We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room & service! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room & service! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days 3 nights, brought 3 year old daughter along.

Worth mentioning are:

1) we were very pleased to be offered a free upgrade to villa with pool. The room size was gorgeous.

2) front desk staff, Michelle, is extremely helpful & professional. She assisted me with the check in and understands that my daughter is in need of an afternoon nap. Hence advise that we could be back by 115pm- 130pm to check the status, thou it was before the official 2pm check in time. We returned to the lobby at 130pm and only to be curtly informed by a front desk male staff that my room will only be ready at 230pm as its a villa, needed more cleaning time. (I appreciate the free upgrade, however the official check in time is at 2pm irregardless of room type correct?)
Fortunately we saw Michelle back at the front desk in less than a few mins and requested her to assist us. without hesitation, she called the relevant management and the room was ready for us immediately. That was 145pm, 45 mins ahead of the time the front desk male staff advised. And that 45 mins is a god - send when u ve a kid in need of an afternoon nap. Michelle's helpfulness didn't stop there, she send us personally to the villa in the club car, showing us all the amenities along the way & showed me ard our villa b4 she made her way back to the lobby. Thumbs up for Michelle's personalised services!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ng M,

Thank you very much for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that Michelle was very helpful and delivered a professional and personalized service.

Hopefully we can welcome you back at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    669
    251
    93
    67
See reviews for
1,169
795
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife, child, and I stayed here for a week.

We stayed in a deluxe spa room with the hot tub.

Room was nice, but not well designed. The bathroom was much too large. It was very crowded and not much space. Good balcony space.

View was awesome though. Watched sunsets from our room. Just awesome.

We ate most of our meals here going out to town infrequently. Food was good to very good. Very helpful restaurant staff.

The hotel did help arrange elephant rides for us. Other activities available.

The best thing about thus hotel was that it is right on the beach and the beach and water are awesome. Very clear water, can see the bottom well even at 2 meter depth. Wave action is awesome too. Calm seas until sets of 3 or 4 waves come in at one time being 2 ft to 4 ft waves. Lots of fun on body board.

The resorts' swimming pools were great also. Enjoyed all.

Shopping is 20 minutes away.

If you want to party, then maybe a hotel in town might be more convenient. If you want more beach. Then stay here.



Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Wayne M,

Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for providing a review of your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room, that the food was good, restaurant staff helpful and that you liked the location right on the beach. I also notice your feedback when it comes to the design of the room.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I wavered between two and three stars on this. We had two adjoining rooms with plunge pools, the most expensive accommodation on our trip and the one hotel we wouldn't go back to. Check in was a disaster and this was low season. We arrived about 1pm, knowing check in time was 2 and realising we might need to check our bags. There were thee people in front of us in a queue but we were asked to sit and told someone would check us in. We waited 20 minutes, the queue got longer so I decided to join it. After about 5 minutes I was told to sit back down and someone took our passports. Another 10 minutes later they came back with documentation to fill in and then 10 minutes later took me to the front desk. Just before I got there someone from the queue sat in my seat,so after confusion decided to serve them first. When I was seated they rang housekeeping no less than 5 times to see if the rooms were ready but of one answered. So we all sat there. My husband got a beer about this point so not all was lost. When they did get through to housekeeping the rooms were not ready. By this time it was after 2,and I was getting unhappy. We were told rooms would be an hour or so, so went for lunch worrying that we would have to go through this again when we got back.

Lunch was nice and luckily only one person in the queue when we got back. One room was ready so we had all the luggage delivered and they delivered the second key later in the day.

The room was oddly designed, quite small so you had to sit on the bed to watch the tv. Balcony was nice, with the plunge pool and plenty of outdoor furniture.

Breakfast was a large buffet but had insects and birds in some areas where food was not covered or there were not enough staff to keep them away.

The saving grace was the adult pool which was handy to our room, was clean, had great service and was not all that busy. The main pool also looked ok, but the water slides looked dirty and I didn't see them operational.

My overall impression was that the staff themselves were nice but the management need to look pretty hard at their processes.

Oh, check out was also a shambles,but it's making some great stories now we are home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear jillch,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

I am glad you liked the adult pool and that my colleagues around the pool provided a great service. We are however very sorry to read that check in wasn't great and that the room did not meet your expectations. We are taking a number of steps to keep birds away from the breakfast. For example breadcrumbs have been put in the garden and food is now covered. I assure you that we are focusing on eliminating this inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to provide all guests with the perfect holiday experience, and I am very sorry to read that we did not manage to deliver the perfect holiday for you.

Kind regards,
martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 9 nights in May and I must say we were not dissapointed, great rooms with a fantastic view and very well kept. The only downside was our shower flooded, however this only happened one time and it didnt really bother us a great deal. The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever seen in any hotel/resort I've been too. Would love to come back with the kids next time!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shondell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Shondell A,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a pleasure to read your comments about the buffet breakfast and that the room was great and had a fantastic view.

We would love to welcome you back at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed in a luxury pool suite located on the ground floor for 4 nights with my kids. The only problem we had was the bugging mosquitoes but thankfully the rooms are equipped with electric mosquito repellants and these pests usually avoid coming into the room. Still we tried not to leave the balcony door ajar at all.

The swimming pools are lovely and the mini water park really proved to be a hit with the kids. The slides are awesome and the lazy river is really fun! Room wise is clean and nicely furnished though age is catching up on the room. It can be seen from the wear and tear and worn look of some furniture.

Breakfast spread is good. The restaurants too must be wary of mosquitoes. Guess going to Phuket is best armed with a handy insect repellant to prevent any unwanted bites. The resort has its own private beach and it's clean and well maintained. Though one can hardly go into the sea at this time of the year as the sea can be rather choppy.

Throughout the stay, the only complaint I had about the resort is the location. It's pretty far away from Patong and thankfully, they provide shuttle service to Junceylon Shopping Mall. But it'll be better if it's more regular instead of just 2pm and 5pm. Spa in the resort is good but don't expect those street side pricing though. The location of the hotel makes it hard to call for taxi thus you ended up booking the airport transfer with the hotel.

Overall the stay was good. Glad my kids had lots of fun there.

Room Tip: Get the pool suite with a private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear medgor,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

We are pleased to read that your stay was good. Great to hear that your children liked the pool area and had a lot of fun while staying at our resort. It is also a pleasure to read that you found the swimming pools lovely, the breakfast spread good and the beach clean and well maintained. Although you found the rooms clean and nicely furnished, we do recognize that some maintenance is needed. I am sorry to read that you did not like our location. May I mention that a lot of our guests appreciate the location. Patong and Karon are quite near but at the same time the hotel is secluded.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

After finally getting my husband to holiday after 20 yrs. This amazing resort has everything you could want. From management to staff and amenities to die for. 5 nights in heaven. Clean rooms great breakfast sparkling pools and smiling staff only to happy to help. Fast check in and out. Only 10 min walk to Karon for shopping massage and food.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Walk into Karon Beach for dinner at Vitaporn amazing Thai food cheap markets great shopping. Must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Leanne 64,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a pleasure to read that you found our resort to be amazing with clean rooms and great pools and breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

After a long flight from Mauritius,we had been welcomed warmly by staff and management here!We enjoyed our stay here,breakfast was huge buffet,staff are very friendly and helpful. A big thanks to Khun Piu for the cleanliness of our room 331,just an unforgettable moment spent here.
Keep it up...hope to be back soon!:)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaheed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Sawasdee Zaheed A,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, that breakfast was great and staff friendly and helpful. Your comments about Khun Piu and cleanliness are very much appreciated.
Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel and Fastbooking so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing