We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
120
114
49
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
114
49
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall rivergarden villanational parkliving roomraftpuntbeachairportpatongmassagelock
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Here at l'esprit at the moment, staying in the only 2 bedroom family villa. It was no bargain, at b8000 per night with breakfast.
Pros:
Our poolside villa is in the best position, closest to the beach (with a klong in between - there's now a boatman to take you across). Quite peaceful, and we can hear the waves in the morning

The pool looks impressive. Villa is big, modern and has 2 bathrooms. Very comfy for 2 couples, or an adult family if 2 older children are happy to share a king bed in the 2nd room.
Nai Yang beach ( 100 metres away across the klong) is a nice beach without the sleaze of Patong. Probably like Patong was like 30 years ago. Plenty of restaurants,a few mini marts and tailors, massages etc. A nice, laid back vibe.

Cons:
As already reported, the resort appears to be unfinished. Doors don't open properly, lots of little issues such as basic coffee and no tea in rooms,no spoons for coffee, poor TV channel selection, pool was not particularly clean. Lots of ponds around the resort but they were quite dirty. No external lighting near our villa, which needed it as it is isolated from the lobby building.

Overall, we do like the peaceful location and the beach, but I'm not sure whether we wouldn't have been better off at Dewa Resort at the other end of the beach (much nicer but bigger), or the Indigo Pearl.

Breakfast is cooked to order, which is OK, but there is no fresh fruit - very unusual for Thailand.
Staff try very hard, but are inexperienced e.g, I requested black tea but was given earl grey.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our stay overall was pleasant, but it seemed that the hotel is still very new, unoccupied, and still getting the kinks worked out. First off, when we checked in, the lights didn't work in one of the bathrooms. But the staff came and did some electrical work very quickly and efficiently. Second, the power and water in our room went out when I was soaped up in the shower the second morning. I needed to rinse in the pool, but they remedied the situation within 30 minutes.

The room we had lacked any decor. All walls were bare white and the doors had unfinished trim. There was a weird wall-size window in the bedroom that exposed the entire bathroom (toilet included) to the rest of the bedroom ... not sure what that was about. The side window had a view of nothing but a large electrical distribution system.

The location was rather inconvenient also. To get to Naiyang beach, you need to take a little boat across the small canal, run by the staff. This isn't a problem. But when you want to come back you need to call them to let them know that you need the transport again. This can be an inconvenience if you don't have a cell phone and need to pay phone them every time. Also, they charge a bit of a hefty rate for airport shuttle (~200 pp) even though it's less than 2km away. But then again it's supposed to be a resort.

Otherwise the pool was great. It was very peaceful. Staff was friendly. And breakfast was good. It was worth it for us since the hotel is still discounted because it is new. But I wouldn't pay a typical resort price for it.

Room Tip: Be sure to know the difference between the pool side, garden view, and regular rooms. In off season, the garden view may be less attractive than those shown in the pictures.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzoom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We very much enjoyed our three night stay at the Naiyang hotel but should we return to Phuket we'll stay further down south of the island. We only stayed in Thalang because my girlfriend had a conference to attend there.

Our poolside room was very pleasant and spacious. Decorated with taste and modern materials. The door for the shower or bathroom are, for example, made of smoked glass.
We had a small "balcony" with two lounge chairs and what would have been a very nice view on the pool if the vegetation had been a little less dense.

The pools are very nice and offer lots of space to relax though during our stay you could tell that maintenance was not at its best. It was the offseason so we didn't take much exception to it. After all during monsoon season it's quite hard to keep everything looking it's best!

One of the main inconveniences of this hotel, relative to the neighbouring Indigo Pearl, is that wifi has to be purchased for use in the rooms. It's free in the lobby but considering we were there at the same time as a conference the lobby was very often over-run by people!

The biggest problem with this hotel is location. Thalang really isn't the most fascinating of places on Phuket and the beach is far from being the nicest. Additionally you are quite far removed from any other place to do things. There are quite a few restaurants on the beach front but they all serve the same exact things. My open water diver course cost 4000 Baht more at this location because we had to be driven to Chalong (south of Phuket) every day to take a diving boat. To be considered!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendalllikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I booked this hotel is because i have an early morning flight the next day. but when i arrived, it turned out to be a good surprise. i absolutely love the two swimming pools and the living room in the room.the staff are all very friendly. it is located in a quiet beach, if next time i come back, i will certainly rent a car.

Room Tip: i booked a deluxe room but then i upgraded to the room next to the swimming pool. money worth!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in a poolside villa for 2 nights. Overall, the experience was very good, with some niggling details that detracted from it.

The staff were very friendly and conscientious, accomodating all our requests as far as possible; they were also every efficient. The rooms were very nice as well; the poolside villa had one living room, one bedroom with a large (queen-sized?) bed, and a bathroom equipped with a shower and bathtub - the bathroom is an outdoors bathroom with a transparent ceiling to allow sunlight in. There's a poolside area with two lounging mats for each villa as well.

The hotel also provides a free transfer from/ to the airport, and while you're staying there they'll also have two umbrellas for you to loan. There's a 32" flatscreen TV with a DVD player in the living room, and you can borrow DVDs for free from the front desk. (Selection's not too big, but there are some decent movies there.) You also get free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and 2x complimentary mineral water bottles a day (found in the minibar).

There are two ways to get to Nai Yang beach from L'esprit - you can take a 300 baht ride from the hotel to the beach, or you can cross a 5m-wide canal found at the back of the hotel via a hotel-supplied pedal-boat - once that's done, it's a pleasant 3-minute walk from there to the restaurants and bars in Nai Yang. However, there's no lighting and no shelter, so you can't really take this option if it's dark or raining heavily. (If I were the hotel, I'd build a bridge of some sort over the canal, it's only 5m wide or so.)

The hotel restaurant charges about 20-30% more than restaurants found along Nai Yang beach. The quality of the food is decent and the staff are great - very conscientous. Maintenance in the hotel is a bit dodgy - it rained pretty heavily while we were there and the bathroom roof leaked into the bathtub, and at one point the handle of the wooden sliding door of the bathroom popped off. Some of the decorative pools had a greenish tinge and the plants in it were brown and dying. The swimming pool was generally okay but a bit dirty - the colour was okay but there was a noticeable, if tolerable amount of dirt on the surface. Finally, the room kettle was really dodgy - the first time I filled it, the water was the colour of tea, probably from rust inside the kettle. I didn't bother filling it again.

It's kind of hard to decide if the location was good or bad. On the one hand, it's close enough to the airport that it's only 10 minutes or so away, and far enough that the noise from the planes won't disturb you. On the other hand, there really isn't much to do in Nai Yang, and it's pricey to take cabs out from there. If you're intending to stay in during your stay it's great as it's quite isolated and quiet and peaceful. (Bring some mosquito repellent.)

Overall it was a pretty decent stay in nice, tranquil surroundings with great staff and decent facilities, marred somewhat by intermittently shoddy maintenance. It's definitely worth a try if you're just looking to get away from it all for a few days. (Bring your own DVDs, though, as their selection won't last you too long.)

Room Tip: Take a poolside villa if you're intending to swim or lounge around!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank W_Mitty_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews