We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

sangla valley was a chance discovery ...did not know that such a place existed in our country ! this should be where the gods reside ... you can laze all day in the camps or walk away to your hearts' content......whatever you do -you will definitely be at peace !singing and music around the bornfire every evening are real bonding experiences with fellow travellers . robert , our guide, was most helpful and great fun to be with !
the food quality of the hotel could however be improved .

Room Tip: the tents were big and the bathrooms therin very good but it was very cold inside the tents. the roo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madshree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

During our recent holiday in Sangla, I got an opportunity to spend a day in Banjara Resort.

It’s a very nicely laid out resort. Both Capt Ajay Sood and his wife look after the premises with an equally able team of Om Prakashji and Sharadendhu Pandey assisted by 3 volunteers, Celina, Robert and Benedict.

The evening tea was served to us on the deck overlooking the Baspa River and was followed by a bonfire. The dinner was excellent with home style cooking. All in all it was a very pleasant experience being there. With such a great team you cannot go wrong in choosing Banjara.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Banjara ensures you have the best experience when you travel with them. From Kavita in their Delhi office, to the driver who is with you for 6-10 hours a day, to the owners themselves in the Sangla Valley Camp. Thank you, Mr. & Mrs. Ojha and Om Prakash ji, for the amazing trip.
The rooms in the bungalow are more comfortable than the tents. The food is amazing considering their limitations. And the walks and treks in the area are the most beautiful. If you are feeling lazy, you can just relax, all day, by the river.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munira100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

a resort surrounded by hills, situated on a river bank.
the camp is a brainchild of 2 very creative men, who have put in a lot of effort to provide utmost comfort and hospitality, without disturbing the peaceful and natural surroundings.

treks and walks from this camp are well organised and each walk is like a new experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im_a_traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Its one of the best places we have visited together. its a nice place to spend quit time with your family and friends. You wont realize that if you are in India pr Switzerland...! Good food, Nature trail next to the retreat, riverside walk, visit the village near by (dont forget to see the unique wooden temple).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I forget things very fast....i went to Switzerland in 2007...hardly remember anything....i did visit Spiti with Banjara....and my God! What a care,managment,food,books,guide....I clearly remember everything.....Hats of to the Organisers....Love you.Rajesh....Rajan

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a "travel perspective" changing opportunity to visit Banjara Camp * Retreat at the Sangla valley in March. We were one of the first visitors to the camp in the season and we loved every bit of it. The entire camp was covered in snow and we managed to get a spectacular view no matter where we looked. The biggest advantage of Banjara at Sangla is the location, with the snow covered glaciers all over and the Baspa river flowing around the camp, we could not ask for more. The property has been designed and built very well, the rooms are spacious and very well laid out. The hosts are very cordial and the support staff did everything to make us feel at home. As it snowed incessantly during our stay, we did not venture out much to see and experience any local attractions like the Chitkul village or the Rakcham walk but we were amazed by the beauty that the location offered so no regrets. The highlight of our trip was the food at Banjara, truly cooked to home made perfection the food makes your day over and over again. If you are travelling in March or early April, you are recommended to carry heavy woolens & thermal wear.

Room Tip: The retreat and the camp both offer great views so choose any room and you will feel enchanted.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.7 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 14 in Sangla
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
30 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
2.7 mi away
Roojoom
Roojoom
#8 of 15 in Sangla
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Trails Camp
Snow Trails Camp
#2 of 11 in Chail
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Address: Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sangla
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A soft adventure family holiday place in the higher Himalayas. Located on the banks of Baspa river and next to the amazingly beautiful Batseri village, Banjara Camp was pioneer of tourism in this area. Kinnaur, Spiti and Upper Kullu region also have properties from this the company, Banjara Camps & Retreats Pvt Ltd., which runs the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp India - Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing