We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My romantic fella booked this hotel for us for our anniversary and I have to say we had a fantastic time.On arrival the staff were lovely and very helpful. Our room (304) had the most stunning views over the grounds of the castle but was a bit small and we were slightly disappointed not to have a bath. The room was SWELTERINGLY hot so anyone who has complained about it being too cold in the castle is clearly mistaken as even in the communal areas (diningroom etc) its was a pleasant temperature. The Mattress on our bed was horrid but that is our one complaint about the whole stay.
Once we had unpacked we took a walk around some of the grounds which really are stunning..
We booked a table for dinner at 8pm and had a drink in the bar before hand, bar staff were helpful and friendly and offered interesting facts about the castle and the bar itself was warm and snug.
When we went for dinner the diningroom staff were fantastic and we wanted for nothing, the room itself is GORGEOUS and the food was beautiful.
As I mentioned earlier the bed was not comfortable so we didn't sleep very well but that did mean that we got to see the deer and rabbits wandering in the grounds at 6am which was magical.
Breakfast was standard hotel breakfast but again the staff were so friendly it really made everything so much nicer.
Overall we had a truly brilliant stay at Studley Castle and came home totally relaxed. We are so thankful to all the staff for being so welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We were in 304(newer part) on 3rd floor and views were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle_dowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear danielle_dowd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have also taken steps to rectify the issues highlighted in room 304

once again thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    151
    122
    110
    99
See reviews for
82
256
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed there as a couple feb half term on a groupon deal for 2 nights. The staff were extremely pleasent and helpful especially Ruth on reception. On arrival we had afternoon tea which was included a lovely plate of delicious sandwiches and home made scones with jam and cream and cakes all home made with pots of tea and wine. The breakfast was as delicous with all local produce being used and freshly cooked. Our room was in the west wing and although the radiator was very hot and couldnt be turned down they did offer to move us if we wanted. There was even complimentary bottles of water renewed daily and the room was lovely and clean. You could even have a nightcap complementary of whiskey or port very nice and something you dont often see. The castle was amazing and carried a lot of interesting history as well as the lovely gardens, There are loads of places nearby including caddbury world and several national hgeritage sites. we would strongly recommend a stay here and we wouldnt hesitate to go back again. Thank you to all the staff we loved our stay. well done.

Room Tip: east wind is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Pipuk,

Thank you for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We had a three night stay at the end of February. The approach to hotel was impressive but would be more comfortable if the road was better maintained.
Our room was compact and clean but far too hot. Opening a window to cool the place down wasn't a problem, however, leaving it open overnight meant were disturbed by staff gathering and chatting below our room from 5.30 a.m. onwards, presumably as they arrived for work, or perhaps were on a cigarette break!
It is a unfortunate but we felt like we were staying in the Marie Celeste. At times the 'limited' staff were hard to find, although when we did get service they were all very friendly. The food in the restaurant was good on the two nights we ate in but the lack of many other guests 'killed' any atmosphere.
I know it was a quiet time of year but it is a shame that such an impressive venue is not more popular, as it is in a lovely location and close to lots of nice places to visit. The break we had was good value for money but we don't feel very inclined to make a return visit based on this experience.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JCT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear JCT61,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated which I have shared with the team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

To be honest I read mixed reviews on this Hotel and this will be too.
We arrived for a 2 night stay and greeted in a very casual don't care way as was the checkout. The room was small but clean, modern and very adequate, the bathroom was clean and a generous size. The Hotel looks half done all the way through and maybe they could put signs up where they are refurbing so people can at least see what is being done and where. we stayed for dinner on the first night - the whole bar and restaurant lacks any atmosphere at all and that is partly because the dining room is so big un yet no character and also the staff had no personality/drive. We ordered pate and smoked salmon for starters, the pate was fine, but the smoked salmon of 2 inches square and a curl of cucumber was very poor. We then both ordered lamb steak. At no time did anyone ask if it was ok and always the staff seemed elsewhere so we ate it, but it was infact Beef ! When we told the waitress, she said "I know - I wondered if you would say anything"," sorry you can have a sweet free of charge"..... strange reaction to say the least , the sweets - cheese and biscuits and apple crumble were both very poor and I wouldn't have liked to have paid for them anyway to be honest.
Breakfast was adequate but again the staff were devoid of personality and lacking training to be honest. The second breakfast did not happen, the chef overslept it seems ! at 8am there were 3 couples waiting and we could not have anything cooked. We had to leave at 8.30am and so could have toast and coffee as the hot food was still not out. At the checkout we complained about the dinner and received a discount but that was before breakfast otherwise we wouldn't have paid for that either..... not good all round - sorry - won't be rushing back - shame because location was ideal for our needs now and in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaLoo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear LindaLoo1964,

I would like to assure you that we take all feedback received at the castle very seriously indeed and we are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at Studley Castle.

I am disappointed that we did not meet expectations. Our kitchen have also been made aware of your feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore some faith back in our team and our property sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Studley hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

On arrival the castle is beautiful, set in its own grounds at the top of a long drive lined with trees. After dark a green light shines out from the grand reception hall (perhaps to set the scene for the historic ghostly tales of the rooms in the tower - if you want to know more you'll have to ask the staff, after all, who doesn't love a ghost story!!) The building itself is stunning with fabulous architecture, stained glass windows, wooden panelled rooms & ceiling paintings to make anyone proud to be English. I should imagine that many of our American visitors with a love of our ancient times, would find it hard to find another hotel which can rival these attributes, particularly at this price.

The hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment programme & we have seen the improvements made on our return visits. Any minor points others have mentioned are indeed that & do not over shadow the splendour of the original features. There are various pictures dotted around the hotel which are close ups of the carvings & figureheads etc. on the external building. These are a lovely touch and a good reminder to look closely at the building to appreciate our past.

All of the staff are extremely friendly with a 'can do' attitude, willing to meet any special requests to ensure guests enjoy their stay, all you have to do is ask. Customer care is obviously paramount, such a refreshing change.

The surrounding fields make this a peaceful location so we enjoyed the best nights sleep we have had in many a hotel. There is plenty to do near by, we visited Stratford Upon Avon, Mary Arden's farm and the motor museum at Gaydon. All were extremely enjoyable.

All in all this hotel offers good value and we would certainly consider another return visit.
Vicki Raine

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Vicki505,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed Friday night & Saturday night (21 & 22 Feb). Initially the placed looked amazing as you went round the corner of the drive, although the drive was in poor condition and at night you would not have been able to see the humps! Overall the building is great and has excellent potential.

The room was warm with good CH but the lounge, restaurant and bar were very cold. They had CH but not any where near effective enough.They had nice effect log/coal fires but no heat given out. What about ceiling high blowers, lots of old places have them. What about logburners, the castle itself demands real fires.

A quick list of the issues;

We had to have the afternoon tea in the bar, as it is the smaller of the main rooms and was the warmest. This was at 16.15 hrs and there was around 20 or so half empty glasses of beer on the bar top, horrible, from an event the night before. Even though wine was included, if you did not ask for it, you did not get it!!
Main areas too cold to sit, had to go to bed.
Table in front of fire in restaurant!!
Chips over cooked and lamb steak tough! (not worth £16.00)
Coffee after was served in a Cafetiere but was instant! Crazy if you enjoy coffee.
The breakfast on the Saturday was excellent but not many in the hotel.
We stayed out all Saturday and eat out.
At breakfast, if you can call it that and we came down at 09.20 although it closed at 10.30.(no juice, no beans, no plates, no juice glasses, asked 4 times for a pot of tea, no more tea pots, no one to welcome or take your room number, so had to self mess to get a table, chase around for cutlery, eggs ran out, told that 'staff/we' had no time to get more glasses. Had to go to reception to complain about staff treatment and attitude, even on checkout not asked 'did I enjoy my stay' .!

I must have missed some stuff out. Overall not very well managed. We did speak to the breakfast manager, as she asked us did we enjoy our breakfast and she just apologised, which I am sure is what the general manager will say but WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?? We paid for a level of service and did not get it, apologies cost nothing and are easy to say. If we had not paid in advance, we would have left on day 1, when it was cold. A refund, doubt it!!??.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 904NigelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear 904NigelB,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Please be assured we are taking appropriate action to ensure that all of our guest’s expectations
are met and that all of our visitors receive the level of service that they would expect.

Yours sincerely
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here and it truly is a Castle, it is hidden away and such a little gem, it is being done up bit by bit as it was looking tired in places but that being said it more than makes up for that by being such a beautiful building, peaceful with wonderful views outside. The bedrooms clean,comfortable and cozy. The breakfast great and the evening meal was very good. We would definately visit this place again. Upon driving down the drive towards the hotel it looks so dramatic and at night when lit up it is so beautiful. Great place for couples for a romantic evening.

Room Tip: we were in the bedrooms to the rear of the property which was just beautiful. Regardless, I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Valerie H,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing