We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More bang for your buck!”
Review of Honey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Honey Resort
Ranked #86 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More bang for your buck!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Honey Resort in August 2013 for 2 weeks. We booked in advance via Expedia and paid around 1000 Baht per night for a standard double room including breakfast. The rooms here are spacious, clean and well equipped (TV, fridge, air-con, safe) and all of them have a balcony facing the pool. The ones on the ground floor have direct access to the pool but they cost more. You have to pay extra for wifi (300 Baht for 1 week) BUT it is super fast! The in-room safes are a bit small, we could fit an iPad in ours but it wasn't wide enough for the laptop. Having said that we had no problems with security.

The location is very good, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. There is a shortcut to the beach nearby that takes just under 5 minutes walking. It goes along a slightly stagnated river that smells of seaweed a bit, but it's not as bad as some other reviewers have suggested.

There is a restaurant at the resort, which is one of the cheapest in the area. For example, when we were there, they had a promotion menu where all items were 79 Baht.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    75
    46
    7
    13
See reviews for
31
104
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is totally unacceptable. There are a lot of budget hotels in the area, however this one does not meet with the standard at all.

1. The key is chained with a magnetic card (for room electricity), we separated it and brought the room key with us to the swimming pool.

2. When we went back to the room, the magnetic card was removed.

3. We went to the front desk and ask for the card. The front desk staff shouted at us impolitely and demanded a 500 baht "lost card" fee.

4. Since we did not "lose" the card, it was "removed" by hotel staff. We insisted not to pay the "lost card fee"

5. The front desk staff was very rude and impolite. She insisted the card would only be returned if we pay.

In addition, the water pressure was extremely weak. If you wish to take a shower, you better go to the swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stay here in September 2012 // 13 nights for business trip.

Location:Not bad closed to Kata beach by using short cut smelly canal sewage only10 min walk.
Closed to local weekend market;7-11;local cheap Thai stand restaurant. Night time many moneygirl with worked at bars massage parlours in these resort alley area are everywhere beware ur wallet.

Exterior: 4 story building with small long narrow pool(with dunno what a last time they clean it// full of sand bottom of the pond) Small restaurant area with cheap menu price only 75 thb. However; breakfast has more selection only weekend middle buffet type thai style. if weekday(as i stay 2 week)
there no buffet and jus same duplicated a la carte choice!! eggs-2breads-jam-2or 3 mini sausages and thats it!!

Interior:
Cons:Worn out towel. stain on bathtub or furnished. moldy shower curtain. no tea coffee free maker.broken phone.no free umbrella-slipper-bathrobe.Not free wifi. Airport transfer overcharged!!

Pros:Big bed: Safe box: more room space than Ibis kata property.Hair dryer.free daily bottle of water.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I think I must start by saying we didn't pay a lot so wasn't expecting 5* hotel, but good value for the money, staff a very pleasant and will help you as much as they can.
ROOMS.. Spacious and clean, however the wooden furniture has well passed its sell by date, and looks it, not a lot of closet space or drawer space if planning on bringing many clothes, big bed and quite comfortable, fridge to store your goods, water replenished every day. Like others have said, bathroom smells, and again could do with an overhaul. If you are vertically challenged getting in and out of the bath won't be easy as the sides are built up quite high, also hot water has been hit n miss. A/c works well and is not too noisy. No kettle in the room, but there is a flask and you can go and get boiling water from the restaurant.
POOL.. it is a small but nice pool, we had a pool access room which did help, however if the hotel is busy there are about 15 sunbeds by the pool so towels out early! As of today 4 June there is major construction next door and incredibly noisy if by the pool, personally I think the hotel should have this information on their website,
Breakfast... Bit of a joke really, we go out every day nothing to write home about. Plenty of local restaurants for all day dining
Beach... Is just a few minutes walk the short cut tho is a smelly one as it seems to be alongside an open sewer, but a fantastic beach when you get there.
Overall not a bad place to stay, it's clean we'll positioned and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_jow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at the Honey Resort last July and have booked to go back this July. A simple resort but very neat, tidy and clean. Small pool but enough to cool off in, not for you if you want to professionally swim lots of laps. Close to everything in Kata Karon, Kata, bars aplenty, great tattooist nearby, beach in close promixity.

The resort itself has friendly staff, ample enough breakfast, rooms are a very good size, shower over the bath and quite a step to get into it but no problems. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the poolside deluxe room but this year have opted for rooms above, just for a compariso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

First of all, this hotel is in Kata Beach and not Karon as listed on tripadvisor. The location is very good, in the middle of everything, but away from the road, so nice and quiet. We have been twice to Phuket before, and both times stayed in a 4 star hotel called Andaman Seaview. This time we chose a 3 star hotel in stead because we wanted to stay 3 weeks and this was half the price. We said to each other lets try it, if it is too bad we will just move. We have enjoyed the stay very, very much. The room is nice and big and clean. But what really makes the difference is their staff. They are so nice all of them, you just want to hug them. Very nice indeed!! The truth is that we have enjoyed our stay here more than the Andaman, because the atmosphere here is better. It is more relaxed and the staff make you feel more at home. A big thank you to everyone in the hotel as our trip is coming to an end and we must go back to Norway and to the snow. We will definitely come back next year if our health permits us!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bente S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Nice clean hotel with good location: close to beach and restaurants but in quiet street. From ground floor rooms you have straight access to pool. Small pool also for kids.
Breakfast is okay: omelets, toast, nudels, fruits etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elviiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Must Sea Hotel
Must Sea Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kata Beach
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#89 of 134 in Karon
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Resort

Property: Honey Resort
Address: 100/69 Kata Rd | Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing