We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but needs much better maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights and for the most part it was good but there are alot of faults that would be easily fixed with a better maintenance program,
When I'm paying the sort of money I did to stay in a reset in Thailand I expect every thing to be to a very high standard and unfortunately this place missed the mark in a few ways.
Our first room was a disaster, water leaking everywhere blinds that didn't work, no hot water and some lights that didn't work so the next day we got moved and again the water was either burn your skin hot or cold and the main lights didn't work but by this stage I was so over complaining that I just put up with it.
I own a pool maintenance business and the state of the pools here is not flash I was a little reluctant to let my little girl swim in them even though they are great they are just very dirty and the water balance is all over the shop.
The kids club was really good although they expect you not to leave the resort while your child is there which is a little bit of a pain, not that it stopped us.
The staff were mostly really great and helpful and friendly and I can't really fault them, it's more the facilities that let this place down.
The breakfast was average also, we were at the end of a month long trip around Asia and this was the least impressive breakfast we had.
Overall I will stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank symonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear symonp,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay. Im pleased you found our staff to be 'very friendly and helpful' but disappointed to read of the issues you found with your room and one of our swimming pools. I am sorry we did not deliver a consistent 5 star standard during your stay and I would be pleased to discuss this further. I am contactable at gmcpbr@chr.co.th
Sincerely
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the resort from May 21st for 5 nights. My family loves the stay, The kids (6.5yrs and 7.5yrs) enjoys the kids pool, e-Zone and beach area. We stayed in building no. 7 which is located close to kids pool area. The Resort has its private beach.

You can call in club car to move around within the resort. Overall experience was great!

Room Tip: Building 7 and 8 are good for families as these are closer to kids pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayMan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear KayMan15,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a pleasure to read that you loved the stay. I am glad your children enjoyed the kids pool, e-zone and beach area.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at ocean front room for 5 days.
Wonderful view from balcony,
especialy sunset time. Hotel location is good for us. It takes 15 min from central Karon beach by walk. There are so many peaple on central Karon beach, but this hotel beach is almost private beach.
The club lounge is also good!
Next time, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naokitagawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Sawasdee naokitagawa,
Thank you for staying at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind feedback on the beach, the location and the club lounge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fantastic place to stay.
We were looking for a long weekend getaway recently and decided on Karon for its location and beautiful beaches.

We booked Centara Grand Phuket and were pleased to report the staff were wonderful, so friendly and helpful.

Check in was fast and friendly,room was cleaned immaculately everyday and the highlight was our plunge pool.

The waterpark is a feature and offers plenty for everyone.

Breakfast was excellent, no long wait and plenty of options and the free shuttle everyday into Patong saved us money.

Also a terrific spa that makes you want to rebook!


Thanks guys keep up the good work, see you again.


Noel, Mario
London, England

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Sawasdee Noel M,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your holiday experience.

It is a delight to read that our staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. I am pleased to hear that check in was fast, the spa terrific and the breakfast excellent.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here in April with my husband and two young daughters (2 & 7).
We usually holiday in America or the Caribean but wanted something a little ‘different’ so when our daughter pointed to Thailand on her World Map we thought why not – we’d only been to Asia as ‘singles’ so a lot of research then followed as to how best to approach it as a family. Luckily one of my best friends in London is Thai, with children the same age as ours, so we relied on her advice heavily.

For the flight we did a stopover in Dubai, making a 6 then 7 hr flight as opposed to a 12 (to Bangkok or Singapore) and then 1 hour (Bangkok to Phuket). This worked really well. We didn’t want the direct flight to Phuket as that was a package holiday deal and we prefer to ‘build our own’ trips.

The Centara group had been recommended by my friend as a good, solid reputable Thai chain and this is what we got. I wouldn’t call it 5 star luxury, but that is not the holiday we were going for with 2 young children as we wanted to feel comfortable as a family and also experience a bit of ‘real’ Thailand. It was a very, very good family holiday and the upgrades we were able to make (detailed below) added that extra ‘treat’ element for my husband and I. I would say it's easily 4 star (by UK, US standards).

We upgraded to a villa, which really made our stay for us. The villa was spacious, beautifully decorated, up in the leafy hills and with a large private infinity pool – perfect for relaxing by on an evening when the children had gone to bed. With the villa came access to The Club (which you’d ordinarily have to pay for if you’d booked a room or suite). The Club was a private lounge/terrace serving breakfast, light lunch, afternoon tea, and canapés / nibbles in the evening, with all food and drinks included. This was a haven away from some of the busier areas of the resort (especially the v busy breakfast buffet in the main restaurant) so again worth its weight in the gold. The ladies working in there very willingly entertained our girls, provided amazing service and were always on hand for whatever we needed. There were parlour games, DVDs, sofas to relax and tables to eat on – you could also ‘order in’ from any of the on-site restaurants here, should you wish to (at cost).

For children you just can’t beat this resort, the kids club and staff were wonderful, they had 2 big pools, a baby pool, a lazy river with inflatable rings, cliff jumps, and 2 water slides, plus an adults only pool. As the kids were usually by the slides or lazy river you never felt over-run by children and the main pools felt very relaxing. The swim-up pool bar was a huge hit with all – kids got creamy iced shakes whilst the adults had cocktails. My eldest daughter made a huge group of friends whilst here and the gang of them safely roamed the resort together. The perfect balance of freedom, yet security. In the evenings too, the group of adults we met were all able to enjoy the rooftop bar after dinner whilst the children hung around the pool table, or watched movies in the kids club.

Importantly, this is one of few resorts that we found was truly ‘on the beach’. Many said they were but on closer inspection we found you had to cross a, usually very busy, main road – so take care when booking elsewhere !

Karon I would say is definitely one of the best spots on Phuket. Not too far from the airport, not too far from the harbour (for the absolutely essential Phi Phi island trips – you can’t go to Phuket and NOT do these). The beach is very pretty, especially at the Centara Grand end, less so I thought further into Karon. Karon itself is enough of a true ‘local’ town without being too busy, but whilst still giving you a true flavour of the locality. It was easily accessible and walkable from Centara but equally we all loved to grab a tuk-tuk ride up the hill home for the equivalent of about £2. Taxis are also readily available from right outside the resort. We toured Phuket and didn’t see anywhere else that we’d have preferred to have stayed.

Top tips whilst we were on Phuket –many sight-seeing trips were offered, but what we did on the advice of another family we met, was to hire a taxi driver for the day who took us around all the top spots, and even found us an incredibly beautiful lunch spot to dine at. We saw everything in complete comfort.

Island trips – again, many tours are offered and we researched many and even booked one but on arrival at the harbour the boat wasn’t at all as advertised and looked overcrowded. So in the end, after more research, we charted our own speedboat for the day. Again had a wonderful experience – my family of 4, plus 3 crew who took us wherever we wanted to go (Phi Phi Don, Maya Beach, etc) plus a few snorkelling spots/islands they knew of as locals, and provided drinks and fresh fruit en route. We all counted this as the highlight of our trip – an incredible way to see an absolutely incredible place.

Feel free to message me for any more specific info re: Centara Grand Beach or Phuket in general.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a villa if possible, that way you get Club access for free. The villas are a short walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LauraJoanneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear LauraJoanneP,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a great pleasure to read that you had a very good family holiday. We appreciate your comments about pools, security and the club.
May I add that when it comes to location you are making a valid point. Our guests have direct beach access from the hotel.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort in October 2013 for our honeymoon and what a perfect stay we had. After a long day travelling we arrived at the hotel feeling exhausted. The Centara staff were so helpful, we were sat down with our cool towel and welcome drink as checking in was organised for us. We were transported to our room on a little golf buggy and our bags were promptly delievered to our room not long after.

The rooms were beautiful and very clean. We stayed in a spa room so had a top floor room. The view was perfect, spa was great. We had no issues with it.

Free bottles of drinking water were supplied daily, rooms cleaned well, a free shuttle bus was available to take guests into Patong, staff were always offering help, free boogie board, snorkel etc hire was provided and we the tours we booked through the hotel were well organised for us.


Overall a great stay. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this to anyone visiting Phuket and wanting to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Patong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Sawasdee Ashleigh S,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a delight to read that you had a perfect honeymoon at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket. We are very pleased that you found staff to be helpful, that rooms were beautiful and clean, the spa great and that the tours booked though the tour counter in the lobby were well organised.

May I also thank you for welcoming us to anyone visiting Phuket. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

6 of us spent four great nights at the Centara. The staff were just amazing and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Dui a chef came repeatedly to our table to ask us if we needed more food (we did some serious damage at the amazing seafood buffet), while Yohan- host at the Cove- made sure everything else was perfect. We also had the warmest housecleaning staff- Pui, gave us hugs when we left and brought us flowers often, and Karan (Chief Security) was full of useful and helpful advise. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UlfieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Sawasdee UlfieK,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your holiday experience.

We are delighted to read that staff were amazing, in particular Dui, Yohan, Pui and Karn.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,088 reviews
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £108 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing