret Room views good but a bit chilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRQMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear theRQMS

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would like to assure you that we take all feedback received at the castle very seriously indeed. We are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at Studley Castle. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore some faith back in our team and our property sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Studley hotels

Redditch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Castle was quiet as it was soon after New Year but the staff were very attentive and the food served was of good quality,all freshly prepared and tasty. Of particular note was the Duty Manager Matt who was professional and helpful.

The bar is warm and welcoming and all the public areas were clean and well presented.

Room Tip: I did not use a bedroom or conference facilities but believe there is an ongoing investment/refurbis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear HilsRedditch,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and food.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

As someone who works in customer service I felt it was my duty to write about a fantastic experience myself and my girlfriend had in this beautiful hotel!
We arrived early evening and booked in to our room. We were in room 1 which is beautiful! Very spacious and warm! The bathroom had a sunken bath and was spotlessly clean! The only slight issue is the cold tap is hot unless you run it for about 20 seconds...but that is me being extremely picky!!
So onto our evening meal! The food was cooked to an exemplary standard! We are both accustomed to fine dining and could not fault any of the courses. The real icing on the cake came as the orders were taken for dessert! As I didn't fancy any of them I asked if I could have a cheeseboard and the chef duly obliged and it was delicious!
We had a couple of drinks in the bar then headed to bed and had an excellent nights sleep. The breakfast that followed on from our slumber was outstanding and on a par with any I've had in any other hotel at the very least! Checkout was smooth and they almost forgot to charge us for our bottle of wine with dinner but we reminded them and paid. I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff who made our stay so comfortable!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shroom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Shroom888

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

WOW studley castle ..... what can we say?? saw this place pop up often as me and my partner always like to randomly decide to go away for weekends just to get away t get some peace and this hotel kept poping up with great deals, eventually we booked to go here and our first impression driving up the driveway to see a miniature warwick castle like uilding and we went WOW inside it carried on and the staff were welcoming as soon as we entered. the room was basic room rate but was impressed with room. we went into the garden and it was idyllic and felt at home immediately. Great variety of breakfasts and because of all this its our favourite retreat and we have been several time's

Room Tip: Room 10 in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Very best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed just after christmas as a quick getaway. When first arrived the view as you come up the drive was amazing, and I was impressed upon first sight. Once checked in by a fabulous young lady, Jennifer, who could do nothing but to help us in anyway she could. However once we got in the room things started to change, the room was tiny, and looked onto rubbish bins and the staff smoking area! Things didn't get better in the restaurant, with two young staff struggling to serve 30 or so people with absolutely no management, which meant we didn't know who to complain to about the long wait and cold food! The young man who served us in the bar the next night was impressive and helpful, as well as a manager, i think his name was james though I'm not sure. Overall a slightly disappointing stay, with the staff needing clear management, and the managers that there are having the correct support!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicas198324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear jessicas198324


Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for my special birthday treat with a large extended joint family party- what a location!
All the rooms we booked were extremely comfortable warm and of an expected level of cleanliness for De Vere and some really outstanding.
The communal areas were a little chilly but I would expect that of a castle.
Just need a few extra layers of clothing at this time of the year.
Food outstanding and the staff went out of their way to make our stay special.
With such a large party service was a little erattic at times but staff attitude to please more than made up for this. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for grounds view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, Reservations & Revenue at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely feed back from your recent stay!

Your feedback has been very valuable to our team, as this has gave the staff both a moral boost and recognition for their hard work.

If ever you are back over this way, please feel free to pop in for a coffee in our library bar as It would be lovely to welcome you back to De Vere Venues Studley Castle

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing