We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay & helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
Ranked #108 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay & helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

After spending the first 3 nights of our holiday in Patong we decided we could not stand it anymore and so check out of our Hotel to look for a quiter area and we were lucky enough to find Baan Suay. We were very happy with the room and the facilites and very reasonably priced. The staff were helpful and also honest. I left my wallet down in the restaurant area one night and when I woke up in a panic and came down to reception the lady behind the reception handed it to me - it had a lot of money in it along with all my credit cards!! Helpful and honest staff with lovely rooms and nice facilites, Baan Suay will be our fist port of call next time we visit Phuket!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_wu002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    42
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
25
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I was relaxing in Samui when a friend called and advised they were staying in Karon Beach, Phuket and that I should join them.

I quickly searched for a hotel online and found Baan Suay which was only 30 metres from my friends hotel and looked really cute and authentic.

I arrived early and was upgraded to one of the suites for free.

The staff were very friendly and the proprietor was incredibly helpful in suggesting things to do and places to go.

I rented a motorbike from reception for 200 baht a day and was able to get to the beach in 5 minutes everyday. Other options for getting to the beach are baht bus, taxi or walking. Only 20 minutes by motorbike to Patong if you are looking for some lively nightlife.

The room I stayed in was very clean with lots of natural light, a balcony, wardrobe, safe, great bathroom and mountain views.

Noise from the road was minimal and I got great sleep every night.

The food at the restaurant was very clean, tasty and fresh. I ate at the hotel at least once every day.

The pool is fantastic, not heavily chlorinated and has a really deep section. When I say deep I mean deeeep.

I had an amazing and very pleasant stay at Baan Suay and was sad to leave.

The welcome, service, food and great care they took of me will see me returning here next time I stay in Phuket.

I recommend renting a motorbike and riding the fantastic roads south. Very nice riding and heaps to see.

Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Stay in 1 of the rooms above the restaurant if you can. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimAdamWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Baan Suay is a lovely little guesthouse with a gorgeous restaurant and very friendly staff. There were a few things that I grudgingly have to mark them down for though. The easiest way to summarise is with a pros and cons list I think...

Pros
We had a lovely spacious room which was bright, had a balcony and long windows with a pool view.
The bathroom was a good size with really powerful shower.
The pool was really nice even though it was small.
The staff were very friendly.
The food in the restaurant was nice.
There was a fridge and kettle in the room.

Cons
It is a good 20 minute walk to the beach through the town although we were not too bothered about this ourselves.
Despite the restaurant having a No Smoking sign, there seemed to be someone smoking in there everytime we walked through. I am an anti-smoker so this bothered me big time. The staff could see this but never asked the guests to smoke elsewhere.
Our room seemed to attract lots of ants which we found in an army line from the balcony door to the bathroom and a few pesky ants make in into the bed one night.
Even though they cleaned the room everyday, they did not replace our dirty cups for new ones.
They do provide a kettle and cups, but no tea or coffee.
When printing our boarding passes, they were reusing paper (that's a good thing obviously) but that meant my boarding pass was printed on the back of a copy of someone elses passport, I'm pretty sure that person would not have been very happy knowing their passport details were handed to a complete stranger.

I really did want to rate this place higher as I did really like the room and the little pool but there were just too many annoyances. I think the management needs to do some auditing of the processes they use, I think all of my problems can be addressed pretty easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/mountain view room, these seem to be nicer based on other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EilisNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I had booked this hotel for a 4 night stay. We thought we would try to save some money and book something on the cheaper end. We barely made it through the first night and handed our keys back and booked something else. Our room was like a prison cell and was the first one closest to the street. The main loud street of Patak to top it off. The pictures shown to us of the bungalow room were double the size and showed a seeting area. Our cell had nothing of the sort. Only an incredibly uncomfortable bed and nothing else, no chair nothing. We also did not get a blanket on our bed, only a filthy sheet. We use dour bath towels as blankets. There is one small closet that has a few hangars, so nowhere to put your clothes if you are staying for more than a day (which thank god we did not). The room smelled like urine, sewage and mold. We slept in our clothes. The shower is the bathroom, so you can't leave anything in there either as it will get wet. We did not want to use the bathroom as it was dirty, grout was filthy and moldy and filled with mosquitos. No hotel soap or shampoo, so plan on bringing your own. We were awakened to the loud music and singing of the cleaning staff and it was only 8am. Blasting music! Its fairly far from the beach and the main part of town. I have never left a poor review for anything and really had high hopes for this place. The one plus for the Baan Suay was the cute reception area, but thats about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Flamenca, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very friendly and happy staff. Rooms basic but OK. Beach is a good 40 minutes walk though so really need taxi at 200Baht each way. Karon is also 20 minutes walk for the bars and night life. Free wi- fi in all rooms. Food was all OK but better choice in restaurants

Room Tip: Rooms in hotel better than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grange J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Baan Suay, the owners are lovely and very helpful, if there is anything you need they are happy to help.
The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

It does say that the beach is 300 meters from the hotel, however it is more like a 20 minute walk depending how fit you are.

We stayed in a Bungalow, the pictures did make it look bigger on the Internet though. They are very small and basic, but are kept

The bar and restaurant is very relaxing and serves nice food, the chicken satay and spring rolls are lovely.

The pool is great, however the pool area is quite small, there is only 3 loungers, but we were quite lucky and managed to get a spot most days.

We stayed here for about a week, I really enjoyed it and i would definitely recommend this hotel, however I would like to stay somewhere closer to the beach. Once we got here and shopped around we realised we could have got something like that for a better price than we paid

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Great villa, comfy beds, fun pool, and nice staff. Computer was a bonus. Only negatives are closing time early at 10pm during off season, fuzzy TV, and noisy neighbor. There is public transportation available and about a 20 minute walk to the beach. Near a bunch of different restaurants.

Room Tip: They are private villas that are extremely comfortable and away from others, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bp567924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.0 mi away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#95 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#54 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#69 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#97 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#33 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach

Property: Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
Address: 381 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short walk to Karon beach, swimming pool, air condition and free Internet and wireless every room.Sawadee Kap! Welcome to Phuket, Karon Beach and Baan Suay Resort. Enjoy either of our luxurious deluxe or superior rooms. All feature king-size beds, large bathrooms with hot showers, in-room safe, fridge, cable TV, air conditioning, free high speed wireless internet and daily maid service. You will want for nothing! Start, end, or spend your entire day eating and relaxing in our fully stocked open air bar and restaurant. We serve a full complement of Thai and Western food 7 days a week from 7am to 10pm. Relax at a table or lounge on a sofa watching TV in the breezy shade or catch up with friends back home using our free desktop computer and internet service. Brought your own laptop? Take advantage of our free wireless internet access in our restaurant and all our guest rooms. If you fancy a game of pool with friends we have a free pool table for you to use but just remember don't play pool with Bow our restaurant manager as he has had to much practice over the years or maybe you can try your luck. Spend a lazy day relaxing in the brilliant Thai sunshine at our poolside, sipping one of our trademark exotic cocktails or non alcoholic beverages. Or go for a swim in our swimming pool to cool off in the heat of the day. Our greatest pride is our lovely, friendly Thai staff. Suporn, Bow, Ratri, Jam, Lisa and Pang who always want to show everyone the very best of Thai hospitality and service. Suporn and Bow speak great English and the others can communicate with a few words of English and a beautiful nod and a smile. We all know the island very well so please let our knowledge enhance your experience in Phuket. We also have a 24 hour on site taxi service for you as well with Kit our driver and a 24 hour supermarket and ATM cash machine 100 Meters away. Karon is one of Phuket's longer beaches, very popular due to its fine white sand. Being so long the sunbeds are well spaced out so it never feels crowded. Karon beach and town center is all but a short walking distance away and there you can find shopping, Restaurants, bars and markets. We hope you enjoy your stay in Thailand. Sawadee Kap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Baan Suay Hotel
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing