We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We keep going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pen Siri House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pen Siri House
Ranked #2 of 20 Nai Yang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have stayed at Pen Siri house five times in three trips to Thailand. We always enter and exist Thailand through Phuket. Nai Yang Beach and Pen Siri House are the perfect start and finish to our trips. The rooms are always clean and the store well stocked. Pen is very knowledgeable and can arrange any tours or transportation requested. She will also pick you up at the airport so you can avoid that craziness. She is in business and does expect to get a commission on any arrangements made, like anywhere else, you get what you pay for. For value and efficiency we can recommend Pen Siri House.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenandcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    51
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
54
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We tried o book a sight seeing trip to pang nga through pen Siri house. They took a deposited from us. Later the same day when I found out that te same tour is offered cheaper elsewhere I wanted to cancel and politely asked the shop, but the owner very aggressively refused to refund my deposit and threatened me to a round of Thai boxing!!! We had to stick to high price as a result of my lack of Knowledge of the Thai language as well as martial arts.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lord_alikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We arrived here late as our flight was delayed (air asia as usual) got in at 12 oclock, luckilly they were able to let us in and opened the shop up for us to get something to eat and drink.

The hotel is right next to the Indigo pearl hotel so tell this to the driver as it is a well known hotel. The transfer is 200 baht and we tried to get a taxi by the meter at the airport but everyone charges 200 baht. I think even the meter taxis at the phuket airport are a scam as the place is only 2 k's away and there is a sign at the airport saying 100 baht flagfall + the meter, but whatever we got in late anyway and it's not that much money.

I would book ahead though as there are a lot of scam artist taxi and minibus drivers who will take you all over the place trying to get commission if they even think you don't have a place booked. There is a post about this scam somewhere on travel advisor.

If a taxi takes you somewhere (or minibus) they may get very angry with you if you don't book through them, and some may even come into the reception of the place you are staying to demand commission of the place you have already booked, make it clear to the taxi driver, and avoid mini busses (which take forever dropping people off and trying to scam you for tours etc..).

Anyway, the hotel is very clean and new, they have a shop and breakfast restaurant. There is also free wifi in the room as well as computers downstairs which are presumably charged if you need them.

The tv has lots of english channels, there is a small safe and fridge. The rooms are 600 baht low season and 800 baht high season, 200 extra for balcony although we were only charged 800 in high season (jan 24, 2011).

There is a track going straight to the beach and restaurants, it is not over developed but not underdeveloped either, just right as you want some dining options.

The beach is clear and clean, There is no rubbish floating around like patong and there are beach chairs etc, there were no waves and a gradual drop off in the sand which makes it a perfect swimming beach. It is one of the nicest beaches I've seen and I live on the gold coast where the beaches are awesome.

There is a minimart downstairs, the prices are higher than others in Thailand but it is still the cheapest around as the area is surrounded by high priced resorts. Plus Phuket is higher priced anyway.

We ate on the beach, the food was ok, nothing special though. Had cabbage and other things not usually in Thai food sort of westernized like Thai food in Australia.

There is a new place going in next door to here which looks ok, separate bungalows, but this place very nice, every thing you need and the beach is as nice as a swimming pool. It has no signs up but maybe map view in google earth will show it.

I will definitely visit this area again if in Phuket and would recommend it to people looking for somewhere to stay near the airport with a nice quiet beach, excellent clean swimming area and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adaveinthelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We had real trouble tracking down accommodation in Nai Yang - partly because it was hard to get a fix on how the town was laid out and partly because web searches are swamped by the resorts charging hundreds of dollars. However, we came across Pen Siri on another review site and gave them a ring from Phuket airport. It doesn't look much from outside, but fifteen minutes later we were shown into our clean, comfortable, air con room. The location is great for anyone who cannot drive - just 5 minutes walk from a long, sandy beach with plenty of fresh seafood bars. Oh and there's a little shop. We came for one or two nights, but could be here for a while...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EldestOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I am surprise at the last review about the behaviour of the owners. It is astonishing compared to the friendly service we got during our stay.

My partner and I moved into Pen Siri after staying a night at Naiyang Seaview which was not value for money. After looking at a few places, we decided upon Pen Siri because it fitted out budget and was very clean.

Even though our room was basic, it was bright, airy and clean. It came with cable tv, free wifi, kettle and a bar fridge. The balcony was also fairly large and the touch of a little green lifted the ambience. The room was also cleaned daily, which is a joy compared to other budget places.

The lady staff always greeted us with a smile. She was helpful with dispensing bus details and very apologetic when rectifying problems. The couple owner were also friendly and polite. The lady had even offered me a ride on her motorbike to get food from the market nearby.

We would certainly stay at Pen Siri again when we return to Nai Yang.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tristrami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Nai Yang is a charming place to stay. A very quiet beach, near the aiport, lots of eating options. If you want your last night to be hassle-free in terms of getting to the airport, then it is a great option. I stayed at the Pen Siri guest house in order to do this. It is located just next to the fabulous Indigo Pearl resort, it was inexpensive (600 baht per night) and very basic, but the hidden cost of savings soon became apparent. The room is sparse with hot water and A/C, no frills, bed not great and only one outlet in the whole room. However, the morning I left both owners were incredibly abusive and acted very strangely. Although a taxi was booked for a certain time it came early and so they dismissed it. They then refused to refund the money paid for it. Things got worse when they would not even call for another taxi and then tried to prevent me from getting another taxi fby a) grabbing the luggage and trying to keep it and b) yelling at the drivers who stopped to help at the top of their lungs. The problem was never clear since they already had the money, and the taxi delay had been a mere 15-20 minutes. God bless the manager of the Indigo Pearl who finally arranged transport to the airport, depite the owners yelling at him, and confessed that this couple/guesthouse are "problem neighbors" for the resort, and that this is typical behaviour by the owners of Pen Siri. Amazingly, the entire staff of the Indigo Pearl seemed intimidated by them, from concierege to the drivers to the guards, even. Nai Yang is lovely, and there are many other nice guesthouses nearby that are walking distance to the beach, and chances are good that they are not owned by crooked psychopaths. Stay anwywhere else, but if you value your safety and sanity, don't stay at the Pen Siri guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tristrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and athough it is basic with the basic wet-room type shower bathroom (but had some TV in English and air-con) it is very clean, just a short walk to the beach (maybe 5 min) and the staff were friendly. I found the bed a bit firm, but maybe that is just me. For what you get and the proximity to the beach, I don't think the price can be beat on Nai Yang. It is located just behind the Indigo Pearl. The staff was friendly and helpful - they picked us up at the other place we were staying at in Nai Yang, when we decided to stay at the beach longer but our place was all booked up for those dates. They do have a restaurant, but we did not try it. Overall, this place is good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
0.2 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.1 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#1 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
0.0 mi away
Ideo Phuket Guesthouse
Ideo Phuket Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Siri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Siri House

Property: Pen Siri House
Address: 112 Moo 5, Saku, Naiyang Beach, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Siri House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pen Siri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Siri House Hotel Thalang
Pen Siri House Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing