We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Sunday meal”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Booked table for 4 after golf and enjoyed the Sunday menu.
The pork belly starter was fantastic followed by the "nearly famous" fresh fish pie, which was also great. Finished with a non messy "Eton Mess" that was light and refreshing.
Great service on top made our menu extremely enjoyable.
We will defiantly go back for the full blackboard menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I planned a special weekend break so that we could visit York and the surrounding areas. We chose the Crown as we had a birthday voucher to use and so added another night.

The hotel staff were friendly, the hotel generally clean and the food actually quite good.. So bravo! However there is no way on this earth that I would say the room we stayed in was worth the money we paid at over £120 for the night with breakfast for two. Sorry, but the hotel must be dillusional if they think the room we stayed in was worth the money.

We've stayed in hotels all over the country including London and I can honestly say that whilst the bed was comfy, the room spacious and the water hot, this was not worth the money.

I've added images of the room so that you can see for yourself. The management apparently changed all the TVs to a now wall mounted PC sized monitor. The sink was below waste height and the bathroom terribly old fashioned.

On the positive side, the room was clean spacious and acceptable.

They also provided wifi for the guests with a password that changed daily.. I'm never sure why some hotels make the password so complicate.

Overall a great location, secure parking, good food, pleasant staff and a clean leisure club and pool. Just over priced in my opinion.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pimdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This review is for the Crown Inn, Roecliffe - definitely no pool or curry house opposite, that must be another place nearby! We thoroughly enjoyed our first couple's night away without our babies at The Crown Inn. The room was spacious, elegant and clean with lovely elements like roll top bath, fluffy robes and champagne glasses. Comfortable king size bed. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was absolutely first class, really fresh and tasty. We enjoyed our complimentary Sunday papers (though would have been even better in bed rather than over breakfast) and the only other comment is that dinner was good, but main course not as outstanding as we might have hoped given all the awards and we had to wait quite a while for our food on a very busy night. We did get an apology and overall staff were very friendly and helpful. We weren't fussed to go anywhere after a nice day in York so can't comment on location for walks but it's in a very pretty village - just the inn and houses. We are definitely planning to return for next time we want to treat ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pretty village green - if you want the roll top bath we were in Fox and Hound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindyhopper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed for one night at the Crown Inn and loved it. On our arrival at the Crown we were met and showed straight to our room. We stayed in the Gun room, its a beautifully decorated suite which has recently been refurbished to a high standard. The only complaint l would have was the bathroom which was beautiful was only separated by a large drape which unfortunately didn't cover the whole doorway so therefore lacked privacy.
The bar and restaurant areas are also beautifully and very tastefully decorated. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The was plenty of choice on the menu and the food we were served was fresh and delicious. I had seabass and it was one of the best l have ever tasted.
I must say the bed was one of the comfiest Hotel beds l have ever slept in, it was total luxury.
When we went down for breakfast we were impressed by the large choice on the menu, As with our evening meal the food was so fresh and beautifully presented. Unlike a previous review the orange juice was definitely fresh!!.
We thoroughly enjoyed our all but too brief stay at the Crown and l hope to return again soon. It is a delightful little find.

Room Tip: The Gun room is beautiful if you can cope with the lack of privacy for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The manager barely greeted us and left us in our room without any explanation. As there was only a curtain separating the en suite from the bedroom (The Gun Room) we changed rooms. However, this room at the other end of the corridor had a constant loud humming noise which was untraceable by the staff. The other large room was empty for the night but we were not allowed to stay in it as they claimed they had no cleaner the next day to prepare the room for a booking. We ended up in the smallest of 4 rooms, which was adequate so long as you didn't mind moving sideways passed the bed to get to the bathroom. We looked for the television and eventually found this tiny screen on the side wall which gave us a stiff neck trying to watch it.

Despite saying that we were vegetarians when we booked, we were not offered a vegetarian menu and we did not realise one was available. The food which is publicised as being award winning was no better than average. As for the breakfast, which should have included the advertised home baked bread and freshly squeezed orange juice, the bread came out of a packet and the orange juice was from a carton and concentrated. The fresh fruit on show on the buffet might have been fresh a week ago! Bruised brown bananas and rotten apples were displayed. On questioning the owner about the lack of home baked bread, he told us disdainfully that the chef had not had time to bake any.

The owner had no idea how to treat guests and our bill was neither itemised nor correct. He tried to make us pay for a three course menu even though that option was never offered to us.

Maybe the awards given to this pub were designed and created by the owner or possibly the stuffed animals. As cyclists on the coast to coast route we were not made welcome.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We recently had a fantastic stay at the Crown Inn. We stayed in the French Partridge room but all the rooms looked like they had be caringly individually decorated with charm and character. Very welcoming staff in a beautiful village topped off with a fantastic restaurant, great fresh local produce and lovely breakfast on offer. If I was in North Yorkshire again and had the choice of a corporate hotel, Boutique B&B etc or the Crown Inn thier is only one place to stay.
n.n Look at previous notes about Crown Inn reference great dining experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank RUBEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boroughbridge hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
685 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grantham Arms
Grantham Arms
#1 of 6 in Boroughbridge
116 reviews
2 mi away
Kirby Hill B and B
Kirby Hill B and B
#3 of 6 in Boroughbridge
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: Roecliffe, Boroughbridge YO51 9LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Boroughbridge
Price Range: £93 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing