We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got a great deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamboo House Phuket
Ranked #56 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We got a great deal.”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great location and beautiful rooms. MacMini hooked up to the flatscreen tv in the room is a particularly good touch. instant free access to the internet. Free wifi in rooms too. Very nice shower room. There were three of us and the third bed was just a mattress on the floor, not ideal but we had no complaints. The pool area was lovely and the water feature is a nice touch, the Restaurant area was lovely and out door (with a roof) food was great. Great Location, a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchieknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    85
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
114
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here with my wife for 5 days in August. We were impressed by the neatly designed rooms and the cute decorative use of bamboo. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned, and the staff were mostly very helpful.

The hotel's bar/restaurant offers some excellent food and cocktails, although keep in mind that it is a bit more expensive than smaller nearby restaurants. The pool is nice and, although small, it was always available and clean while we were there.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is right in the center of Karon, with plenty of restaurants, bars, markets, street food, massage parlors, and salons very close by. There are no real pavements to speak of, but you will get used to that. Just keep a close eye on the traffic! I also highly recommend insect repellant, as the open drains attract mosquitoes, as is the case in many towns in Thailand.

The beach, which is quite beautiful, is also just a short walk away. The umbrella seats are great value, and you can enjoy fruit drinks from nearby vendors. Pay close attention to the flags though, as the rip current can be dangerous.

Like any cheaper hotel, the Bamboo House certainly has its idiosyncrasies. For instance, the bathroom doors do not extend either to the floor or the ceiling, which may create an unexpected challenge for new couples. In addition, the outdoor breakfasts tend to attract rather a lot of bees, which can be a little unnerving.

But all in all, I'm extremely happy to have stayed here. For the traveler who is on a budget but appreciates the comfort of a nice hotel, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimmyCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Overall happy with this hotel, great value!
-good breakfast
-very nice rooms, bamboo style all the way. We stayed for 5 nights, got room in level 3 with pool view (recommend to request not to get level 1- pretty much underground, no view)
-friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We ate in this restaurant 3 times and had a great service and excellent food quality! Well recommend it! Be careful as its right on the road, if you have young children. Excellent value for money also!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SamCDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We did not stay at the accommodation but we ate at the restaurant for lunch one day during our recent visit to Phuket. The wait staff seemed disinterested but the food was fantastic and fresh. I would've gone back here again for another meal but we ran out of time and chose instead to go to the Red Onion for our final night (which came highly recommended) but it was awful. Bamboo House would have been a much better choice. Go, the food is great!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is a must! It's got a great atmosphere here. The food is fantastic and service prompt.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicitycogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here in June, low season, at very good prices. Beautiful spacious room, cleaned daily, products topped. Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, so had fabulous sleeps whilst I stayed there. The mac in the room is wonderful. I had a problem with it on the first day and could not access my emails, as soon as I reported it, the maintenance staff came and changed the unit and I was away! The reception staff are excellent, most helpful and polite. Breakfasts were fabulous, possibly the best on my travels around Phuket and Bankok. The pool is small, but it was fine for me as a sole traveler, and I could dip as and when I pleased. My only criticism was the attitude of some the front of house staff, who seemed to think that they had greater status than the guests, as the restaurant was probably one of the best on the road, in terms of walking in to a restaurant. A lose plank on the decking near the pool tripped me up once, which I reported to the bar staff at least three times, which was ignored. I spoke to the reception staff and it was attended to straight away! Overall, a lovely stay, but a little staff training for some of the front of house staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachynottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#113 of 134 in Karon
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#37 of 134 in Karon
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#101 of 134 in Karon
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Phuket

Property: Bamboo House Phuket
Address: 492/1 Patak Rd | Karon Beach Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#41 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo House Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo House Phuket is an ultra stylish boutique hotel offering a unique combination of sleek yet minimalist decor with a bamboo theme echoed from the pool garden outside all the way through to subtle details in every room.With top of the range hi-tech amenities and inclusive high-speed wireless internet available in each room, Bamboo House is the ultimate choice in providing all of your needs whether for work or for play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo House Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Phuket Hotel Karon
Bamboo Hotel Phuket
Bamboo House Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing