We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A beautiful resort ideally located right on Karon beach. There was a separate adults pool which was lovely and the main pool area had great activities for kids with water slides, jumping walls, toddler pool and ball games. Our room overlooked the ocean. The rooms were clean, air conditioned and had fans and wi-fi. Good buffet breakfast and nice pool side bars. The resort was a 200 Thai baht taxi ride or 10-15 minute walk into Karon and 400 Thai baht taxi ride into Patong. Overall a fantastic place away from busy and crowded Patong with everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear AI217,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is great to read your feedback. I am glad you found the adults pool lovely, that there were great activities for kids and that the breakfast was good.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    708
    265
    97
    73
See reviews for
1,262
845
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel will not let you use an outside taxi service and charge you double to use there taxi. the staff is clueless to most questions that you ask them. The beach is very, very, very nasty. There is trash everywhere and a sewer smell.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HEATH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Heath M,
I think you may have the wrong hotel? Guests are welcome to use any transport service they like, our staff are overall lovely and helpful, Karon beach is one of the best beaches in Phuket and Im not sure about your sewer smell?
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay at this resort. Beautiful view from higher rooms, loved sitting on our balcony watching the waves role in with a beer in hand. Kids had a ball on the water slides, lazy river and jumping platforms. Laurent (head chef, hope the spelling is right?) and his team did a fantastic job catering for our coeliac (gluten free) daughter. After notifying the resort of dietary needs before we arrived, on the first morning at breakfast he came and greeted us before we sat down and asked what food our daughter would like to ensure they could cater for it. A fantastic touch. All staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities great and right on Karon Beach. Only negative was it was tough to find a pool side chair at times, but the resort was 95% full.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralfy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Sawasdee Ralfy01,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

It is a delight to read that you loved your stay with us. I am glad Laurent, our Executive Chef, and his team took good care of you and your family.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was our first trip to Thailand and we were a bit hesitant staying at the centara grand as we had read some negative reviews. We had a large group of 14.

I had emailed Darren with my concerns re the trip advisor comments and he replied back straight away saying to contact him with any issues. There was no need (yes there were some very minor room maintenance issues and checkin was a bit slow) but your on holiday.

Staff were amazing especially the chief of security Karn, Bella and Michael . Any issues were dealt with quickly with a smile on their face. Facilities were exceptional especially pool areas.

The day spa was exceptional. My husband and I went twice and would have gone more but run out of time. They were the best massages we have ever had.

Location, atmosphere are amazing. You get the best of both worlds being so close to Karon (10 mins walk along the beach) and far enough away to just hang around the resort and think you are on an island. I would really recommend this resort especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamarajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Sawasdee Tamarajames,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be amazing and facilities exceptional, in particular the spa and the pool areas.

I agree that our resort is excellent for guests wishing to relax at the resort and explore the local area as well.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Loved it. We stayed in a pool room, the only thing I would suggest is the room was great, but sometimes the view is hindered if not high enough, but the higher you go the more you will have to walk to get there :)
Overall - what a lovely place, good service, great location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PrueT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Sawasdee PrueT T,
Thank you for sharing your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you found the resort lovely, the service good and the location great.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having previously stayed in Centara Villas Ko Samuii I had confidence that this hotel would be perfect. There were a few teething problems on the first day as we were three adults and despite me emailing in advance we did not have a 3rd chair on the balcony or extra bedding. However this was sorted out promptly after speaking to the Manager and was the type of service that I would expect from such a high class establishment.
Our room was perfect, with a sea view (Deluxe Ocean Villa). There is an adults only pool which was really lovely.The main pool was nice, with a jacuzzi and the lazy pool was fun and a nice touch.
I was also very impressed with the gym which me and my dad used frequently during our stay. It was a good size with plenty of equipment and good selection of weights.
There are spa treatments on offer and although these are expensive I would recommend if you fancy a treat. I had a facial which was amazing and my dad had a back massage which he was very pleased with.
The breakfast was great with a massive selection and all fresh and tasty.
All the staff were so lovely, friendly and polite.
My main gripe is the price of food and drink is extortionate. It's a shame because I think more people would eat and drink in the resort if the prices were more competitive as the restaurants were very nice. I would definitely recommend the baht bonanza which you can do in the first 24 hours of arrival. Basically if you put £200 or £400 pound in at the outset you get an extra £40 or £80 on top so it is better value for money.
There is a beach bar on the front to the right of the hotel called Daeng's restaurant. You must go here! it is so cheap and the food is really tasty. They do lunchtime snack and evening meals. The 5 spice steamed fish was amazing. They also serve wine by the glass which tends to be very expensive in alot of places in Phucket and here it was very reasonable, tasted great and was ice cool. Daeng is the owner and you get a lovely friendly welcome.
There are also plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from in Karon which is a short walk along the beach or a few mins in a taxi.
All in all it was a fantastic and memorable holiday and I would stay in Centara accommodation again as it is expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_MiniMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ms_MiniMouse,
Thank you for sharing your review.

I am pleased to read that you were impressed with the gym, that the room was perfect and the adult pool lovely. I am glad you found breakfast fresh and tasty with a great selection.

Thank you for recommending our spa and the baht bonanza.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just returned home two weeks ago from our 10 night stay! It was a fantastic Resort for our Family! Our kids are 5,8 & 10 & had an absolute ball. From the waterslides, Lazy River, Jumping cliff & Resort Pools they were entertained. They also had some other activities around the pool but you had to pay cash for which most of the time we would forget the cash as we would charge everything to our room. They had a kids club we're they could go but mostly played around the pools. Beds were Hard, showers not so good, didn't like that the balconies were connected, would much preferred a interconnecting room. Rooms were clean & well stocked. Ist night the rooms didn't have a connected balcony so we were moved after the 2nd night which was a lot further away from the pool area & had a bird that sounded like an alarm every night which was very annoying. The staff were lovely but would sometimes have trouble with communicating properly. The food was also nice but expensive in the Resort so go for a walk into Karon Town & have a meal. The Red Onion I would recommend, good food, reasonably priced & busy which is always a good sign. We had a great holiday so would definatley recommend The Centara Grand cause
if the kids are happy your happy.

Room Tip: We had the Deluxe Pool Suite ( plunge pool on Balcony ) fantastic for the kids & if you just sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kelly D,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is a pleasure to hear that your children had a great time. I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing