We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family stay for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family stay for a wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding.
What a lovely place, beautiful settings, quiet, tranquil and very relaxing.
The wedding was great and the food was excellent. The wedding dinner room was decorated to perfection.
The bar is nice a cosy but a little small for a wedding reception.
The breakfast was also excellent if you like an English fry up, but beware of the toaster! I have stayed in countless hotels but never seen a toater that works, this way and managed to set of the fire alarms and have the place evaquated.....whoopss.

Other than that, it was great, good value and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jcharries,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    151
    122
    110
    99
See reviews for
82
256
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here in December on a travel zoo deal for 2 nights.We were a bit apprehensive due to the very mixed reviews. The drive up to the hotel certainly has the wow factor ( could do with painting the humps in road white ). The hotel is obviously under going a make over when it is done the place will be amazing. We had a lovely room over looking open fields. We had our first evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent. 2nd night we dined out, on our way out there had been a massive water leak at the hotel, all the staff remained calm and the problem was dealt with extremely well. All the staff without exception were excellent and we both thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days there, the architecture in the castle is amazing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olwenwilliams99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear olpantyresk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We did not expect to much as most reviews seemed a bit down on the place however we were pleasantly suprised the room was excellent the views wonderfull bathroom clean and tidy would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Margaretmorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope we have the opportunity to you back in the future.

Kind regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our charity held a Valentine's themed event at Studley Castle and were really impressed by the quality of the venue. The room looked absolutely beautiful and was so cosy and inviting, especially with the real fire lit. All of the guests commented on what a great night it had been and that was due in no small part to both the venue and the staff. The meal was delicious and the team were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they ensured the smooth running of the night and constantly liaised with us to make sure everything was going to plan. We will definitely consider hosting another event there and are so grateful to the staff for all they did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedditchMHAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear RedditchMHAG,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated. The team who looked after you during your Valentines themed event at the castle will be delighted to know that you had a great visit.

I look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Booked for a one night mid week stay . Great venue and setting . Very pleased with our room - it was very specious with great views from windows overlooking scenery at the rear of the hotel . Bathroom was also very spacious . Dining hall , bar and lounge were really cosy - no complaints and would certainly stay again - great setting - friendly staff

Room Tip: Room 203 - rear of hotel - very quiet - no traffic noise lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for leaving your kind review. It is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife read recent reviews about the venue before we confirmed the booking and it certainly relayed mixed emotions. Ours was a delayed anniversary weekend and booked through KGB deals at £99 for two nights including breakfast, which was fantastic value. We stayed last weekend and arrived at 5pm on the Sunday evening, the weather was very poor and we had already decided to eat in, which I have to say was a very pleasant experience. The cost of the meals was reasonable at £25'ish for two courses and a similar cost for a bottle of wine and over two nights the standard of food stayed the same. (Breakfast was ok, but could have been hotter and offer more variety, probably not helped by the cold room!) Service was quite good and all the staff were very pleasant. However, this is where you can flip emotions in either direction, there were only a handful of couples in the room and the temperature was very low. As a result, there were three fan heaters on the go in a room that probably has a 25 foot ceiling and is large, but has a great atmosphere. There is an old fireplace in the room dating back to the early 1600's which should be used in the same way as the other communal rooms and hall and offer a little warmth.
The bedroom also offered a mixed feeling, as other guests have said, the facilities in the room are quite good, the bed was new, very clean and massive, the TV was fine, coffe/tea/water etc, but old and sad anaglypta wall paper on the walls and in the bath room with lino that was curling and had seen better days. I believe that all of the fires are gas fires too, but they look very realistic and offer warmth, at least to those nearest!
So, if you go on a deal, with a positive attitude, relax and take a warm jumper, you will say it is great, but if you have any negative thoughts, you can probably find faults everywhere. Not what I expected from previous experiences with De Vere? One final point, set your sat nav to go in via Studley, we entered from the other direction and had to tackle unmade roads with a few holes and bumps, travelling through the middle of a farm on a very wet night!

Room Tip: Other people have mentioned the newer block, I'm not sure where this was so will assume we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Mike B,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We take all feedback received, both positive and constructive, very seriously. Your comments are very much appreciated and most useful in assisting us with progression and development.

We hope to welcome you both back to the Castle in the future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Studley castle last weekend having booked the oft mentioned Travelzoo deal. We really enjoyed our stay. Food quality was excellent and very good value. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The room itself was on the small side but had a generous sized bathroom and large bath. Nice to have good tea and coffee making facilities and mineral water. Having seen the variability of other reviews I was wary as to what we may find but it was all very good.
As mentioned before the building itself is fascinating and the grounds look worth exploring although the awful weather at the weekend prevented us doing this.
Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful-thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Chilledoutlady,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to Studley Castle. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the rest of my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
4.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing