We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed”
Review of Octopus Restaurant - CLOSED

Octopus Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I hate giving bad reviews but feel that this is one I have to give.

It was our last night in Thailand and we were looking forward to having a really fine last Thai meal. We saw the octopus restaurant and both agreed it looked great.
Once seated, we must have waited 15mins before we were asked what we wanted to drink and, honestly, must have waited another 15 before getting them.
The food was exactly the same, waited ages to order then took forever to arrive, to the point where we had finished our starter and had waited so long we contemplated just walking away as we thought we'd been forgotten about!

Service aside, the starters were good for us both but we both agree that the mains were only ok and definitely not worth waiting well over an hour for.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scot-min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    37
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very simple and good”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

.very nice place to spend a day in a nice beach...relaxing and having some good food at the sunset....
Food is much better of what we had in our hotel....
Try the crabs please and enjoy...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I have a crush”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Octopus is my very favorite. The waiters are maybe not well trained. They sometimes seems to be 'lost' but they are so friendly and doing their best that you can't blame them. Their food is sometimes a little bit too salty bit it's very good and they make you feel good.
The menu is very large and the portions are generous.
Very good pad thai, chicken in pineapple and chicken with curry powder to quote our favorites. The evening they offer you chips and fresh pineapple.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a Location”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On the beach with a beautiful view and a gentle breeze, couldn't ask for more.

We ate here 4 times and each night it was the same quality. Normally we all ate Thai but did do the Western as well.

Check the bill though as they under charged (can you believe that) for drinks every night. They were very happy when we told them and gave us complimentary fruits.

The waiters didn't speak a lot of English but the service was really good and very attentive.

Good value and recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazzaWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quality & Quantity of food stands out”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We ate here on three occasions during our stay in Phuket. The staff are super friendly and attentive. The food portions were larger than nearby restaurants and the quality was also above the rest. Both Western and Thai cuisine were excellent. In the evening, with the torches lit on the beach, and the lighting in the trees, this is a great venue for a romantic dinner (closer to the water) or a family night out. We tried multiple locations along the beachfront and the quality of food stood out. Excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Octopus Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing