We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
133
99
42
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
99
42
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed from 30 Aug to 1 Sep 2012. 2nd trip to Phuket and first time staying in the Karon area. The action is in Patong and Karon locality is a nice quieter location just a short tuk tuk ride of 300-400 baht from the main Bangala street in Patong.
The room were nice and clean. Free wifi, firm mattress but soft pillows, mac mini in each room. There is no toothbrush and paste provided but not an issue with a 24/7 family mart within 2mins from the hotel. Accessing the rooms might be an issue if you have leg problems. There are no lifts. So be prepared to climb a max of 5 flight of stairs.
Within the vicinity, the much needed family mart, exit hotel turn left. Couple of atm machines around so getting cash shouldn't be much of an issue. Nice clean massage place directly across the road from the hotel. Full body thai massage at 300 baht. Couple of cheap eateries around and Karon beach is within walking distance from the hotel.
For the price you pay, I rate this hotel as value for money. Great night's sleep and fairly good location.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great location and beautiful rooms. MacMini hooked up to the flatscreen tv in the room is a particularly good touch. instant free access to the internet. Free wifi in rooms too. Very nice shower room. There were three of us and the third bed was just a mattress on the floor, not ideal but we had no complaints. The pool area was lovely and the water feature is a nice touch, the Restaurant area was lovely and out door (with a roof) food was great. Great Location, a short walk to the beach.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itchieknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here with my wife for 5 days in August. We were impressed by the neatly designed rooms and the cute decorative use of bamboo. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned, and the staff were mostly very helpful.

The hotel's bar/restaurant offers some excellent food and cocktails, although keep in mind that it is a bit more expensive than smaller nearby restaurants. The pool is nice and, although small, it was always available and clean while we were there.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is right in the center of Karon, with plenty of restaurants, bars, markets, street food, massage parlors, and salons very close by. There are no real pavements to speak of, but you will get used to that. Just keep a close eye on the traffic! I also highly recommend insect repellant, as the open drains attract mosquitoes, as is the case in many towns in Thailand.

The beach, which is quite beautiful, is also just a short walk away. The umbrella seats are great value, and you can enjoy fruit drinks from nearby vendors. Pay close attention to the flags though, as the rip current can be dangerous.

Like any cheaper hotel, the Bamboo House certainly has its idiosyncrasies. For instance, the bathroom doors do not extend either to the floor or the ceiling, which may create an unexpected challenge for new couples. In addition, the outdoor breakfasts tend to attract rather a lot of bees, which can be a little unnerving.

But all in all, I'm extremely happy to have stayed here. For the traveler who is on a budget but appreciates the comfort of a nice hotel, I highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimmyCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Overall happy with this hotel, great value!
-good breakfast
-very nice rooms, bamboo style all the way. We stayed for 5 nights, got room in level 3 with pool view (recommend to request not to get level 1- pretty much underground, no view)
-friendly staff

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pepmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We ate in this restaurant 3 times and had a great service and excellent food quality! Well recommend it! Be careful as its right on the road, if you have young children. Excellent value for money also!

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank SamCDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews