We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
The Throckmorton(Alcester)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Court Hotel(Alcester)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southcrest Manor Hotel(Redditch)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Hotel(Redditch)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Meadow Farm(Redditch)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bridge House(Henley-in-Arden)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
81
151
122
110
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
151
122
110
99
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent a night in the area on business. Found the castle, although the rooms are looking a bit tired, more than suitable. Amenities are sufficient for the business traveller, no problems with wifi, which is generally a big problem in older buildings. Dinner was very tasty, and plenty of choice of wines. Service and staff friendliness in the restaurant and at the reception was excellent. Relaxing atmosphere, the superior rooms are well worth the additional cost I will definitely be going there again.

Room Tip: go superior, especially for the couples who want a romantic stay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineBMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so happy to know that the team here at DeVere Studley Castle was able to ensure you had an overall nice time with us. Thank you for your review. I will be sure to discuss this feedback with team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Thank you mstarkey@studleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What an awful hotel. Bedroom was at the top of long flight of narrow stairs in a turret which you would think would be lovely but no the most uncomfortable beds and black mould round windows and up the wall in bathroom. Shower head wouldn't stay up, bath cracked, no loo roll, bin full of previous occupants rubbish and it doesn't end there, restaurant food on floor under table obvious throughout the hotel that they rarely hoover, decor dirty and dusty. Restaurant staff miserable and food not as described - rocket and Parmesan salad normally has rocket in it not a bowl of mixed lettuce with no rocket at all. Only saving grace was when asked on departure was everything ok when I listed issues the bill was discounted by 50% but would rather have paid full price for a lovely stay as setting is beautiful. Very disappointed as De Vere normally associated with good hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graceal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard, so if you could please email me your contact details and when is a good time to call you so we can discuss your recent stay that would be wonderful.
Thank you mstarkey@studleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is without exception the worst hotel I've stayed in, ever. The one rating was for the pleasant way in which staff dealt with complaints. My partner and I stayed one night. The first room was a twin you couldn't swing a cat in. We had actually booked a double, so back to reception we go , the receptionist kindly changed rooms. The second room we entered to find the room was occupied. Oops good job we are honest and left when we noticed shoes / clothing and jewelry on the dresser. Back to reception we trotted bags in tow, the reception apologised and issued a third room ( My partner sniggering as he heard one of the staff say, yes its clean, the chef has left). This was romantically described as ' the old part of the castle'. Please don't be fooled by the hype, this actually means the bit that's visibly damp, smells of rotting mould and poorly cleaned, the Shower was broken and only one cup and towel .We knew we couldn't walk out of this hotel, (we would have gone home) however we had tickets for a comedy event in Stratford and hotels in the area were full, therefore pretty stuck! I did feel sorry for the lovely staff, a couple who'd just booked in for a weekend break had seen their room and were checking out. Owners need to seriously think about this hotel, it's slipping into dilapidation and decay. This is not a snobbery issue either folks, this is a fairly modern rebuilt castle and we have stayed in better kept youth hostels.
Anne and James

Room Tip: We should have taken note of trip advisor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard, so if you could please email me your contact details and when is a good time to call you so we can discuss your recent stay that would be wonderful.
Thank you mstarkey@studleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Where to start! Arrived down a long drive which was more potholes than Tarmac to find a nice looking castle among a load of tatty huts that were grotty & derelict. Our room was a very low standard with chipped woodwork, patchy paintwork, peeling paper, broken lock on bathroom, leaking shower.... Too much to list really! Dinner was even worse. The vegetarian option was risotto or risotto! I asked for a salad starter as a main and my partner had chicken breast. When they came out 45 minutes later the salad was old and brown and the chicken breast fillet had a thigh bone in it! Staff we're very sparse but they were helpful. They were just as fed up as the guests!
So in a nutshell it's not good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurs200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard, so if you could please email me your contact details and when is a good time to call you so we can discuss your recent stay that would be wonderful.
Thank you mstarkey@studleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.the location is perfect for visiting stratford etc.which we did on the first day.the second day we had a lovely walk to the village where we had a nice coffee and cake at the local bakery.in the afternoon we went to a lovely town called alcester ,which is very pretty and full of tea rooms.we especially enjoyed the vintage tea room called orange mabel.on going back to the hotel we had some cheese and wine which was included in our deal.the staff are very friendly and cant help you enough.th breakfast was also very good.we will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: the room we had was very comfortable.no noise .it was very peacfull
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Good afternoon,
Thank you taking the time and trouble to put your wonderful feedback on to the tripadvisor website it really does make a big difference to our business.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle very soon.
Kind regards Mark Starkey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews