We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place with awesome experience but BAD roads”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with awesome experience but BAD roads”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I traveled to Sangal with wife and daughter of 3 years and stayed at Banjara Camps. The camp site is approximately 5 Kms outside Sangla towards Chitkul and then 2 Kms of downhill road. The road from Karcham to Sangla is really bad and dusty but once you reach the camp site, the swiss style view takes away the pain of travel to this location. The camps are in valley surronded by lush green trees and river flowing around. We stayed in a tent with all modern facilities. The toilets have hot and clod running water throught. In the camp area there are multiple options for adventure activities and river flows adjecent to the camps. The flow of river is very fast and water was chilling even in June. Room/tent rent includes all meals, morning and evening tea. Kitchen staff makes excellent dishes. In the evening a bonfire is arranged and one can order barbeque (not included in the rent). Tea/coffee makers are available in the common area and each tent also has a electric socket to charge battery of camera/mobile phones. Though this seems to be costly option but it is value for money and worth every penney. Team at Banjara also arranges trekking at additional cost.

Room Tip: Opt for tents rather than rooms as they provide the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdityaGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    39
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The whole property is managed very well. Consult with Shatlendu (Sonu), who manages the place, on what you plan to do and the things are taken care the very next day. Right from informing your driver to packing your lunch and having it ready in the car, all is done without bothering you. All your care is about waking up, having a hearty breakfast ... and hit the road. During our trek, we were pleasantly surprised to find scrumptious lunch packed for us. It was amazing to be in the midst of snow capped mountains next to a stream of crystal water to sit for a picnic. The snowing peaks was a heavenly treat to the eyes with the image of fine sugar being iced onto the mountain peaks. The cherry on top to the whole setting was the locally bottled apple juice that was packed along with the lunch. The fresh chilled air, the flowing Baspa surrounded by chirping birds a midst the mountains, and the taste of fresh apple juice lingering in the mouth was a treat to the senses.
It was all about the location and more so for the consideration for the finer details, the simple yet well done lounge with locally done paintings and the pictures highlighting the region, to the unlimited snacks on offer, to the pickled apples and jams, to the children's play area, to the wood heater, to the unlimited supply of indoor games, magazines, a detailed book on the trek routes from the region, to the apple trees, to the eco-friendly soaps at the camp, and the list goes on......that made our stay at Banjara camps and retreat an unforgettable experience.

The only difficult part to the experience was the long journey along the Sutlej-Baspa, regularly dotted with MW's of hydroelectric projects and quarries and its trail of damaged ecology all along the way giving a bitter-sweet image of a growing Indian economy.

Room Tip: Choose your stay depending on the climate, when its cold out side choose the retreat (rooms), otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ranjukj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JalN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We came to Banjara camps from Soja where we were also staying at Banjara camps . There the hospitality was great and we found the staff to be very friendly. We reached sangla and stayed at Baikunt hotel which was not nice . Then we came to Banjara camps in Sangla where there were a lot of activities and the rooms were spacious and homely . But then when our children were playing basketball and cricket with the hotel's property owner's kids , my son asked one of the kids if he could ride their bicycle which was standing right there and the child allowed him to ride it , soon after , the property owner's wife , that was also the kids mom scolded my son and said " you are not supposed to ride this cycle , go and keep it there!" very rudely. I found this ridiculous .
The hospitality compared to Soja is pathetic but food and rooms are decent.

Room Tip: The tents are not as good as the suites . The tents are very cold so I would not suggest them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akbrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore, India
Level Contributor
242 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We drove into Banjara Camp after sundown in early April, grabbed a warm meal and crashed for the night, with little thought given to what the following day would look like. The morning brought alive a valley that was least expected - tall peaks on either side of this well-groomed lodge nesting inside an Apple Orchard, with stream gurgling nearby and crisp air welcoming all. It reminded us a lot of Zion National Park in the US, now with snow capped peaks and crisper air.
We were here 4nts, and had a wonderful stay.
Activities - did 3 walks -
1. Rakcham (through valleys, forrests and glaciers, downhill 1-way was easier with kids)
2. drive to Chitkul and walk to the border post, walking along the river was fun
3. walk through Batseri village to a nearby glacier
- we would have liked to walk to Sangla Meadows, but with kids it would be strenous so we skipped this.
The service, home-made meals, well appointed rooms, all make for a wonderful stay.
2 nts it rained in the evenings, so the next morning we saw snow on many of the lower peaks which were brown the previous day - quite mesmerising how nature changes the sights around you.

Tips -
* while Apr is a good time for snow/glacier, July/Aug would be best for flowers and greenery.
* the drive to Sangla is winding & long, good to take a break at Narkhanda or Thanedar (midway from Chandigarh). Take plenty of stops and soak in the villages along the way.
* Layered clothing is best for the cold, rather than 1 thick jacket.
*

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms better than gnd flr ones. The veiw from the room balconies is great. Loft rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huzefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

It was our second trip to this lovely site, and we loved it all the more. Definitely worth many more visits. Everything is good about the place - the location, the lodgings, the food, the things to do and most of all the hosts! All in all, an excellent experience. Wanted to write the review earlier, but better late than never. Banjara properties at Thanedar and Sojha are also 'must visit' facilities

Room Tip: The swiss style tents are all equally good. Try and get the room on the first floor facing the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The location of Banjara camps is stunning - right by the Baspa river. The service was fantastic. i would definitely go back.
The hike to the border past near Chittkul and the hike from Raksham to Batserie are great.

Room Tip: Try the super deluxe tents if it's warm out, otherwise stick to the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent 5 nights/4 days at Sangla and 1 day at Thanedar in transit. We stayed in the cottage/retreat not tents. Both Thanedar and Sangla Camps are well managed, very clean and nicely kitted. Little touches like hot water bottles at night ! Rooms have excellent views. Apple season harvesting was on. Food is good, wholesome and tasty. The documentation like maps etc provided locally for the treks is very comprehensive. The staff at all locations is very helpful and we enjoyed the conversation with Mr Prakash Thakur at Thanedar who is very knowledgeable. The camp managers Mr Sharma and Mr. Om Prakash were very helpful and accommodating to our every request ! The foreign ‘volunteers’ – 20-25 year old's from USA and Sweden added a special dimension - they were knowledgeable, extremely diligent and very hardworking (even when unwell !) – waking up early and staying up late to receive / send off guests, escorting us on treks, etc. Overall both places get a rating A++

Room Tip: Depending on the season and your personal comfort. The cottages/retreat rooms are warmer and more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhannuGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.7 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#1 of 9 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#4 of 12 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Agyaat Vaas- The Himalayan Retreat
2.9 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#8 of 12 in Sangla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Property: Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Address: Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Sangla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A soft adventure family holiday place in the higher Himalayas. Located on the banks of Baspa river and next to the amazingly beautiful Batseri village, Banjara Camp was pioneer of tourism in this area. Kinnaur, Spiti and Upper Kullu region also have properties from this the company, Banjara Camps & Retreats Pvt Ltd., which runs the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing