We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Sailom Restaurant

Baan Sailom Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Baan Sailom Restaurant Karon Beach is a great place to grab a bite to eat, We offer great service and even better food. You can order traditional Thai food, or go with a cheeseburger if you like. Come check us out, a good dinner, we in the baan sailom restaurant has a wide selection of the one that suits both before, during and after dinner! A warm welcome to Baan Sailom Restaurant!
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were staying next door at the Phuket Orchid, and was a bit turned off by all the Russian writing out the front and on the menu, so didn't try this until our last night, expecting it to be full of Russians (as was our hotel next door). We were pleasantly surprised, and had a great meal.
The food was delicious, and the service was great.
Wish we had of tried it earlier.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Does not cater for vegetarians”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

After the great reviews we decided to try this place. Thailand is usually very veg friendly but clearly the Russian domination of this area has removed that. They did not have tofu or even the basic vegetarian pad Thai! Had to substitute meat for vegetables in the curry instead but was not very filling at all. It's not a critisim of the restaurant but more that the tourist population has clearly removed a lot of what is Thai in this area, will not be visiting karon again.

Helpful?
Thank kpatel8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fast friendly service, great curries, not the cheapest in the area but food was delicious, would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Deano790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Continuously Craving Creamy Coconut Curries.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

This place is close enough to the beach to have 'hiked-up' tourist prices, for some reason it has a pretty average price range for the Karon Beach area. The staff were friendly and approachable and we took it as an opportunity to practice our Korp kun Khap and Korp kun kaa. My Girlfriend and I ordered a Green Curry and a Panaeng Curry and shared. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and had a spicy kick to them (as requested). We shared a large Chang and basked in the open plan restaurant just within the reach of a fan. The restaurant is clean and has got a visually friendly decor. For those who like to dine outdoors, there seemed to be a garden or green patch out the back but we opted not to explore but to leave a well earned tip and go to the beach. I could not fault this restaurant and would without a doubt return should I ever find myself back in Russia.. I mean.. back in Karon Beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ModernArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Confused by other reviews...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We decided as a group of 4 to try the Baan Sailom as a result of the reviews.
We were very disappointed. It seems that Starters and Main courses are served as and when they are ready, sometimes before the main, sometimes with or after. I ordered a fish dish which came out cold, when I sent it back, I got exactly the same dish back and I can only assume it had been heated in a microwave. My starter arrived after my main dish which after sending the main back, was not such a bad thing.
We all got our food at different times and not once were we asked if we wanted more drinks.
I think they are missing a trick there!
All in all, very confused by the other reviews - I won't be recommending it.
Much better places to eat like next door - the Phuket Orchid. Very good service and the food was excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Sailom Restaurant also viewed

Phuket Town, Phuket
Karon, Phuket
 

Been to Baan Sailom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing