We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Camp expereince” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinner Camp Sangla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinner Camp Sangla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Camp expereince”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Out of my 5 camp stays till date.. this one is the best.. be it facilities or food or cleanliness or location.. it is very good.

Very cooperative staff which helps you relax in every possible way after a long journey to Sangla.

Special Thanks to Mr. Negi for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilpaMonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    52
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I visited Sangla in last week of May...what an experience....thrilling but unforgettable !...Amazing less explored spot...Reasonablly good amenities at Kinner Camps...we resided in tents at the base of huge snow topped Himalayan mountain...on the banks of Baspa river! A must go place in interior Himalayas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCharudatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Staying in a mountain camp is always exciting, and Kinner Camps was a good experience. The weather was very nice, the tents are quite good. There is a bonfire where families can sit and play group games. The hospitality of Mr Negi is also quite wonderful.

However, this trip is not for the faint hearted. The roads in Kinnaur are awful, so be prepared for a bumpy, hot, dusty and risky driving. Despite what Google says, your average speed will be 20 km/hr or less (pl see some pictures I took on the way). Kinnaur looks like a country that the government has forgotten. There is no infrastructure to speak of, and there are regular landslides on the way that will block your movement. And of course, there are no announcements so travellers have to bear the risk of being stranded on the roads themselves.

Be prepared for a 22 km detour ahead of Tapri, where a landslide had blocked the national highway. A village road had been opened which was a single lane dirt track. Traffic was allowed one way at a time, so some people had to wait there for 3-4 hours waiting for their turn.

On our return, there was a landslide right in front of us (see pics) and traffic was halted for a good 24 hours. We were lucky to get a hotel room in Tapri but many people were seen stranded in buses, on the road. Then the electricity failed. Some helpless foreigners were seen pleading with policemen in the town, I think they spent the night in the cab.

Though the beauty of Himachal is breath taking, the government has let down Kinnaur. There has been no investment in roads, rest houses or communications. Tourists are left to fend for themselves. Locals say that politicians have looted the state and given contracts to a company (Jaypee Group) to build dams across the state, which has weakened the already fragile Himalayan ecosystem. The day we were travelling there was a news item that several students from Hyderabad had lost their lives as the dam had released water in the river without warning.

Visit Sangla only if you are prepared for uncertainties. Be prepared to spend the night anywhere if you get caught in a landslide. And whatever time estimate is given to you for travelling to Sangla, double it.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of river flowing, take the tents near the river. Also be early to catch dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dineshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at Kinnar Camps for our honeymoon in July 2009. It was my first experience of staying in Swiss tents and it was incredible, to say the least. To be honest the first night there was a little scary with the roaring sound of the Baspa river flowing right next to the camps. The fact that due to some reason we were the only guests in that expansive space at that time did not help either. But the bright morning with the breathtaking view of the snow camped mountains made it absolutely worth. It was a paradisaical sight with apple orchards around and the sound of the river felt like music to the ears now. The very fact of being alone in the camp which made us uncomfortable the day before, proved out to be a boon in disguise since now we had all the luxury of doing whatever we liked (even spending time with their dog "Major")
One of the guys from the staff offered to take us to the village across the river, told us fascinating stories about the village rituals on the way and even took us to one of the houses in the village. The house owners were quite welcoming and showed us around their beautifully carved wooden house with some delightful Himachali tea.

In all I would recommend Kinner Camps and Sangla valley to anyone visiting Himachal if you want to see the real himachal and its splendid culture and beauty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsotericGal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great place to enjoy your vacations. The management of the camp provide all the things you need and is always ready to serve you. People at the camp are very warm welcoming and takes good care of their visitors. The camp is located at a very lovely place, you get the view of the snow covered mountains and hear the sound of the gushing water of the Sangla valley. They have good accommodation facilities and superb hospitality. Mr. Pradeep Negi and Mr. Dilip Negi, manages the camp and have a very good knowledge of the area and very enthusiastically share it with their guests.
I recommend this place for everyone travelling to this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srishti0490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited and stayed with my family in kinner camps and our overall experience can be expressed in one word "awesome". All the staffs were very helpful attentive. Food quality was also very good though a bit expensive. The location is also amazing. We enjoyed staying there and came back with a loving memory.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Subhrajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

After looking and studying at all the available options for Sangla, booked this camps through Mrs. Gauri w/o Mr. Pradeep Negi the admin/marketing people of Kinner Camps.Got a very good VFM deal from Gauri.I knew that this was a long trip and people recommend to do it in breaks, but I decided to do this trip in one shot from my home town Ludhiana(Punjab).I along with my wife and two young kids in our newly owned new honda city started this journey @3 a.m.The roads were all clear and deserted and by 6:15 a.m reached Shoghi and took the shoghi bye pass, which was not a good choice due to bad road conditions.But anyhow crossed shimla by 7a.m and reached Narkanda @ 9a.m and it started raining and was quiet chilly @ 9 degrees.Had a breakfast at the Hatu Narkanda and reached in time at Rampur at around 11.30.In the mean time Mr. Dalip Negi called on my phone and asked about my wearabouts.I told him that we were at Rampur and shall reach you by 2 p.m and will definitely have lunch at Kinner Camps cuz we were not in the mood to make our second break. The roads untill Rampur was quiet decent and tolerable. After Rampur we crossed Jhakri and reaching Wangtu.It was not much a difficulty. After wangtu started the real ordeal. There is literally no roads, but broken down patched and roads.But we decided to keep on going and thanks to the ultimate suspension of my new honda city, that I didn't regret my decision. Basically the roads after Wangtu are for SUV vehicles.But anyhow the journey was adventures with a fear in mind that something might hit the car underneath due to low ground clearance of cars. Although some some stones hit quite a few times.But anyhow reached Sangla and called Mr. Negi about the wearabouts of the camp and was told that it was 4-5 kms ahead of sangla on Chitkul road. Reached the narrow road going down to the kinner camps.The road downwards is really challenging but anyhow reached the camp and it started raining. On reaching camp was welcomed by Mr. Dalip Negi with umbrellas and other people took our luggage and we were garlanded with a peace of soft silk local cloth, I forgot what they called it and was also tilaked with kum kum. After freshning for a while, we simply asked Mr.Negi to serve food as we were quiet hungry. And there he was Mr. Tulasi coming to action and serving us a trully sumptous and delicious home cooked style restaurant food. It was simply amazing.We were allotted two adjoining tents. The tents are warm, spacious and have all the facilities with an attached batroom. And was amazed to see this type of accomodation for the first time. The tents had a wonderful view of the snow covered mountains. In the evening they have a bon fire with soup followed by delicious dinner. After dinner we went to the tent and there was a hot water bottle lying in our quilts making them warm. Such a reliving experience after a tiring journey. Mr. Negi kept on asking if we required more blanket due to extreme chilly night. But we were fine.Next day woke with the welcoming and fast quick bed tea by Tulasi, always there to help aroung with any thing. I haven't seen this type of hospitality by all the staff and owner anywhere else. Always eager to help around.Next day went to Batseri village and glacier walk and was given packed lunch alongwith a guide.We stayed there for 3 nights and it was a trully amazing experience. The river baspa is just a few 100 mts down the tents. You can sit there and relax the cool and calm laid back, pollution free environment, which you wont get in a normal hill station. The kids enjoyed a lot as it was a totally new experience to them also. Special mention about the services and hospitality of Mr. Dalip Negi. Hats off to that man. The location, environment, service and food quality is simply excellent. The only recomendation I made Mr. Negi was to hire the services of a professional landscaper or a gardner, which shall help maintaining the landscapes, beauty and the greenery of the camps.I would recommend Kinnercamps to anyone seeking VFM and hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: The tents on the higher ground has excellent views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank machoman34india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horizon International
Hotel Horizon International
#17 of 22 in Guruvayur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muthanickattu Villas
Muthanickattu Villas
#4 of 21 in Sultan Bathery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Pine Riviera
Camp Pine Riviera
#5 of 18 in Bhimtal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Trails Camp
Snow Trails Camp
#1 of 11 in Chail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Menezes Luxury Service Villa
#229 of 546 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinner Camp Sangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinner Camp Sangla

Property: Kinner Camp Sangla
Address: P.O. Batseri, Sangla 172106, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Sangla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Sangla Valley of the Kinnaur Himalayas, Kinner Camps is a dream destination to visit. We, at Kinner Camps, are committed to spread the joy in experiencing this untouched beauty - to refresh and rejuvenate you. Efficiently managed by local professionals, Kinner Camps Sangla, has the magnificent Kinner Kailash peak towering over it, and is an ideal setting for enjoying nature to its fullest. Our Camp has been in existence since 2001, and has played a major part in boosting eco-tourism in the valley. For your comfortable and unforgettable stay, we have the provision of 23 well-furnished Swiss style luxury tents with attached bath and all amenities. A multi-cuisine restaurant serves you Indian, Chinese and Continental food, to satiate your ever-growing hunger pangs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kinner Camp Sangla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinner Camp Sangla India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing