We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Indigo Pearl”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indigo Pearl”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Attended a wedding at Indigo Pearl Resort. Would absolutely recommend the hotel and staff. The hotel itself is incredibly interesting with an obvious history of the tin mining of the past. It was a surprise to understand the history of the local area and have it presented throughout the hotel in such a way. Loved the restaurants - in particular the Black Pearl where the most perfect wedding reception was held. It was so much fun. We upgraded to a 2 bedroom Villa. Amazing! A little expensive even with the discount we were given, but we had 3 villas of our own all set in our own private compound within the hotel grounds - 2 bedroom individual Villas and a central Villa with TB, Bar, you name it, it was there. Private butler service by friendly staff who could not do enough for you. Fantastic private swimming pool set in amazing grounds. Perfect setting for the wedding party to get ready in the central Villa.

Room Tip: Private rooms were very comfortable and large. If you can afford to stay in a Villa, I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear katiemaroo,

Thank you for taking the time to review Indigo Pearl here on Tripadvisor! So pleased the wedding and days before and after went so well!!

The VILLAS are a very unique and private oasis here at IP, We saw that you enjoyed the amenities, the butler service and most of all the staff, not only at the villa but over all min our resort!


You also discovered our best kept secret Black Ginger!! Great to see that you enjoyed this as well!!



We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Phuket!

Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,477
    736
    222
    81
    46
See reviews for
762
2,017
90
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend in the rainy season and it was just the relaxation we needed. Got upgraded to the botanica suite....lovely and tons of space. The Rivet restaurant was very good, the breakfast more than we needed (and crowded at peak hours), gym very nice, and just a short walk from a beautiful long beach. Great for a relaxing stay with fabulous, helpful staff

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear DTAsia,


Thank you for spending a long weekend with us and taking your valuable time to review us!


The team is very pleased to see that you enjoyed the Design, Gym, our newly uncluttered beach the F&B at both the breakfast buffet and Rivet! The Chefs and Service teams will be very excited and proud to read this!

Most of all your comment on our dedicated team here! they are the true GEMS here and so pleased that they have met expectations while you were with us! The team has been dedicated and working on true Thai hospitality and so pleased that you noticed!


Looking forward to seeing you , perhaps on holiday next time?


Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from indigo pearl after 10 wonderful days. I have been to this hotel before but this time returned with my baby and 5 other family members as I loved it so much last time.

Overall the hotel is amazingly beautiful - I love the design and the attention to following the design theme is so well done. The rooms are definitely wow!! We were upgraded to a pool suite and they are lovely, very big and impressive.

I'll list the positives and negatives of this hotel from my viewpoint

Positives

Location - 10 minutes from the airport and on nai yang beach which is beautiful. Just outside the hotel are lots of beach restaurants, massage places and minimarts which is great. It's far from anything though so I wouldn't recommend if you want to be amongst the action of phuket but we found it perfect.

Room - really gorgeous, it has the wow factor. Shower is big and powerful. Large bed and outside pool was fab!

Staff - everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. Even the gardeners stopped what they were doing to say hello. The staff were great with my baby, even carrying hot water from the restaurant to the pool to heat his bottle and helping me carrying the pushchair upstairs. The staff are such a credit to the hotel.

Breakfast - lots of choice, really fresh and tasty. We loved it! The chef even offered to blend up fruit for our baby!

Negatives

These aren't really negatives but more things we noticed that could be improved...

Areas in the hotel were a bit neglected and needed looking at. At the kids pool there were really loose paving stones on steps which was dangerous. Hedges near the kids pool were overgrown so pushing a pushchair through was a tight squeeze and my baby often got hit with a branch. Some areas of concrete paths had sunken in and were again a bit of a hazard - it might sound like nit picking but little things like this let this overall amazing hotel down a bit.

Having return to this hotel now as a mother I did find in general it's not an overall family friendly hotel. There are no lifts so getting to reception was tough with a pushchair. Little things would help - I feel they should automatically ensure people with small children have ground floor rooms due to many steps and no lifts - we had to ask for this. It was only reading the book in the room that we realised we could get baby sterilisers and baby baths - it would have been a nice touch if these were offered straight away. Only one of the three pools allow children- I do understand the need for adult only pools but felt a lot of the guests were crammed to the one pool where there isn't many loungers whilst the other pools were often empty.

The restaurants and bar in the hotel were empty so we didn't go to them. This is a shame as I did eat in the rivet restaurant when I came here before and it's a fantastic restaurant however because it was so empty we didn't want to eat in there as there seemed no atmosphere ... I appreciate we went in low season but think having special offers would attract people to eat in the hotel .. The bar did happy hours but we only stayed in there once as the seats were so high (again not family friendly) and it was sooo hot. Staff however in the bar were lovely and made a fuss over my baby and nephew.

Overall we had a truly wonderful time. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unique hotel to anyone as having been to phuket for 4 years this is by far the best hotel on the island. I couldn't give it 5 stars though as comparing it to the last time we came I did notice that things needed a little improvement - however I would come back without a doubt!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peace1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Peace 1981,


Good day and Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our resort! We are very pleased that overall you found your experience was very good and we will look into your concerns and areas that we have fallen short on expectations, there is work going on now to repair all the walkways in the resort , Just with Rainy season trickier to schedule but ongoing for sure! We truly value your feedback and also reviewing the Family feel to ensure all guests feel 100% comfortable with us.


On the comments about our Location, Room and design along with the breakfast buffet the team will be very pleased to see this and the most important was your feedback on the team here!! that was fantastic to read and once we focus on the areas mentioned I am positive we will make your next trip much better. The team is AMAZING and so glad you mentioned this here, they will be very proud to hear this.


Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sunny Phuket very soon! Wishing you a great week ahead!

Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I visited Thailand with friends and this hotel was recommended to us by the travel agent, which did not disappoint us...... this hotel was superb!

To start with the free wifi throughout the whole hotel was a real bonus as we were in a group of 11 and this meant we could keep 'tabs' on each other whenever we were going to meet up as a group and while some of us enjoyed the excellent facilities the hotel had to offer (the spa is a MUST)!!

The breakfast, every morning was literally TO DIE FOR!! So much choice and nothing was ever too much for the dining room staff..... AND here's a massive 'BIG UP' to Sue (the supervisor at breakfast) & her team in the dining room who ALWAYS made sure there was a 'table for 6' already laid out for us each morning.... thanks guys....... (Oy, Celine, Enrico & anyone else I may have missed out.

The hotel is beautiful with tasteful decor.... inside the rooms and also outside. It's also (in my opinion) quite large but there's no fear of you getting lost, as staff are ever present, especially within the grounds of the hotel where you can see a buggy being driven helpful staff who are happy to offer you a lift, not matter how short your journey is.

The rooms are gorgeous and spacious, especially the bathroom, (I would LOVE a bathroom like that in my home). Our room maid, Dee was efficient, polite & pleasant. Big thanks to her for putting up with us.

Finally the pleasant and ever helpful & knowledgeable reception staff...... I know we bombarded you with many, many questions but you ALWAYS came through for us....... Apple (many, many thanks.... You KNOW what you did & probably saved me from 'strangling' my room mate.... lol), Ashton and Pat.... thank you both cos you are a mine of information. They know their stuff AND they know Thailand.

We WILL return.... thank you all for making our first trip to Thailand such a memorable one.

Beautiful country with beautiful people

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Ray1959,

First of all thank you so much for your very detailed review and to you and your group for staying with us!!!

It was so nice to read your comments and see that the areas that really delivered for you being the SPA, BREAKFAST BUFFET, ROOMS, TASTEFUL DECOR, GROUNDS, HSK TEAM ETC!!!a real pleasure to read this!

Even more than the above comments was the comment on the team and our gems that you have mentioned from te Front Office, F&B, HSk, etc the true magic of the hotel lies with the team here! They will be very proud to read and hear this and as the try very hard to meet an exceed expectations this will be even more positive for them!!


So glad you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spectacular hotel, large sized room, comfort beds, wonderful pools, great facility, kind staff, perfect location. I must say Thanks Indigo for so far the best holiday in my life and..... Caprioska- my favourite drink.....:D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommassioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management team at The Slate, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Tomasz B,


Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us here on Tripadvisor!! Very please you had a wonderful stay and the dedicated team here was able to meet and beat expectations!!


Hoping to see you back in Sunny Phuket very soon!


Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We checked Trip Advisor before travelling to Phuket to decide between which hotel to go to. Indigo Pearl was perfect! We chose the right one! Actually we also checked with a travel agent before we left and they recommended Indigo Pearl over all others so then we were doubly decided.
We relaxed at the pool; we had children with us so used the family pool which was really fun for the kids and provided everything we needed to enjoy it with them; beautiful design, a basket of toys for the children to play with in the pool, complimentary ice lollies and fruit sticks, waterfall and water jets for massage and beautiful surrounds! We enjoyed the facilities; the gym, the tennis courts, Moo's Kitchen (cooking classes), Breakfast at the Tin Mine every morning, and the beach and some of it's outlets. Unfortunately we didn't make it to the Coqoon spa but other visitors there told me it was wonderful. We did some of the trips recommended from the reception; elephant trekking (seems like the elephants are very well looked after and seemed very happy), Sunset bike rides and the "Morning Monks" visit at the local temple. The trips were all excellent, very well organised and very enjoyable. We ate at a few restaurants on the beach in the evenings and enjoyed the sunsets with our meal!
It is a beautiful hotel, fantastic objects of design all around the place and friendly staff. We had a wonderful stay. We had friends staying at Le Meridien hotel in the South so we visited them for the day. We are very happy we chose Indigo Pearl over the Meridien. Indigo Pearl is so much more beautiful and welcoming. Thank You Indigo Pearl. We'll see you again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the D buk suites which was perfect for us and our 3 children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salkudu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear sal_kudu,

Greetings from Indigo Pearl and Thank you very your very detailed review and staying with us here in Northern Phuket!

Fantastic to see your comments on the resort, selection of pools with pool amenities, the design of the hotel and attention to detail! The (design) tin mine theme is very unique! We are also pleased you used our resort services , Moos Kitchen!! , the tennis courts, bikes and morning monks!! The chef and his team will be proud to see the Breakfast buffet comments! :)

Your comments are very much appreciated on the resort and the service here but most important are the comments on our team here!! they will be thrilled to read and hear this, we strive to meet guest expectations daily and work to improve this and see this in your review!


We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Indigo Pearl in the very near future!


Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Everywhere you look in this resort there is an attraction to design detail,a refreshing new look,the bedrooms are Devine and the breakfast leaves you wanting to go back to bed just to relive it again,we travelled with 2 children 11 and 13 and they enjoyed it just as much I am sure as if you were on honeymoon,the beach is on your doorstep with all the local beach Bars and restaurants you would require,drink a cocktail,watch the sun go down while you have a massage,

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXECTeam, Management Team at The Slate, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Dean R,


Greetings from Sunny Phuket! We are so pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed your holiday with us! It was great to see your comments on the Design, attention to detail and the rooms! We are well suited for both couples and families and happy to see you enjoyed our resort!


The Chef and his team will be very happy and proud to read the breakfast buffet comments!!


Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future!


Warm regards,

The Indigo Pearl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
10.9 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
7.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
13.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing