We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Octopus Restaurant - CLOSED

Octopus Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
west australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

On the beach with a beautiful view and a gentle breeze, couldn't ask for more.

We ate here 4 times and each night it was the same quality. Normally we all ate Thai but did do the Western as well.

Check the bill though as they under charged (can you believe that) for drinks every night. They were very happy when we told them and gave us complimentary fruits.

The waiters didn't speak a lot of English but the service was really good and very attentive.

Good value and recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kazzaWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    37
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quality & Quantity of food stands out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We ate here on three occasions during our stay in Phuket. The staff are super friendly and attentive. The food portions were larger than nearby restaurants and the quality was also above the rest. Both Western and Thai cuisine were excellent. In the evening, with the torches lit on the beach, and the lighting in the trees, this is a great venue for a romantic dinner (closer to the water) or a family night out. We tried multiple locations along the beachfront and the quality of food stood out. Excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had dinner here late November, they were very busy as our visit was during a heavy thunderstorm, and there are not many restaurants along the beach front with indoor eating, but even though they were busy the service was good, we noticed they are very family friendly as there were a few families with small children who were well looked after, the food was excellent and not overpriced

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindyann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I went here with my husband and two friends for a late lunch on Nov. 30, 2013. We had luck with the first two restaurants by the beach but decided to try Octopus Restaurant because of the good reviews.

The food is just okay. I wouldn't say they are particularly bad but for the same price, I would go for a different restaurant. I ordered prawn pad thai and grilled squid with butter and garlic. My husband ordered green curry pork, while our two friends ordered green curry chicken, mussels in chilli sauce, and sauteed kale. The Pad Thai was just salty, even after squeezing two whole limes in it; the squid is a little bit on the tough side - it wasn't easy to cut it even using the knife that it came with. The waiter who took our order spoke little english which does not really bother me, but the waitress who brought our food to our table seemed so uninterested. I don't know if it was only because of the time (it was around 2pm) or if service would greatly improve during dinner time.

The place is just nice, we sat in the al fresco area beside the road (but not on the beach) and so we can kind of smell the water sewage. Obviously, this is not their fault but it still affects the atmosphere while you're having your meal. The place is easy to find and there are numerous massage places for you to go after your meal.

Maybe when I go back to Nai Yang Beach I will give them another visit during dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maojenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We ate dinner here on 17 October after reading good reviews. We were not disappointed. The service was great as was the food. The steamed mong fish was excellent as were the BBQ prawns. We were a little disappointed with the squid. Overall a great meal, we will definately be back next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tezzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Octopus Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing