We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable, homely and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Island Guest House
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, homely and convenient location”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Bit late getting this review in - but after revisiting Thailand for the second year in a row ,this time staying in Patong - thought I should write a review on how awesome the accommodation at Green Island is which is where I stayed on my first trip to Thailand last year.

The rooms at Green Island are always spotless and very comfortable. Each room has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Good size bathroom, TV and fridge with large comfortable beds. The guest house owners Tony and Tang were very helpful, friendly and accommodating.

The bar down stairs is a lovely little oasis from the mad hustle and bustle of the main street girly bars and you can meet and talk with people from all walk of life there. Also if you like your sport, it is a great place to watch a good rugby or soccer match.

It is a 5 minute walk to Karon Beach and so convenient to all bars, restaurants at Karon. Angus O'Tooles next door is also a great diversion and provides free internet. See Tuk next door to organise all your tips to Phi Phi and other attractions. She is another bonus to staying at Green Island as she is so efficient and friently as well.

Overall - this is a lovely comfortable and homely guest house in a great location. Would definately recommend for singles or couples.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
11
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Excellent guesthouse with a central location in Karon near to the beach, shops etc. Tony and the other staff members friendly and helpful and made our stay comfortable. Big rooms are clean and tidy with good bathroom. Excellent value for money, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JapanCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Have stayed here twice. Tony, his family and staff are most welcoming. Rooms were of a decent size with good showers and decent air conditioning. Comfortable bar downstairs and only a 5 minute walk to the beautiful beach. Central position with plenty of eating and drinking options nearby. Great value. Will be going back !

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The owner and staff are so friendly that you feel like one of the family.The rooms are large spotless and cheap(700 Baht a night) and nothing is too much trouble.The positioning of the guesthouse could hardly be better : Nightlife 2 minutes away and only 4 minutes to the beach.Excelent resteraunts within 100 yards.
This place has everything you could want in a guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I am a long-time visitor to Karon (since 1993), which is probably my favorite beach in the world (and I am a serious beach bum). In July 2008, I went back for the first time in a few years and noticed the Green Island and its almost perfect location, which is both close to the beach (3-5 minutes on my crutches) and a host of good restaurants and bars (even closer).

I then booked a 4-night stay during my most recent trip for December via email to the property's website. The owner, Tony and his staff, turned out to be most helpful, despite the fact that my diving instructor friend kept bugging them with many phone calls at all hours. I was also most impressed by the wonderful rooms, which far surpass most rooms in hotels that are 3-4 times more expensive. The steep stairs presented some difficulty for me as I am on crutches (bad hip) but that difficulty was surmountable with a little patience. The bar downstairs is also one of the nicest hangouts in a wonderful neighborhood full of fun alternatives for those who like to drink whatever, chat with whoever, and learn about various experiences not often available to the less fortunate.

The Green Island was particularly refreshing for me because I had just escaped from the much crazier Patong after 4 days of 5hrs/day ot Thai language lessons. Perhaps I am prejudiced because green is my favorite color, but this is indeed a green island in paradise. My only recommendation: please enjoy.

  • Liked — location, service, rooms
  • Disliked — stairs, no pool (unrealistic expectation in this class)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachboyfromkyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I first visited Karon in March 2008 and stayed in another hotel which I reviewed then.While I was there I spent some time in the bar of the Green Island and got to know the people who run it.
It is owned by Tony and his wife Tran and their 2 little girls Bea and Anna.
I found the Green Island to be the most relaxing accomadation I have ever stayed in.My friend and I stayed there from the 7th to the 18th of September and although it is not as oppulant as some places it had everything that we needed.
The position of the Green Island is just about perfect. A 3-4 minute walk through town brings you to the beautiful beach and to the nightlife it takes only 1-2 minutes.
Tony and Tran are a great source of information and Tuk who runs the Tour Agency which is attached to the Green Island was most helpful in arranging trips and transfers.
All in all I would say that the Green Island is perhaps the most comfortable and relaxing guesthouse I have ever stayed in.
In terms of value again I think that for what we paid(less than £11 per night) for a single room this will take a lot of beating.
I would recomend the Green Island to anyone except people with walking difficulties because some of the internal stairs are quite steep.
I plan to visit Karon next year and will be staying at the Green Island.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jreid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathu
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2008

I stay at the green island when i want night out in karon Beach. Nice quiet soi the Green island guesthouse is located in. Close to bars, restaurants and only 5 minutes walk from the beach.
Tony the owner is a great host for relaxing in there bar in the evening before hitting the bars in the local area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhuketBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#94 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.7 mi away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#107 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#37 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sand Inn
Golden Sand Inn
#98 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Guest House

Property: Green Island Guest House
Address: 516/15 Patak Road, Soi Islandia | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Island Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Green Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel
Green Island Guest House Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing