We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
135
122
56
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
122
56
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small river garden villa national park living room tidal creek close to the airport private plunge pool hotel restaurant poolside room mosquito net rental car dvd player lounge area quiet beach swim up bar great pool phuket airport
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in the deluxe room. The room is clean and comfortable, definitely worth it for the amount of money I paid. I guess what I didn't pay for was the location.

On the first night, we went to the nearby Naiyang beach for a massage and the sky was ALL dark on our way back. We had to walk back through the forest with no torch, trusting our instinct with the directions back to the hotel. Luckily we got back before 8 and the man was still there to help us cross the river. Horrible experience!

We went to Kota beach on another night and the taxi fare was bt1300 one way and the driver got lost along the way. It took almost 1 hour! If you are planning to do most of your activities or party in Patong or bigger beaches, this is not the place to stay. However, if you are transitting and looking for a cheap and descent hotel near to the airport, L'esprit is the choice. But the hotel charged bt400 for a 5 min ride to the airport was way too expensive.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We just returned from a 4D3N stay at L'Esprit today! We had a wonderful holiday with my wife and 17month old son. It was exactly what we needed for a perfect break... Although it began with a little hiccup when we were not picked up at the airport, we were promptly fetched by the manager's husband "Golf" who was most friendly and helpful. (Good thing the hotel was only 5-10minutes away from the airport, useful also since we could also sleep in a little more for our morning flight on our last day). He helped us arrange for a custom-made itinery the next day, which included a visit to the Gibbon project, the Butterfly farm, the Big Buddha, stopping by to see the Elephants, then off the Sunset Point at the Southernmost part of the island for drinks and ice-cream while enjoying the sunset, and finally heading to Central for some quick shopping-for Lingerie for my wife and dinner, before finally going back to the resort. My son liked the animals, including the monkeys(Gibbon), the butterflies, kois(fish) and bird at the farm, and we all enjoyed feeding the baby elephant after seeing Big Buddha! The whole trip took about 7hrs(1.15pm to 8.30pm. ), and cost us b2200. (entrance fees/food/shopping excluded of course!)
The hotel is about 5-6months old and still upgrading, with spa facilities pending, and has a nice pool facade as you enter the hotel. In the middle of the pool, there is a partition space with pool water up to ankle depth where they put the deck-chairs - great for playing with the kids, but watch out for the occasional step along the pool floor if you are carrying kids! We used the pool twice and had a great time. Also had drinks by the bar at the pool!

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool. We liked it as it was very quiet, no mosquitoes, and the room was very big(even the toilet), so good for the little boy to run around! Wifi is free which is a plus, and so were DVD rentals, which was great, as they had quite a bit of selection with fairly recent titles and good quality. The room also had a decent balcony with deck chairs. We asked for a king-size bed, but they gave us 2 single beds put together, which was fine and most comfortable. There was also a large sofa which we pushed next to our beds so we wont have to worry that our son might fall off the bed!
Another alternative and popular choice would be the villa which are pool facing, then you can just walk out into the pool. (No diving as its very shallow!)

We also requested for a Thai massage for both my wife and i in our room, which although cost b500 each, was well worth it! (You may get one for b300 at the beach, but quality not assured...) Our masseuse was very skilled, and its also nice to have it in the comforts, exclusivity and convenience of your own large hotel room, especially when you have a young kid to worry about!

The Naiyang beach is at the back of the hotel and can be reached via a make-shift "floating bridge", but will be good to inform the staff when you are going, so that there will always be someone there to pull you across. You shouldn't get wet getting across, unless its muddy after the rains. Beach is less crowded than the ones at Patong, and its about 50metres straight ahead after crossing the canal. They cant build a proper bridge as its actually state land or National Park as they call it. But at least guests no longer have to paddle across now.

If looking for more restaurants for a change, (only one restaurant at L'Esprit which also serves very decent food), they are located a short walk to the right after crossing the canal. We had really yummy grilled seafood at restaurant No.4, next to Octopus by the beach!

The hotel restaurant serves a buffet breakfast for b300 complete with toast, eggs sunny/scambled/omelettes, cereals, fruits, yogurt, ham, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes and potatoes, pancakes with coffee and tea. The staff at the hotel restaurant are also attentive and friendly. Another feedback is should get some high-chairs for the kids.:p

All in all, we had a fantastic time at L'esprit De Naiyang as a family. Thank you Golf for making our stay memorable! Would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing quiet stay away from the buzzling noisy city centre. May not be suitable for the party-going crowds.
Will definitely come back to visit next time!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are stay 7 nights at Lesprit de Naiyang at Ocean Pool Villa. The hotel is quite new but all our stay was Very happy and relaxation there with good service. When we arrived at lobby, we love nice view at swimming pool. Our villa which boutique style modern and Thai Hand made and open air bath room, shower and big bathtub. Nice sleep with relaxation from busy world. In the morning, we enjoy our swimming just jump from our villa. Breakfast was very nice with a la cart but if they provide buffet it will be perfect. The beach at Sirinart National Park just cross a little canal within 3 mins, they provide little boat and staff take care but in night time we had to called to them to pick us up at canal from the beach. And we love Thai food for dinner, Pad Thai very delicious. All staff are helpful. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanaThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Satisfaction with a hotel is all about your own expectations. These people spent money on everything that would photograph well and stopped spending at that point. The mattress was like a slab of concrete (I never fell asleep), the "upgraded" villas have an open air bathroom (no good in 35 degrees Celsius - you come out from your tiny drizzle of a shower sweating with mosquito bites in places I wont mention) and to get anywhere you have to ride across this little river on this makeshift boat thing. You will either get in knee deep water or step in mud to get across. Then, you walk through a forest to get to the village where the restaurants are. This is nice during the day but pitch black at night - not sure why they would not provide flashlights and build a little bridge? The maid went through all our stuff and "repacked" for us and moved our suitcases - she must've put my camera somewhere on an obscure shelf where i missed it because it did not leave with us. I'm used to higher end hotels where they do not rifle in your belongings. The staff has less English than most in the area but it seems like a lot of the guests were Russian so maybe that's their focus. If you are looking for a more typical resort (if your definition is like mine) check out Indigo Pearl which is close by. We walked through it and spoke to staff there and were impressed.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Here at l'esprit at the moment, staying in the only 2 bedroom family villa. It was no bargain, at b8000 per night with breakfast.
Pros:
Our poolside villa is in the best position, closest to the beach (with a klong in between - there's now a boatman to take you across). Quite peaceful, and we can hear the waves in the morning

The pool looks impressive. Villa is big, modern and has 2 bathrooms. Very comfy for 2 couples, or an adult family if 2 older children are happy to share a king bed in the 2nd room.
Nai Yang beach ( 100 metres away across the klong) is a nice beach without the sleaze of Patong. Probably like Patong was like 30 years ago. Plenty of restaurants,a few mini marts and tailors, massages etc. A nice, laid back vibe.

Cons:
As already reported, the resort appears to be unfinished. Doors don't open properly, lots of little issues such as basic coffee and no tea in rooms,no spoons for coffee, poor TV channel selection, pool was not particularly clean. Lots of ponds around the resort but they were quite dirty. No external lighting near our villa, which needed it as it is isolated from the lobby building.

Overall, we do like the peaceful location and the beach, but I'm not sure whether we wouldn't have been better off at Dewa Resort at the other end of the beach (much nicer but bigger), or the Indigo Pearl.

Breakfast is cooked to order, which is OK, but there is no fresh fruit - very unusual for Thailand.
Staff try very hard, but are inexperienced e.g, I requested black tea but was given earl grey.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews