We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but still rough around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'esprit de Naiyang Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Reviewed 11 November 2011

As you land at Phuket airport look out the right hand side of the plane and you'll be able to see this resort. However, noise is not an issue, and it's cool watching planes in their glide path from the beach. The beach fronts a national park, so you can go out to the beach in the morning and not see a single footprint.

However, the beach is a bit problematic. It has the longest distance between high tide and low tide I've ever seen -- about a kilometer. This means at high tide you have to wade out a distance so that your hands don't strike bottom when you swim, and at low tide swimming is an impossibility -- you can even walk out to some distant islands!!

I've read some reviews, and this is not the hotel if you are looking for a Patpong type experience. It is isolated compared to Karon Beach, which is great if you just want to hang out and relax, but not if you like to socialize until late.

This is a new hotel, and so the furnishings, electronics, etc are quite nice. There is free wifi in the rooms, too, which was very nice.

However, there are some operational issues. The main one concerns the "moat" you have to cross to get to the beach and restaurants about a 10-minute walk away. There is a kind of a boat to take you across, but frequently it wasn't manned. This meant you had to stand and yell for someone to take you across. We had to wait 20 minutes during one trip back from the beach. It would help if they would put some sort of bell or alarm to press that would quickly summon someone.

Another odd thing was the lack of tables and chairs. They have nice outdoor patios, but they only give you a cheap plastic mattress to lie on. My family loves to sit outside and enjoy the mornings and evenings, but this is impossible.

We usually walked down to the restaurants for our meals, but did eat twice in the hotel restaurant. Very overpriced, very small portions, and no fruit. Coffee was instant Nescafe, which I wouldn't serve to my worst enemy.

The pickup from airport was free, but the trip back (about 2 km) cost 300bht, which is outrageous.

Finally, ants were a bit of a problem. I live in the tropics, so I am quite used to them (and every hotel has them) but various armies seemed to have camped out in our room. It would be a simple matter to put out some ant poison to control the numbers. The ants don't bite, but be sure to clean up any crumbs!!

Bottom line: Good place for a quiet, peaceful vacation with swimming possible only once a day, and a excellent place if the manager would make some minor operational changes.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool unless you like hearing people chat and drink until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in the deluxe room. The room is clean and comfortable, definitely worth it for the amount of money I paid. I guess what I didn't pay for was the location.

On the first night, we went to the nearby Naiyang beach for a massage and the sky was ALL dark on our way back. We had to walk back through the forest with no torch, trusting our instinct with the directions back to the hotel. Luckily we got back before 8 and the man was still there to help us cross the river. Horrible experience!

We went to Kota beach on another night and the taxi fare was bt1300 one way and the driver got lost along the way. It took almost 1 hour! If you are planning to do most of your activities or party in Patong or bigger beaches, this is not the place to stay. However, if you are transitting and looking for a cheap and descent hotel near to the airport, L'esprit is the choice. But the hotel charged bt400 for a 5 min ride to the airport was way too expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We just returned from a 4D3N stay at L'Esprit today! We had a wonderful holiday with my wife and 17month old son. It was exactly what we needed for a perfect break... Although it began with a little hiccup when we were not picked up at the airport, we were promptly fetched by the manager's husband "Golf" who was most friendly and helpful. (Good thing the hotel was only 5-10minutes away from the airport, useful also since we could also sleep in a little more for our morning flight on our last day). He helped us arrange for a custom-made itinery the next day, which included a visit to the Gibbon project, the Butterfly farm, the Big Buddha, stopping by to see the Elephants, then off the Sunset Point at the Southernmost part of the island for drinks and ice-cream while enjoying the sunset, and finally heading to Central for some quick shopping-for Lingerie for my wife and dinner, before finally going back to the resort. My son liked the animals, including the monkeys(Gibbon), the butterflies, kois(fish) and bird at the farm, and we all enjoyed feeding the baby elephant after seeing Big Buddha! The whole trip took about 7hrs(1.15pm to 8.30pm. ), and cost us b2200. (entrance fees/food/shopping excluded of course!)
The hotel is about 5-6months old and still upgrading, with spa facilities pending, and has a nice pool facade as you enter the hotel. In the middle of the pool, there is a partition space with pool water up to ankle depth where they put the deck-chairs - great for playing with the kids, but watch out for the occasional step along the pool floor if you are carrying kids! We used the pool twice and had a great time. Also had drinks by the bar at the pool!

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool. We liked it as it was very quiet, no mosquitoes, and the room was very big(even the toilet), so good for the little boy to run around! Wifi is free which is a plus, and so were DVD rentals, which was great, as they had quite a bit of selection with fairly recent titles and good quality. The room also had a decent balcony with deck chairs. We asked for a king-size bed, but they gave us 2 single beds put together, which was fine and most comfortable. There was also a large sofa which we pushed next to our beds so we wont have to worry that our son might fall off the bed!
Another alternative and popular choice would be the villa which are pool facing, then you can just walk out into the pool. (No diving as its very shallow!)

We also requested for a Thai massage for both my wife and i in our room, which although cost b500 each, was well worth it! (You may get one for b300 at the beach, but quality not assured...) Our masseuse was very skilled, and its also nice to have it in the comforts, exclusivity and convenience of your own large hotel room, especially when you have a young kid to worry about!

The Naiyang beach is at the back of the hotel and can be reached via a make-shift "floating bridge", but will be good to inform the staff when you are going, so that there will always be someone there to pull you across. You shouldn't get wet getting across, unless its muddy after the rains. Beach is less crowded than the ones at Patong, and its about 50metres straight ahead after crossing the canal. They cant build a proper bridge as its actually state land or National Park as they call it. But at least guests no longer have to paddle across now.

If looking for more restaurants for a change, (only one restaurant at L'Esprit which also serves very decent food), they are located a short walk to the right after crossing the canal. We had really yummy grilled seafood at restaurant No.4, next to Octopus by the beach!

The hotel restaurant serves a buffet breakfast for b300 complete with toast, eggs sunny/scambled/omelettes, cereals, fruits, yogurt, ham, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes and potatoes, pancakes with coffee and tea. The staff at the hotel restaurant are also attentive and friendly. Another feedback is should get some high-chairs for the kids.:p

All in all, we had a fantastic time at L'esprit De Naiyang as a family. Thank you Golf for making our stay memorable! Would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing quiet stay away from the buzzling noisy city centre. May not be suitable for the party-going crowds.
Will definitely come back to visit next time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are stay 7 nights at Lesprit de Naiyang at Ocean Pool Villa. The hotel is quite new but all our stay was Very happy and relaxation there with good service. When we arrived at lobby, we love nice view at swimming pool. Our villa which boutique style modern and Thai Hand made and open air bath room, shower and big bathtub. Nice sleep with relaxation from busy world. In the morning, we enjoy our swimming just jump from our villa. Breakfast was very nice with a la cart but if they provide buffet it will be perfect. The beach at Sirinart National Park just cross a little canal within 3 mins, they provide little boat and staff take care but in night time we had to called to them to pick us up at canal from the beach. And we love Thai food for dinner, Pad Thai very delicious. All staff are helpful. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanaThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Satisfaction with a hotel is all about your own expectations. These people spent money on everything that would photograph well and stopped spending at that point. The mattress was like a slab of concrete (I never fell asleep), the "upgraded" villas have an open air bathroom (no good in 35 degrees Celsius - you come out from your tiny drizzle of a shower sweating with mosquito bites in places I wont mention) and to get anywhere you have to ride across this little river on this makeshift boat thing. You will either get in knee deep water or step in mud to get across. Then, you walk through a forest to get to the village where the restaurants are. This is nice during the day but pitch black at night - not sure why they would not provide flashlights and build a little bridge? The maid went through all our stuff and "repacked" for us and moved our suitcases - she must've put my camera somewhere on an obscure shelf where i missed it because it did not leave with us. I'm used to higher end hotels where they do not rifle in your belongings. The staff has less English than most in the area but it seems like a lot of the guests were Russian so maybe that's their focus. If you are looking for a more typical resort (if your definition is like mine) check out Indigo Pearl which is close by. We walked through it and spoke to staff there and were impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Here at l'esprit at the moment, staying in the only 2 bedroom family villa. It was no bargain, at b8000 per night with breakfast.
Pros:
Our poolside villa is in the best position, closest to the beach (with a klong in between - there's now a boatman to take you across). Quite peaceful, and we can hear the waves in the morning

The pool looks impressive. Villa is big, modern and has 2 bathrooms. Very comfy for 2 couples, or an adult family if 2 older children are happy to share a king bed in the 2nd room.
Nai Yang beach ( 100 metres away across the klong) is a nice beach without the sleaze of Patong. Probably like Patong was like 30 years ago. Plenty of restaurants,a few mini marts and tailors, massages etc. A nice, laid back vibe.

Cons:
As already reported, the resort appears to be unfinished. Doors don't open properly, lots of little issues such as basic coffee and no tea in rooms,no spoons for coffee, poor TV channel selection, pool was not particularly clean. Lots of ponds around the resort but they were quite dirty. No external lighting near our villa, which needed it as it is isolated from the lobby building.

Overall, we do like the peaceful location and the beach, but I'm not sure whether we wouldn't have been better off at Dewa Resort at the other end of the beach (much nicer but bigger), or the Indigo Pearl.

Breakfast is cooked to order, which is OK, but there is no fresh fruit - very unusual for Thailand.
Staff try very hard, but are inexperienced e.g, I requested black tea but was given earl grey.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our stay overall was pleasant, but it seemed that the hotel is still very new, unoccupied, and still getting the kinks worked out. First off, when we checked in, the lights didn't work in one of the bathrooms. But the staff came and did some electrical work very quickly and efficiently. Second, the power and water in our room went out when I was soaped up in the shower the second morning. I needed to rinse in the pool, but they remedied the situation within 30 minutes.

The room we had lacked any decor. All walls were bare white and the doors had unfinished trim. There was a weird wall-size window in the bedroom that exposed the entire bathroom (toilet included) to the rest of the bedroom ... not sure what that was about. The side window had a view of nothing but a large electrical distribution system.

The location was rather inconvenient also. To get to Naiyang beach, you need to take a little boat across the small canal, run by the staff. This isn't a problem. But when you want to come back you need to call them to let them know that you need the transport again. This can be an inconvenience if you don't have a cell phone and need to pay phone them every time. Also, they charge a bit of a hefty rate for airport shuttle (~200 pp) even though it's less than 2km away. But then again it's supposed to be a resort.

Otherwise the pool was great. It was very peaceful. Staff was friendly. And breakfast was good. It was worth it for us since the hotel is still discounted because it is new. But I wouldn't pay a typical resort price for it.

Room Tip: Be sure to know the difference between the pool side, garden view, and regular rooms. In off season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzoom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
0.5 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Proud Phuket Hotel
Proud Phuket Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nai Yang
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maya Phuket Hotel
Maya Phuket Hotel
#9 of 9 in Nai Yang
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
18.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,256 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'esprit de Naiyang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'esprit de Naiyang Resort

Address: 91/8 Moo 3 Naiyang Beach, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#6 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: £25 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'esprit de Naiyang Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'esprit de Naiyang, Phuket Resort is a charming phuket resort consisting of 15 pool-access villas, 10 garden villas, 5 private pool villa, 15 deluxe rooms and 1 family dluxe accommodations. L'esprit de Naiyang is dramatically located at peaceful Naiyang beach of Phuket, a white sand rimmed with green pines of Sirinat Marine National Park. It takes just 10 minute from Phuket International airport and takes 35 min to Central of Phuket. L'esprit de Phuket offers an intimate, private comfortable accommodation. It is a perfect destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or just to take relaxation retreat from your busy world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your L'esprit de Naiyang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Esprit De Naiyang Hotel Thalang
L'Esprit De Naiyang Resort Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing