We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel while we were in Phuket. Our room was amazing and the service of the staff was excellent. Buffet breakfast was so good however the other meals at the main restaurant were not that great. There is also an Italian restaurant there which had great food for lunch and dinner. The facilities of the resort were also great and it was only a short walk along in the beach into Karon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bonni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Bonni M,
Thank you for staying with us for your first holiday in Thailand and for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that you found the room amazing, the service excellent, the buffet breakfast good and Mare, our Italian restaurant, great for lunch as well as dinner.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for your next visit to Thailand.

Best wishes,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,727 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our third trip to Phuket. We have typically stayed slightly away from the craziness of Patong (Laguna area north of Patong) and this was our first stay in the Karon beach area.

We are family of 2 adults and 2 kids (ages 11 & 8) and traveled with extended family (couple with two kids aged 4 and 2) spending 11 nights at the Centara Grand in Karon beach.

The hotel facilities
This hotel is huge. The complex itself consists of numerous buildings set amongst gardens and a sprawling pool area. The hotel is situated practically right on the beach. From our room at the top of building 9 (room 941) we could hear the relaxing sound of breaking waves every night and had a stunning view of both the pool area and the beach. We opted for a deluxe spa room which has a lovely spa on the balcony where we spent time reading and gazing out over the ocean. The rooms are large and have plenty of balcony space. The two queen/double beds were quite firm but comfortable. The shower was spacious and had both a standard rain head and handheld washer. The large LCD TV has a few cable TV channels (movies, news, sports) and the rooms have DVD players (which were able to play all of our movies acquired at the night markets).

The room was in immaculate and clean. The hotel facilities overall are starting to get a little tired though. The pools are great fun for the kids. One large pool (with pool bar) which leads into a smaller toddler area with small water slide. A few steps and you enter the lazy river with inflatable tubes, a tube slide, 2 separate large water slides and a cliff jump. The kids spent hours moving between the various pool areas as we played games, floated around, had some pool side drinks and nibbles and read books. There is a separate adults only pool area which we didn't visit.

The hotel staff & activities
The staff are very warm and friendly and happy to help if you have any queries or problems.
We had some issues with towels and toiletries and following a chat the message got through and we were supplied with an abundance of everything (including champagne!). The hotel did feel slightly understaffed though.

The kids activities are great. Our daughter loved the batik painting and the kids play area (ball pit, electronic games etc) had plenty to offer. The fitness center was well equipped with 3 running machines, 2 bikes, free weights, gym equipment, towels, cold water and air-con. The highlight has to be the spa at Centara. We had a super relaxing massage and the setting is just sublime

The surrounding area
The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from Karon town where great food (Red Onion, 2 Chefs) can be had reasonable cheaply (2 Chefs a bit pricey). The beach itself was nice but when we were there a sizable amount of litter had been swept up onto the beach which spoilt some of the appeal. The hotel pool is where you'll end of spending most of your time. We hired a car for 7 days and used this to get around (able to park in Hotel car park) however the entry/exit from the hotel is a little hairy (on a steep slope) but the guards at the front help with traffic and guide you out.

Overall
I would gladly come back with the family and we look forward to one day returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnthonyYOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear AnthonyYOz,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for providing a review of your stay.

Your lovely and thorough feedback is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read your comments about the spa, that you had a super relaxing massage.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Best wishes,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a lovely 10 day stay at this resort with our teenage son. The resort itself has been built into the hillside and is about a 10 minute walk into Karon which is fine but at night it is advisable to get a taxi as too dark and road too dangerous to walk on. We originally had booked a Deluxe Pool Villa which was lovely but really not suitable for 3 adults as not enough space, so once we got to the resort we upgraded to a 1 bedroom villa with pool. The 1 bedroom villa (which we nicknamed Tree Top Villa) was up in all the green vegetation and really was lovely and extremely spacious. We used the adult pool a couple of times and this pool is quieter and has a stunning view over the ocean. The main pool has activities in it at varying times of the day and the lazy river and cliff jump were popular with the families. The beach is quite unkept and although there is a lot of debris from the trees on the beach I expected this to be cleared up daily and it wasn't (especially around the sun-bed areas). The grounds within the resort were very well kept and the foliage quite stunning. We ate at the Beachcomber several times as the setting next to the beach is lovely. The food was good but I thought could be improved by serving steamed vegetables instead of sautéed and adding a grill tomato to fill the plate (a few finishing touches were needed). One area I think lets down the resort is the reception. It's very dull and dark and really needs brightening up if it's to reflect the rest of the resort. We used the main dining area 'The Cove' for breakfast the first morning but found it very busy and very hot as there are only ceiling fans operating. As we had a villa we were able to use the club facilities - there is a small separate lounge for breakfast, snacks at lunch time, afternoon tea and cocktails in the evening. We took breakfast in the club lounge every morning and although smaller with less choice we found it a lot quieter and quite adequate for what we wanted. The staff all around the resort were extremely courteous, polite and always smiling. Would like to highlight a couple of the staff - the first Au who worked in the club lounge the beginning of our stay (didn't see her towards the end) was extremely professional and had a lovely smile every morning and nothing was too much trouble. The other member of staff Martin (Quality Manager) was extremely efficient and helpful as we had a few problems in our villa with the internet and the water in our pool being drained unbeknown to us. I have to say any small problems that we had were dealt with promptly and resolved very quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Oceandaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Oceandaze,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review here on trip advisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay in one of our villas. I appreciate your suggestions when it comes to food at Beachcomber.

It was a pleasure to meet your during your stay and I would like to thank you for your kind comments.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have not long returned from a well deserved over due holiday in Phuket. First week we stayed in kamala at sunwing & loved everything about it, not a5 star resort but a good 4! :)
We then headed to centra grand for the second week. ( 6 of us all together) I was so excited to be finally staying there as a friend had highly recommended the resort as they have stayed many times.
Quite a big resort.. I was very impressed. On arrival we had to wait 41/2 hours to be booked into our room & I don't no why but ended up in completely different room than what I thought I had booked. Anyway tired & ready to settle in we were finally in our room. Top floor spa one room which was really lovely but definitely I felt very cramped with all 4 of us in one room, we had a balcony that was roomy and was nice to take in the amazing view of the resort & ocean.
I was so pleased to have the spa on our deck.. It was perfect for a wee dip with bubbles and a great way to end the day.
Omg the spa treatments are amazing... A must do!! I treated my family to a massage.. They were all impressed.the staff are all very friendly & helpful. Unfortunitly it did rain a lot while we were there & the sea was very ruff ( not good to swim in) it was not good when the resorts pools became unusable due to technical troubles.. After 3 days were talked to management & he very kindly organised for us to go to splash water park which was awesome , this made the kids really happy.we had a great time being our first time there was lots to discover around Phuket. We would love to return to Phuket next year & stay again here.. But I'd say we would much prefer a room that has a seep rate area for the kids to sleep. ( budget will dictate that tho )
Yes I recommend staying here... Over all a great holiday. My kids were 12-23... They had a ball.xo
Also I loved the little details.. The flowers left on our beds... Very kind staff in deed.
We found breakfast a bit crazy and often had cold un cooked eggs.. So ended up with fresh fruit most the time. A good choice for everyone tho :)
Thank you ang & Andre hilliar

Room Tip: Top floor spa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahilliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear ahilliar,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay with us.

We are happy to read that overall you had great holiday. I am glad you found the spa treatments amazing and our staff friendly and helpful.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We thought we would treat ourselves to a top resort for a few days. First thing to remember is that it is not situated in a town. Unless you walk along the beach for 20mins to Karon your only option is to get a taxi or take the shuttle bus supplied by the hotel. The shuttle bus does not go to Patong. We had booked a room with a private plunge pool. The room was really nice, it had everything and we were lucky enough to be upgraded so we had an extra outdoor room on the side. The room was lovely, supplied with everything even a coffee maker. The bed was really comfortable and our view was great. The breakfast was great with a huge variety. Something that you need to be aware of is that it is a family friendly resort and there are kids everywhere. We did not swim in the main pool at all but did go on the lazy river which wasnt working at the time. We went to the adults only pool once which was nice until it started pouring with rain (good timing haha!). Our plunge pool was excellent, a good temperature with a nice view of the gardens. You also need to know is that there are heaps of stairs, we were on the first floor and had 45 steps. The grounds were lovely with nice gardens. One major downfall is the beach, we had a walk down the beach and were shocked. There were areas of really gross looking brown water with children playing and swimming in it and rubbish on the beach, although the staff where picking it up when we were there. We have since been told the brown water is allegedly an algae bloom but we wouldnt take that chance. We asked about the airport transfer cost which was really expensive, you would be better to organise a pickup from outside the hotel. Overall a lovely resort but too far out of town and more suited to those who go to a resort and want to spend the bulk of their holiday in the resort.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps so dont get a room on a high floor. If you can get a pool with your own pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Judy V,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

It is pleasing to read that you found the room nice with a great view and that the breakfast was great with a huge variety.

The majority of our guests appreciate our location as it is secluded yet near the town. If you would like to stay in the centre of Karon, I suggest that you have a look at our partner hotel Centara Karon Resort.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay was perfect,the staffs around the hotel was friendly.the location of the hotel are perfect with large pool and beach just near the hotel.
The breakfast was nice, and the Italian restaurant was amazing.
We will try to come back soon as possible.
Thanks .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank นันทิชา ไ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that your stay was perfect. Thank you for your lovely feedback on the location, the breakfast and our Italian restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here some 2 weeks back.

Check in all ok, quick and easy. Stayed in block 8, great room, well kept and no bathroom/shower flooding issues, which i think are possibly from the free standing "round type" showers that some rooms have ( was told by other staying there that they had issues with flooding). House keeping genally good, but had to constanly ask for 4 towels as there was 4 of us staying there, plus had to get them to sweep the floors as the sand from the pool area just spreads throughout the hotel ( must annoy management, no end).

Pool area was great, kids had a ball, but the pools need a bit more attention with the cleaning, in many area's there is scum/slime build up along the water line...it sure made a real mess of my bathers, The paved areas around the pools could do with being swept/hosed down each morning to remove/clean away the sand that builds up all around the place. we stayed in a similar hotel in Bali after this, which also had a sand part to the pools and the cleanliness was far and above this place.

Breakfast...........pfft! to the nay sayers on here...it was excellent with a wide variety of food/cuisines, it was excellent.

Pool side food?...where was some Thai food...even if it was only Pad Thai, surely you could add this to the burgers and fries list?

All in all an excellent stay, if only they could get hold of some of their cleaning issues, i would give it 5 stars.

cheers S

Room Tip: Block 9 has a great outlook over the ocean ( closest too)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Astonisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Astonisaac,
Thank you for sharing your review.

We are pleased to receive your feedback on breakfast, pool area, housekeeping , check in and room. We also appreciate your suggestion when it comes to pool side food.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £99 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing