We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

it's an interesting property 5 mins from the phuket airport. it's really far from town and all the nice beaches. this property does not have it's beach front, you'll have to cross a little street to get to the beach. the spa is amazing, built on a tree like a birds nest. the rooms are big with high ceilings. mostly garden views. the food is mediocre and service is ok. good for people who want to check out the design features.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Travelerkit,

Thank you for your response, we are dissapointed we have not met your expectations on food and service, we are reviewing these comments with our teams to ensure we improve on guest expectations here at Indigo Pearl. We do hope you give us another opportunity in the future to meet and exceed your expectations. We do tak all feedback seriously and will be sharing this with our teams. Best regards from the Indigo Pearl team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,681)
There are newer reviews for The Slate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 3,681 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wow!!!!! Anybody that is doubting staying here please don't. You will not b disappointed. I know some people like to moan about the tiniest aspect of every holiday but indigo pearl is as close to paradise as you can get. We stayed at indigo for my sisters wedding we were in a party of almost 50 and the hotel were so accommodating. Myself and husband and 3 daughters were lucky enough to have a 2 floor suite with a treatment room and sauna and a separate floor and bathroom for the children upstairs. The rooms were amazing as I went in all types from the d-buk rooms to the spa villa. This resort has something for everyone. My girls and their cousins went to the kids club. The ladies that work in the club are lovely and so caring my girls loved to learn about Thailand. They enjoyed painting ceramic and having their nails painted. The food in the hotel is lovely on our last night we went as just adults to black ginger such a special little oasis in the middle of the resort reached by boat. The grounds in this hotel are some of The best I have ever seen. I am we'll travelled and like luxury hotels but indigo pearl is the hotel to stay in. Forget the big branded American hotels in Phuket and stay in the unique jungle paradise that is indigo pearl. The spa is beyond words. I really hope to go back to Phuket very soon and to stay here. Well done all at indigo pearl

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buzyizzy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Buzzyizzy82,

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Indigo Pearl!! We very much look forward to your next visit and will continue improving our quality and service standards for your return visit with us here in Phuket!!

The team was very happy to hear your feedback!

Thank you
The Indigo Pearl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I´ve wanted to visit the Indigo Pearl Resort for a long time and I finally got round to book a week´s stay together with two other families. In total we are 6 adults and 3 children staying at the resort as I write this.
First things first: the design and the grounds are amazing! The room is spacious and when it comes to the design of this place, even the little details are thought through - like the beautiful pottery in the restaurants, the bed linen, the statues, the lightning, the pools, etc. Nothing left us disappointed when it comes to the look of this resort. It´s absolutely gorgeous.

However... The service has been terrible in so many ways its hard to even know where to begin. There seem to be a lack of management and proper training.
During our soon weekly visit, we haven´t actually seen even one duty or guest relations manager around the premises once.

Other disappointments have been connected to the half board system, where the hotel has stuck with a very outdated voucher system. This feels extremely cheap and not what would be expected by a 5* resort. The food choices have been very limited, since not all restaurants are open on all nights and two of the restaurants that we´ve visited offer the same half board set menu during the week. On one of the nights when we visit one of the recommended half board restaurants, we are met by a member of staff who speak very bad English. The member of staff finally takes our order and then proceeds to tell us that it will be more than one hour for the starters to arrive, since we are 9 people and the restaurant only have one kitchen. ???
Excuse me?
We end up going to the beach restaurant instead. (For the second night in a row - so not our choice).

The only buffet style dinner that has been on offer has been on the beach, and although this is pittoresque and relaxed, not actually being able to see your food on your plate because of lack of light, whilst your feet are dug deep in the sand, might not be what we had in mind 3-5 nights in a week.

The restaurant staff has been doing their best, but seem very confused about what is included or not, especially when it comes to the children. We´ve pre-paid half board for ALL family members, but still get to sign the most confusing bills at the end of each dinner. This will for sure be sorted out by the time of check out, but it leaves a bitter and quite disappointed (not to mention suspicious) taste in our mouths.

The food has been tasty and ok, but again absolutely not what you could expect at this level. We booked the "famous" Sunday brunch for our second day of our holiday and felt both ripped off and foolish to have overspent on a very average meal.

The sunbeds get "reserved" from EARLY morning. Forget getting a hotel sunbed if you arrive at the beach after 9.30. Fortunately, at the beach the hotel pay for using an adjacent hotel´s loungers, so you won´t go completely without - like you would do at the children´s pool. 40 sun loungers are full by 9am. And the policy is not to get any more chairs - or move any of the loungers from the other pools even if they are empty.

The beach right next to the hotel is lovely and the small beach restaurants on both sides of the hotel serve nice Thai lunches.
The kid´s room was popular by our children the times that they visited, with nice staff.
The gym is clean and spacious as far as hotel gyms go.

During our week here, we cannot get over the feeling that this resort lives on old merits. It needs to be shook up and wake up.
Competition is fierce in this region of the world. Half way service for a fully priced hotel, does not match well.
Bad service makes it even worse. Add limited food choices and not enough sun loungers and you´ve got a real looser.

Such an honest shame on such a gem of a designer hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mojolifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights over Christmas as there are 5 of us we needed to take 2 premium pearl suites which pushed the cost up a lot, though we did have ample room and the rooms had interconnecting doors so worked well. Our rooms were situated in block o which was closest to the beach, we found this a good location a very peaceful, ours rooms were on the 2nd floor which was good the ground floor rooms didn't appear to have much out look at all. My niggle with this hotel are the prices for they charge for food drinks outings well basically anything really, though happy hour does bring the price slighter to everywhere else. A minutes walk from our room and you are on the street that is Nai Yang there are plenty of lovely little beach bars and restaurants serving fantastic food a drinks for a fraction of the price charged within the hotel, it seems crazy as the hotel is literally deserted in the evenings which is such as shame as it really is a beautiful hotel. We did have the brunch on Christmas day and this was amazing every luxury food you could name appeared on the buffet table it was a fantastic meal, however this was the only meal we ate within the hotel other than breakfast. The hotel says it is a family hotel though not sure what makes it a family hotel, I did feel the children were welcome but at the same time their wasn't a great deal for the children, the Kids club wasn't somewhere I would have left them nor would they have wanted to go and only one pool out of 3 allowed them in, which meant due to the location of our room we had to walk past a pool with no one in to get to a packed kids pool!! However we would go back as the location, beach staff and rooms were great and we all had a lovely time, I would have given the place 5 stars but because of the crazy prices they charge in the bars restaurants it a 4.

Room Tip: Block O was great for getting to the beach and the local restaurants
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahM34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Indigo Pearl over New Year and we were really impressed by the beautiful design, architecture and furnishings in the hotel. Set across huge grounds with spectacular gardens almost like a jungle, the hotel is an oasis in the midst of the business of Phuket. We were staying in a Premium Pearl Suite and we had considered going for a larger room, but actually it was huge anyway. The bed was super-comfortable and the bathroom was brilliant - double basins are clearly the way for couples!

The breakfast in the restaurant was very good - with many different choices to suit the variety of guests staying there. We noticed a large number of guests were Russian, French or Scandinavian and there were many young families escaping the northern hemisphere winter!

As we don't have children, we particularly enjoyed the adults only pool which was comfortable and relaxing. We also spent some time at the beach - which was a nice beach but not a spectacularly amazing beach like you will find in other parts of Phuket. There are also a variety of good and cheap restaurants, massage places and laundry services outside the hotel. The restaurants on the beach at night are good fun - but watch out for the mosquitoes though!

The concierge was extremely helpful and courteous (a big shout out to Baz who was very kind to us) and we booked several excursions through them - to the Phi Phi Islands with Siam Adventures and to Siam Safari (elephants) - all reviewed separately.

We also did a guided bike ride and a morning visit to the monks. While we enjoyed both of these activities, we did think it was unnecessary to charge guests extra for these services that are being led by hotel staff. While we were happy to contribute to the gifts bestowed on the monks, we did feel somewhat taken advantage of otherwise.

The Cocoon Spa was amazing and is a must-do. Beautiful location and a real experience. You will get cheaper massages outside the hotel, but nowhere near as relaxing.

The Black Ginger restaurant was absolutely beautiful and quite an interesting experience, but the restaurant lacked much atmosphere and the food was overpriced for what it was. While we were pleased to visit this restaurant once, I wouldn't go back again.

While our overall experience was excellent at this hotel, there were a couple of points that lead to the fact we have not given it 5/5:
- We were on our honeymoon for this trip and had contacted the hotel prior to arriving to supply them with all the necessary documentation to verify this. However, on arrival in our room there was no evidence of the honeymoon benefits that had been confirmed. This included a flower decoration on the bed and sparkling wine etc. On enquiring with reception, they did later send the sparkling wine, but it was late in the evening and we had travelled a long way to reach the hotel so we were exhausted. We were gifted discounted massages as part of our package, but we never got the bed decoration and we never really got that "honeymoon" feeling. Luckily we went on to another hotel after this and we had a completely opposite experience with so many honeymoon benefits that we felt like Beyonce and Jay Z. It's these small efforts that can have a lasting impression.

- We were staying at the hotel over New Year and the hotel imposes a non-negotiable charge for a buffet dinner and party. However, what they didn't tell us at the time of booking was that this (quite substantial charge) was exclusive of alcohol, which we had to pay on top of that! We - English speakers - were seated on a table entirely with (lovely) French folks. Polite as everyone was, it made for a very peculiar evening. The dinner itself was amazing with everything you could think of available at the buffet. There was also a live band playing "disco tunes", but no dance floor so it was hard to get in the spirit. After dinner was a party on the beach with lanterns and fireworks which was pretty nice. While we did our best to rescue the evening with some vigorous dancing, it was an insanely expensive night for what we got and I would NOT recommend you stay at this hotel over new year unless you have an appetite to match the cost of their buffet.

- A man, who I assume was the hotel manager, would routinely visit guests' tables at breakfast and talk to them, however he seemed to have favourites who he spoke to loudly for 20 minutes at a time and then completely ignored everyone else. This was quite strange and a bit annoying first thing in the morning to have someone shouting in your ear while you try and munch your toast.

- The hotel is located quite far away from many attractions so if you plan to do some different adventures around Phuket you might want to consider this before booking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AKL-CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel - it looks interesting and we sort of wish we had. This review is for the AMAZING brunch. Make reservations well in advance. There are so many food stations you may not get to all of them. Froie Gras, sushi, oysters, mussels, Indian curries, Thai dishes, duck, beef, lots of choices of salads and veggies and the list goes on and on. Desserts were a slight disappointment. They are just ok. Spend your time on the vast selection of meats and seafood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We are looking forward to going back to indigo pearl. We were there in April/may 2013 and had our wedding there, and stayed with a group of family/friends. I cannot begin to list all the amazing aspects to this resort, but I'll try. The staff, the grounds, the restaurants, bars, cocktails, the wedding planner, all of the little details, absolutely everything about this place is incredible. It has spoiled me for any other resort. Nothing could compare! On the wedding day, it rained, but the location the wedding was moved to was stunning, so I was happy to not be on the beach, the staff made an error with the cocktail package, but their resolution was incredible, they resolved the problem and it was better than we could have imagined. Every single person went out of their way to make sure we had an amazing wedding, they were so incredibly good to our guests, and we just can't thank them enough. Also the photographer they provided as part of the wedding package was fantastic. If you're thinking about a wedding in Phuket, you can't go passed indigo pearl. If you're thinking about a luxury holiday where you will be treated like kings and queens, you can't go passed indigo pearl. Ps it's on the best bit of beach in the world!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Sharona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
13.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range: £101 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing