We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a mistake to make” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Bistro

Butterfly Bistro
Ranked #84 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
668 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“What a mistake to make”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We came back from a fantastic morning trip and decided to have a drink and a pizza. The attitude of the guy who sat at us at our table was appalling, he could not have cared less if we were there or not. He went off and got himself a drink, played with his phone and eventually we were served our drinks by someone else. We looked at the menu, chose what we wanted and waited and waited and waited. All of the staff were either busy talking, playing with their phones or getting themselves a drink, they were totally oblivious to customers, whilst it was not busy, there were about 6 tables being used. After 10 minutes of being totally ignored we decided enough was enough, paid our bill and left. Maybe we were unlucky, or caught them all on a bad day. I can't rate the food as We didn't get any, but I would rate the service as a big fat ZERO. I WOULD CETTAINLY NOT GO BACK

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    32
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quality establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I have been in Karon for the last few weeks and must say that the three times I've eaten at the butterfly have been by far the better of my dining experiences.
They have an very extensive menu that is good value for money. The quality of the various dishes we ordered were excellent and they have a squid massaman that is to die for. Service is prompt and no hassles.

Dined at chili, Ging and bai toey near by but found the Butterfly to be the real stand out. Would certainly recommend to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank skol_super
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went here due to many good reviews and was disappointed. Ordered 2 pizzas and both came out on doughy base, barely any tomato sauce and without any flavour. We ordered beef on one pizza and were unsure if was really beef. Minimal topping and no flavour, just a bland generic taste. Restaurant was very busy with lots of peoples, but give pizzas a miss. Won't return here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

While holidaying recently we were regulars at the butterfly. Every meal we had was amazing and the staff were friendly and attentive. Their menu is extensive and have a good mix of Thai and Western food. Prices were very reasonable.
Will be eating there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeifButterfly, Owner at Butterfly Bistro, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review.
We look forward to welcome you here again next time you visit Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as great as reviews made it seem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was happy when we stumbled upon this restaurant after reading all the rave reviews. I found the food to be bland, and not to the spice level we wanted. (Please note, we like our food spicy!) We did not eat anywhere else in Karon, so I cannot comment to the quality of food here as compared to other restaurants in Karon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Butterfly Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing