We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Kitchen

Bamboo Kitchen
Ranked #58 of 356 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After days and days of eating street food, my girlfriend and I decided to take a chance on Bamboo Kitchen restaurant while walking around Karon in the evening, as it looked clean and modern - somewhere we could get a nice, "sit down" meal.

The friendly staff seated us, walking us through the restaurant and passed the open faced kitchen and I was immediately impressed with the surroundings, finding it hard to believe that it was actually part of a hotel.

In between our starter and main we were given a palate cleanser, which I wasn't expecting at all. It was a great touch and helped contribute towards more of a "dining" experience.

The food in general was really nice. I wasn't expecting that level of cooking in the middle of Karon and it was the total opposite to the street food we'd been eating.

We went back a couple of days later and although the sheen had worn off it was still a lovely meal.

For just over 1000 baht you can afford 2 starters, 2 mains and 4 drinks if you're eating Thai food. They do sell more Western dishes such as Pizza and Steak but these are slightly more expensive, and I'd not bother seen as their Thai food is so nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    233
    90
    52
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We visited a few times in July.
Very nice atmosphere. It was sometimes quite busy and we had to wait at the bar for about 20 minutes which we didnt mind. The food was always lovely with a good variety of thai food and they were happy to adjust the spiciness of food.
They did allow alot of very largw families to take over the restarant though so some nights we were literally pushed into a corner and had little room to move although the staff did apologise. Slightly more expensive than other nearby places but given the atmosphere was nice we didnt mind.

Helpful?
Thank Louiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We dined at the Bamboo Kitchen twice, including one meal with young kids in tow. Both times the food was fabulous, the service great and the surroundings convivial. It is more expensive than the cheaper / cheerier restaurants nearby but the atmosphere and decor are more enjoyable...especially if you get a table at the back if the restaurant which helps deaden the noise of the road (though this also means you can't people watch...an endlessly fascinating activity in Phuket). Both the Thai food and western food is enjoyable...especially the bruschetta! The mango shake is a must!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rozzyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great service, food & price - busy eatery with good menu to cater for all. Recommended for a good meal & drinks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank browntrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A good place to eat, service was good and the Thai food excellent......
The atmosphere was ok, and attempts had been made to make the setting less harsh by covering the concrete walls with bamboo

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingKurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing