We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rupin River View
Ranked #4 of 15 Sangla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in Sangla for 3 nights (Sep28-30), a group of 6 friends, and had a memorable experience @ Rupin at Rakcham Village. Mr.Naresh, the owner of the hotel was extremely courteous and warm and went out of the way to make our vacation memorable. Am breaking down the review on a few parameters which were imp for us:

Location - 10/10, Amazing view from the 1st and the 2nd floor of the Baspa river and the valley. Though ground floor rooms have their own ambiance with a view of the apple trees laden with fruit and the peaks beyond. And the ground floor rooms are cheaper too with immediate proximity to the garden where we had the bonfires.

Rooms - 9/10, The rooms though not plush are more than what one can expect in such a remote location. With almost 24 hr electricity, and hot and cold running water and extremely clean bathrooms, there was nothing to complain except for the creaky beds, which otherwise warm and comfy, wailed like they were being beaten to death when you tried to change your sleeping position.

Staff - 7/10, Except for Mr.Naresh and a couple of other staff members, the rest of the staff is a little grumpy and are slow in responding to your requests. Thanks, to Mr. Naresh, who joined us at the Bonfires and arranged for quick service from the staff.

Food - 8/10, Some items were really good while the others were average, but overall it was a good experience with you being able to get such a spread at this kind of a location. Do try out the apple juice which is amazing. Be very sure to spell out how you want your eggs to be done as the person taking the order almost everytime managed to screw them up by communicating something else to the cook.

If you are travelling to Sangla Valley, and want to have a low budget but good accommodation then Rupin at Rakcham should be your choice. The other good option I had researched was Banjara Camps, at Sangla Valley, but the room rents are almost 3-4 times higher per night than at Rupin though the room furnishings and facilities there are at the next level. But if I compare the location of Rupin and Banjara Camps, Rupin's location will anyday beat Banjara hands down.

Thanks again to Mr. Naresh, who made our vacation memorable which actually made us all want to go back to Rakcham once again, probably as soon as next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I along with my family stayed this hotel on the way to CHITKUL, actually our guide cum driver "SONU" sugested us to stay there and really we enjoyed a lot with wonderful experiences for two days.Hotel Rupin River View at an elevation of 3050m located on right bank of river BASPA.It has 13 rooms with all modern facilities,all rooms has balcony with tremendous view. It has a good restaurant too and while having your food one can enjoy music of baspa river ghusting down in the valley. As far as service is concerned nothing is there negative because of the team under leadership of Mr.Naresh Jishtu the owner of the hotel.So friends take a break on the way to chitkul at Hotel Rupin River View to get some fresh energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gautam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Rupin Riverview for 2 nights in June and were blown away by the views from the room balcony. The hotel is perched right on the edge overlooking the river Baspa. Rooms on the upper floor have a fabulous view and the sound of the water was so soothing. The rooms are small with basic furniture but the view more than makes up for this.The restaurant windows too have a great view of the Baspa and the snow clad ranges and served good steaming meals which were a delight in the cold.

Compared to the hotels in Sangla, we found this to be a better option to explore Rakcham and Chitkul. We took the proprietor, Mr. Naresh Jitsu's suggestion and trekked upto the glacier across the river. Walking across picture perfect meadows with gurgling streams and sheep grazing around was straight out of the Enid Blyton books we grew up on! The experience is exhilerating. My 9 yr old daughter had a great time sliding down the ice on the glacier. We also loved to walk to the little village of Racham down the road with wooden houses and a few small shops selling necessities. We definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya_Manore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place has an excellent view of the mighty Baspa river and you can just sit in the balcony of the rooms and forget all your worries.Another plus point just cross the river and you are transported to a place where there are meadows,cows grazing,mountains,small streams from the melting snow,small glaciers which you can trek in about an hour or two.We travelled with 4 kids 2 senior citizens and 3 of us all in our early 40s.Now about Rupin river view....
1.Rooms on the first floor are enough for 2 adults and a kid.Housekeeping needs to be spruced up.
2.Room Service is there but a little slow and you have to keep reminding them.
But I guess being in such a remote place finding and retaining the staff could be an issue.
3.Food.....Excellent especially the Rajmah and kashmiri aalu,it was just too sumptious as we were coming from all hptdc places where we had access to only dal makhni and jeera aalu.....
4.Mr.Naresh Jishtu,the owner and his friendly team...hats off.

Room Tip: first and second floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubhra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at Swiss tent provided by Hotel Rupin River View near the sangla river bed at Village Rakcham. The palce is untouched so pure and natural that we feel that 2 nights stay was not enough.
The owner of hotel was very good person and very helpful.
We 4 family consisting 15 person and enjoy lot.
We treck upto ITBP border post along the sangla river. Amazing holiday.
We traveled in May 2012.

Room Tip: Pl ask for the tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahvipul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had booked this place a couple of months in advance but still was not able to get a room. The road from Karcham was uncomfortable & dusty with blasts happening increasing our journey time. After the initial few kms, the Sangla valley spread and we feasted on its beauty. Beyond Sangla (some 12 odd kms) is the tiny hamlet called Rakcham - we chose this as on an earlier trip we had stayed in Sangla for 3 nights.

We were provided a tented accomodation down by the river. The tented accomodation was decent with hot water on demand. The dining area was bad and the food below average. However the walk by the river amidst beautiful snow capped mountains made me forget all.

Next day we were moved to the Hotel : The rooms have the river view and apart from this are ordinary. The food was good not great considering we are in Kinnaur I think this is one of the better options for food. Bathrooms has running hot water!!!

Service, cleanliness, professionalism etc can be a lot more better. Discuss you rates before hand.

Do not miss the Kamru fort and Chitkul (especially the drive - do pack ur lunch and have it on yur way besides a stream).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

before reaching the hotel we had a very long and hectic drive as we by mistake went to the road to Peo.we reached there at 9.30pm and the hotel owner himself came to greet and help us.room was 4 beded simply furnished..
and next morning i saw the best ever view from the balcony..can not explain in words..being in remote area i can understand that it is only a basic hotel but roaring music of Baspa(just few steps away from hotel)and the breath taking views passifying every thing..Chitkul is only 1/2 hr drive and i saw a far better option as Rakcham rather then Sangla proper..every thing the river, the mountains nearby..
food in taste was good but serving time is little late.
hotel owner Mr Naresh jitshu is a humble man and all the time available to sort out your problems..
the place like this which is not well connected ,it is the best place to stay,as they are doing their best with the limited resources.i have stayed in many star categery luxury hotels but can say the serene location, and tasty food and generous nature of the owner made our 2 days stay memorable in a simple but homely hotel..
i must say it is economically priced also.
if i get a chance to visit this valley again surely Rupin River will be my choice again..

Room Tip: book the hotel not the camp,which is old construction..book prior as it seems the only good accomoda...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jyoti345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
3.0 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
36 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 14 in Sangla
183 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rupin River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rupin River View

Address: Village Rakcham, Sangla 172106, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sangla
Price Range: £32 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Rupin River View Sangla, India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing