We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Centara grand was amazing and definitely value for money! We went in September 2013.

The drink on arrival was delicious and we just sat while they sorted everything out for us!

The rooms were huge and we had a lovely jacuzzi on the balcony.... The bed was so big we could both spread out starfish ! The shower was lovely so big and you can look out onto the sea.
We had a slight problem with the fan outside it was very old and rusty but we called maintenance and they fixed it straightaway. The cute little things they put in the room were lovely such as the different dried fruits/fruits.

The facilities such as the big huge pool , lazy river, slide and diving area were definitely enjoyed by us earlier in the day , later on in the afternoon when we were looking for something more quiet we went to the adult pool which had amazing views and was very quiet! The only downfall was having to tip constantly when ordering drinks and food round the poolside, but we has already realised by this point after being in Bangkok for 3 days that this was a norm in Thailand and was expected everywhere even when their service was slow and they got it wrong!

We did a lot of activities such as phi phi Island, James Bond island, tiger kingdom, elegant trekking and zip wiring. We went into Phuket centre most nights and it was so alive!! The location of the hotel made it easy to get everywhere and do everything we wanted!!

I would definitely recommend for both couples and families!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Sophie J,

Thank you very much for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read your feedback regarding the rooms, the facilities and the location, and I am glad maintenance fixed the fan straightaway. We have noted your comments about ordering food and drinks around the pool and will address it with the team.

Thank you very much for recommending us to couples as well as families.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best wishes
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Centara Karon and used the Grand during the week we stayed for the pool and facilities including the beach. The pool (salt water) was large and very good, the water slide and lazy river was very good. The bed's were busy at the pool but we always managed. Most are on sand added to the pool deck area. The pool side bar is more expensive than the Karon and almost 1000BHT for lunch compared to 4-500BHT at the Karon. The restaurant nights are about 1000THB per person which is pretty steep compared to 400-880BHT at the Karon. Considering a restaurant in Karon will charge anywhere between 120-290 per dish. Whilst it looked better the Karon had the better food and atmosphere.

Please keep in mind we did not use the rooms here as this is a facilities use review.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musicmansutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear musicmansutton,
Thank you for purchasing our day pass. I am glad you liked our facilities.

Best wishes,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We, like so many other people, were swamped with hotel options on the internet but decided on Centara Grand based on reviews from this website. We stayed for 8 nights 24 Feb to 4 March and cannot rave about the hotel enough. The resort is big, really big, so be prepared to walk! There are golf buggies available to guests but I think you need to collect them from reception and the walk to reception from our room was just as long as the walk to the pool and beach so it wasn't worth it. The pool is incredible and caters to all ages. Kids are in heaven as they have water slides, a floating lagoon pool and even a jump rock area. The pools are well supervised by lifeguards (which is good as a lot of parents weren't keeping a close eye on their kids) and they managed the water slides etc very well. The buffet breakfast which was part of our package was unbelievable. I've read a few negative reviews about it but cannot for the life of me understand why. It is massive. One section offers freshly baked bread of many varieties, pastries, pancakes and spreads (including Vegemite). Then you have a salad bar which I thought was a bit strange however I noticed that the many Russians who stayed there often had salad for breakfast. Cereals, yogurts juices and fruit. Then a section of hot Asian style food like fried rice and noodles, curries and stir fries (popular with the Asians). Outside there was bacon, sausages, homemade baked beans (delicious!), baked potatoes and tomatoes, eggs made to order and freshly made crepes with any filling you desire. As soon as you were seated you would get a pot of freshly made coffee or tea on your table and cappuccinos are also available.

We stayed in a Superior Room which I think is their standard room. It was very spacious and the room we chose had two Queen size beds as we have an 8 year old child. Our room was in block 3 and although up high (and again many steps to the room) the view was amazing. If we were to stay there again though we would pay extra and opt for a room with a plunge pool as these rooms looked amazing. We didn't think we'd need the private pool but by the time you reach your room after a day at the beach/pool you need another swim (again a long walk and many stairs to the rooms up high). Our room was lovely and cool and we had no problems at all with the A/C. We also didn't notice any mozzies or flies for that matter so never a problem with the lack of screens on the door.

The only negative for us is that the food is expensive and forget drinking wine as that was nearly A$100 a bottle. Room service was quick but again very expensive and not worth the money. We had lunch by the pool once which was OK but I wouldn't rave about it. The resort is one of a few that is located right on the beach. There are a couple of restaurants on the beach outside the hotel which are fabulous and cheap. For example, the cost for the three of us to eat lunch (maybe two curries and rice, fried scampi, spring rolls plus soft drink and a couple of beers) cost around 640 bt which is around A$22.

The hotel have themed buffet nights like seafood, Italian etc but the cost per person, excluding alcohol, started at 950 bt (nearly A$33) per person which we couldn't justify. The restaurants in Karon and Kata were really good and dinner in a nice restaurant for the three of us would come to about 1,300 bht (around A$45) all up including alcohol (beers and cocktails!).

You can walk into Karon but if you go by road it is a long trek and even at night it is still very warm so a taxi is easier (fixed price 200 bht). Walking along the beach from the Resort into Karon would be quicker and easier. Kata is the next beach along and it has some fabulous restaurants. We were surprised to encounter so many Italian restaurants over there (there are a lot of Italian ex pats living there) and the food was some of the best we've ever had.

A couple of places really stood out for us and were recommended by friends before we left Oz.

The After Beach Bar is a cliff top bar at Kata (around 300-400bht by taxi from the hotel). This place was amazing. Get there just before sunset and sip cocktails while checking out the view over Kata, Karon and Patong. Absolutely amazing. We didn't eat dinner there but the meals also looked beautiful and reasonably priced.

Sorrento Restaurant at Kata (just near the Dino Park Mini Golf which is well known) has the best pizzas we have ever had. A big call I know but is was seriously good and the restaurant was always packed which is always a good sign.

Del Mario in Karon was another very good Italian restaurant and we ate there a couple of times.

We read a lot of reviews about a restaurant called The Red Onion which is a Thai restaurant in Karon. The reviews were correct in that they are the rudest waiters you will ever encounter and the queue to get inside was ridiculous. We got there early so didn't have a problem (6pm) but to be honest the food was nice but nothing to rave about. Just good Thai food plus they had schnitzel and chips, steak etc which seemed to be popular with other patrons.

Now to the shopping!!! Just ok.... if you are looking for fake handbags, watches and sunnies you will find them everywhere. Cheap looking dresses and t-shirts which you'd maybe wear over there but probably not at home. Found some really nice boutiques in Kata but they were very expensive (same prices in Sydney or dearer) and as we were heading for Bangkok after our stay we kept our money for serious shopping there (which was much cheaper and of better quality).

A day trip to the Phi Phi Islands was a standout by far. The beaches and snorkelling were incredible and Maya Bay (where the movie The Beach was filmed) was breathtaking. Do not book any trips through the hotel! There are travel booking centres absolutely everywhere you go. The tour we decided on whilst talking to the hotel tour desk was 3,200bht per person. The exact same tour (same brochure and company) through a booking centre in Karon was 1,100 bht per person. Do this for all your tours and you will save significantly.

All in all we had a wonderful trip and would go back in a heartbeat. We would definitely stay at the Centara again but with more money in our pocket so we could enjoy a better room and not have to think twice about ordering a cocktail by the pool!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a room with a private pool or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Morris792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Morris792,

Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your kids loved the water slides, the floating lagoon pool and jump rock area. We appreciate your kind comments about the buffet breakfast and that your room was spacious with an amazing view.
We have noticed your comments about food prices as well. As you mention in your review there are plenty of dining options. It is possible to allow oneself to enjoy the exclusive atmosphere, friendly service and excellent food at the resort, but the hotel's location also provide our guests with an excellent opportunity to explore the surrounding area and try the local food. In this context it is also rather appropriate to compare our resort with other 5 star resorts in the area. I assure you that our food prices are indeed lower than at several other 5 star resorts in the area.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your day trip to Phi Phi, that the beaches and snorkelling were incredible and Maya Bay breathtaking. I am very glad you decided to book through the hotel despite of the price difference. It is very important for us to stress that when it comes to booking these trips it is important to consider safety and to make sure the boats have the insurance needed.

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay.

Kind regards,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed hear from 19/01/014 to the 23/01/014 in a luxury pool suite room no 317, we really loved our time hear the staff are friendly, the service wonderful, the whole resort is beautiful, only complaint is it’s a bit expensive, we really wont to come back ether this Christmas holidays or next years holidays & have a longer holiday at this stunning resort but we are finding it hard to convince other families to come with us due to the price of the accommodation, Other then that everything was perfect

Room Tip: room 317, luxury pool suite, its a corner suite on 3rd floor, really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Sawasdee Aleah M,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday. I am glad you think the resort is beautiful, that staff are friendly and the service wonderful. Hopefully you will be able to persuade other families to come with you next time.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We think we have been spoiled a bit as we stayed in 4 other resorts prior to the last 2 days spent in this hotel prior to our flight home to the UK. i will try to be fair. We arrived having just spent 5 great nights in their sister hotel in Krabi with the most amazing view so thought the standard would be the same.It wasn't. The reception area is tired and not very welcoming. As for the room we had booked a Spa deluxe Ocean View which was spacious enough but there are no screens on the windows/doors to prevent the mosquiotos feasting on you at night and was a wee bit tired looking. I had just spent 18 nights in Thailand from North to South and took all the precautions but we were bitten alive in Phuket and in our room only. The hotel needs to spray their complex just like others do. The air con in 442 is practically non existent so after the hike up the stairs to the lift you kind of welcome a cool room to enter as was the case in it's sister hotel in Krabi which had the best air con in any of the stays we had.
This hotel is OK for those with families and small children. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and it's the first holiday without our kids but they would have been bored.Compared to other resorts in Thailand we found a difference in the staff and the Thai people in general. They are a lovely people especially when away from the really resort type places. They are very polite here but it felt very impersonal really.and the cost in the hotels are expensive and like other reviewers have also said you should walk to the end of the beach and enjoy the food and drink which is so much cheaper and great.Maybe I'm being a bit stingy and it's not as expensive in the Hotel for the many Russians who frequent this resort and Phuket in general. I will be honest and say I couldn't stay here again or Phuket for that matter as there are much more beautiful resorts to visit but as a hotel chain I would stay at it's sister hotel Grand Beach Resort Krabi as it felt like night and day.So I think a little bit of consistency in hotel interiors,service etc should be paramount for this chain.Well!!Off to look out my window to the rain and cold now. the weather there was great at this time of year.

Room Tip: email the hotel if you have problems with stairs regarding choice of room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodvaleballoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear woodvaleballoch,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you had 5 great nights at Centara Grand Beach Resort Krabi. I have noted your comments about our reception area and costs in the hotel and will share these with the management team. I am really sorry to read your feedback regarding mosquitoes and that the air condition did not work properly in your room, and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. I wish you had informed us about the mosquitoes and the air condition immediately though as I am sure we could have fixed the air condition straightaway which would have helped against the mosquitoes in your room.
It is nice to read that our staff are very polite. However, we do strive to provide a friendly and personal service. Therefore I am sorry to read that it felt impersonal and we will address this through our training.

Once again, thank your for providing feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed in Phuket. I hope that we will be able to welcome you at one of the many Centara hotels the next time you are holidaying in Thailand.

Kind regards,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Staying here right now and we are very happy with the hotel overall. Started in a one bedroom pool villa, but then upgraded to a two bedroom one and the difference is remarkable. The two bedroom has a full size fridge and is much closer to the beach and pools. The one bedroom villa ran out of water for a full day which was very disappointing considering the tariff. Beachcomber took an hour at lunch time to feed us, and then when they did they bought out one dish and then the other three were 15 minutes later.

Pools are great and the kids are enjoying themselves. Staff are all friendly and attentive (in a Thai style).

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cam_sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear cam_sydney4,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am pleased to read that you are enjoying your stay with us and that you are very happy with the hotel overall. A few days ago a water pipe burst which left you without water for a few hours, and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this caused.
When it comes to Beachcomber we have reorganized somewhat in recent weeks to better the dining experience. I therefore hope you will find the time to dine at the Beachcomber again before your departure.

If there is anything I can do for you during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through reception.

Warm regards,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The design and architecture of resort is very beautiful with fantastic view. Very nice beach area. Superb facilities. Staffs are very attentive and excellent service for example, Khun Syria, Beach Manager , Khun Win -Chef at Egg station At The Cove and a Thai trainee guy from Switzerland (I didn't ask the name) at Front office Reception. All of you made my trip more memorable. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmmoAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Sawasdee AmmoAloha,
Thank your for providing a review of your recent stay.
It is a great pleasure to read your feedback. We really appreciate your comments about attentive and excellent service and will share with the team.
I am also glad you like the design and architecture, the view and the beach.

I hope we can welcome you back at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket in the near future.

Kind regards,
Martin Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,266 reviews
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £91 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing