We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for couple nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach
Ranked #17 of 22 Nai Yang B&B and Inns
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good for couple nights”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Cute little bamboo huts with nothing but a mattress, mosquito net and a fan if you are lucky. We were comfortable enough but wouldn't want to spend more than a few days in one. You can hear every peep from neighbouring huts. The locks one the doors are little tiny suitcase locks so security there isn't . A very safe place . The beach was only footsteps away and it was very quiet hardly any tourists. Incredible food along the beach , so many choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thcoffeegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
10
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Ruan Mai overnight before an early flight the next morning and for this purpose we were satisfied. It is very close and cheap to get to the airport.

The accommodation was clean and very basic, and appropriate for one or two nights, but not many more. We stayed in a bamboo bungalow and it was sufficient; not much hot water and not much room for storage, you wouldn't be able to unpack!

It is a stones throw from the beach and there is a row of bars and shops to keep you entertained, and the locals are all very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinkablossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Next to the beach has a friendly staff.
Hotel is 5 minutes from Phuket airport perfect for two/three nights after arrival.
Calm beach far away from the crowded other beaches.
Easyly comunicated with mainland to perfom daily trip to Pang Gna or Khao lak

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbonet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

.....but after that, it would probably get a little cramped and annoying. We stayed in the bamboo huts and actually found them to be sweet and novel. However, there was literally no storage space whatsoever - not even a few basic shelves in the bathroom, so after a while, the novelty would have worn away. The wobbly, uncemented breeze blocks which you had to step on the enter the hut (and also step on to go down into your bathroom) were unsafe and a bit nervewrecking to use! The staff were lovely however, and we used to place for one night to crash on the beach for the day before flying out of Phuket airport the next day. Great beach too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KookyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived at 2am after travelling from the UK, so we just wanted somewhere to stay for the night. It costs 400 baht for a taxi from the airport and takes about 5 mins. It is close to the airport and would be ok if location was the only thing you were interested in. After seemingly waking up the owner who greeted us in her pyjamas we were given a key and directed down a little drive way towards where our room was. We dragged our suitcases and found the room before entering a slightly damp and smelly atmosphere. We also met the friendly gecko's we would be spending the night with. In the defence of the hotel it is a cheap(ish) one, and we got the impression it had been raining all day but you expect a certain standard of cleanliness. Shower was basic but did the job. We got out of there the next morning sharpish and made our way back to airport to get our next flight to Samui!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nai Yang hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Open your mind and you won't be disappointed.

It's small quaint but cosy and not that bad for the price (less than £20).

We stayed in a Bamboo Cottage and its a small bamboo room with a mosquito netting, mattress on the floor and a door down to your own toilet. There is also a fan.

I personally found it difficult to sleep as I'm 6ft plus and the normal double size I need to hang my feet over the edge which I couldn't do because of the netting.

I did appreciate that it was cheap, clean and cheerful and that the cottages were extremely well built.

I would probably not return again but I certainly would not warn people away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Currier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bansko
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Quinn's review tempted me to go for one of the bamboo huts. They are very basic - but that was to be expected. To be so close to the beach has something special. And the Ruan Mai certainly makes you pay for this privilege.

They claimed to have WiFi everywhere - even when I specifically asked at the reception upon arrival. But when I unpacked my ultrabook there was absolutely none - nowhere. After I complained the lady told me that her husband would look into this in the evening after he returned. And he did. He got a router from somewhere and stuck it on a long bamboo pole. So, the internet got started. It did not work constantly but at least from time to time.

What surprised me a little was that at that price no one came to clean my hut or change towels. I was ready to stay there for a week but after two nights decided to move on.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
0.1 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#2 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
0.0 mi away
Rimlay Bungalow
Rimlay Bungalow
#6 of 19 in Nai Yang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach

Property: Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach
Address: 90/24 Saku, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruan Mai Naiyang Beach Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing