We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a beautiful resort!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A recent holiday in Phuket found me at Centara Grand Beach Resort Karon Beach. Having previously visited Phuket I was pleased to be able to find a gorgeous resort out of the main drag that had plenty of dining options a great pool and a separate adult pool as well as the beach for walking with the added bonus of in house luxurious spa facilities and great cocktails with happy hour prices. Our ocean facing room was extremely well appointed and very spacious and had a private balcony. A great resort if you do not want to stay in the hustle and bustle of downtown Patong Beach. Clean, air conditioned hotel cars were competitively priced at THB400 to Patong should you feel the need to leave the resort. Reception and management very helpful and all other staff were polite and accommodating. Great place - great holiday June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sawasdee Janet C

Thank you for providing a review of your stay and trust you had a pleasant journey back home to Australia.

I am pleased to read that you found our resort to be beautiful and that you enjoyed the stay with us including spa facilities at Cenvaree Spa and great cocktails during happy hour.

Hope we can welcome you back to Thailand and Phuket in the future.

Safe Travels,

Michael
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    711
    265
    97
    73
See reviews for
1,266
847
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at the Centara Grand for a week. The room was great and we had a good view of the mountains and could see a little of the ocean.
We had buffet breakfast at the hotel every morning which had a wide range of options. There was your normal breakfast foods such as fresh fruit, fresh breads and pastries and egg station and then other things such as Asian options and Indian.

The pools were very nice, however the water was a little too warm in the main pool. The gardens were all very green and were well maintained.

The location of the Hotel was good in the sense that it was a little more secluded rather than being in amongst the hussel and bussel of Karon or Patong. The only down side was that because it was up on the hill we needed Taxis to get anywhere. Leaving from the Hotel the hotel would organise a taxi which were all at a set prices and then you would need to find your own way back. The hotel offered two free of charge shuttles a day, 13:00 and 17:00. Need to get in and book early to hold spot. I really think more shuttles should have been organised just because it did get a little pricey going out and coming back. To Karon it cost between 200/300 Baht ($7/10 AU) or to Patong 400 baht ($14 AU) one way.

All in all it was a good hotel with great customer service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ciara C,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the pool facilities and the breakfast. I am glad you found that it had a wide range of food. I also notice your feedback on the complimentary shuttle service.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just come back after staying for 13 nights.Transfer time was about an hour.
We had a bit of a nightmare, we flew with Etihad from Heathrow but our luggage did not arrive at Phuket. So we were without all of clothing, toiletries etc for nearly 3 nights, took a few trips into Karon to stock up on clothing and sun cream. Though the hotel room was great too, which included factor 20 suncream (not high enough for me) toothbrushes tooth paste , mouthwash etc.
We have previously stayed at a Laguna hotel further North up the coast, The location of the Centara Grand was excellent. We walked into Karon most nights and then spent 200 baht on a tuk tuk back. We ate in Karon most nights at the different restaurants there, better variety and much much better value than the hotel (and no extra 17% on top of your bill in taxes).It was a shame that we couldn't swim in the sea as the red flags were out tho we still had a bit of a paddle in the waves. The lifeguards were very quick to get you closer to shore if they felt it necessary, which was great to see. Breakfast was great with lots on offer, it is usually easy to get bored of the food at breakfast, we didn't. Ask to eat outside if you can - much nicer. Our nearly 14yr old daughter loved the pools, the lazy river and most important of all the cliff jumping. We did the baht bonanza so she could have lunch when she fancied, though paying nearly £7 for a sandwich and nearly £4 for a 330ml can of singha is a bit of a rip off, only made slightly more palatable between 4 and 6 when some of the drinks were 2 for 1 at the pool bar.There was also very little Thai food on offer, chicken fried rice and pad thai only.
I did see Naengs and Kai restaurant to the right of the hotel on the beach but was gutted to see that they were both closed, perhaps as it was low season, but the hotel seemed busy.
Our room was really nice, room 314, but the blinds were a bit of a chore to open and close, I used the gym a few times, which was nice but a bit limited in their free weights perhaps, and no kettebells. They also did some Muay Thai sessions but you had to pay extra, which was a shame. The staff did try and help out gym users with advice etc.
There is free wifi in the lobby but it was not very good in the rooms.
The security staff were great, and I think it truly is the only hotel with direct beach access, all of the others are across the road. In fact all of the staff were great.
We hired a car from Andaman Rent a car when there, and I was a bit worried as the car park is a bit small, but it was never a problem. Driving there is on the left and as long as you drive very defensively it is fine.
Also, there were many different nationalities staying there and all very friendly.

We all loved this hotel, the staff and the weather, and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishmanincardif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Sawasdee englishmanincardif,
Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket as your vacation destination and for sharing your holiday experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you found the location excellent, the breakfast great and that your daughter loved the pool facilities. I notice your comments when it comes to Thai food on offer and wifi in the room. Although I think our fitness centre provides what most of us need, I really appreciate your suggestions when it comes to equipment.

May I also thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 14 nights here in March 2014. We had 4 rooms (in all different areas of hotel) as there was 14 of us, including 6 children.
Compared to other places I've stayed and revised in Thailand, this place was impressive. From the moment we got there I was in awe of the beautifully designed and built facility.
In saying that, it does come at a fairly high cost ($$).
The resort itself is just fabulous. It is as close to the beach you can possibly get without actually being on the sand. It was literally 2 footsteps from the main pool to the beach.

The pool areas were so awesome, especially for kids. The lazy river was great to just sit yourself on a tube and float around it relaxing. Or go down either of the 2 really good sized (and fast) water slides that lead into the lazy river. But best of all for adults and kids was the jumping rocks.
2 levels of height to jump from (highest about 4m and lower about 2m) and you jump into a 4m deep plunge lagoon type pool. Seriously fun!!!! There is an adults pool area too for those who don't want kid time.

There was always 2 life guards on duty from 10am to 4pm at the water slide and jumping rock, who were just fantastic with kids. The staff rotated but overall, every single one of them could not be faulted and honestly , the life guards really enchanted the fun that the kids had during our stay.

The rooms were great. Our room overlooked the beach, so waking from the 3rd floor and seeing the glorious beach to start your day off was always top notch. The room balcony was a great place to sit and watch the waves crashing on the sand when you just want time to chill out. Shower in room was big, air con worked great.

The buffet breakfast Was amazingly good. Had everything from bacon , local style banana pancake, stir fry, rice, grilled tomato, baked beans, sausages to curries, roasted pork sirloin, fruit and donuts or chocolate croissants. As well as the usual percolated coffee they serve at breakfast, you could order iced coffee, latte, cappuccino for no additional cost. I always walked out of the totally satisfied and about 5kg heavier!!!

Drinks at pool bar , or room service can be costly, so avoid running it on your room tab and pay cash instead or you may loose track and end up with a huge bill.
All taxes and that get added to price , so for a small tub serving of ice cream for 1 child to sit and eat around the pool will cost close to $10 final price.

The hotel is a good 10 minute walk into Karon centre but is a nice walk along the beach. Was about 300baht for a hotel taxi into Karon centre or if you walked to the top of hotel driveway , the taxis there were cheaper. We had scooters ($6 a day) which we kept parked in resort car park so was very easy to get about.

There were security guards positioned at the main entry, reception and then a guard position every 20m along the beachfront, so it always felt very safe day or night there - and no matter how many times you passed them, they always saluted and greeted you.

Really felt welcomed at this resort and it would have to be one of the top resorts suited to couples as well as families. You will not get any closer to the beach in Karon or patong than this place.

Staff really were so friendly and always smiling.

I hope I can get back to stay here again coz I thoroughly loved it.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmyM681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sawasdee jimmyM681,
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay.

It is very pleasing to read your nice comments. We are happy to hear that pool facilities were awesome, rooms great and breakfast amazing.

May I also thank you for your kind comments about smiling and friendly staff. I am glad the life guards took good care of your kids.

We appreciate receiving your thorough and valuable feedback.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went with a family of 9 - me and my wife, two daughters, one son-in-law and 4 grandchildren, between the ages of 8 and 19, for 10 days. We had 3 rooms with small pools and one villa. The accommodation was perfect - we all met up in the villa for pre-dinner drinks, etc. The pool, the lazy river, the slides and water jumps were all well used and enjoyed by all ages. We always felt there were enough caring staff to ensure our safety - even if the little ones were on their own around the hotel. The sea was out-of-bounds because of the tides - but it was not a problem, the beach was still beautiful. We bought the top 'baht bonanza' (this allows you to pre-buy currency for spending within the hotel at a reduced rate) - this meant we all ate whatever we wanted (breakfast, lunch and dinner), drank what we wanted (alcoholic and soft drinks) and had spa treatments without feeling it was expensive (including ALL of the above we only spent £20 per day per person - which seemed very reasonable considering the quality).The breakfast's were truly excellent - never crowded, a very wide range of tastes were catered for and we all felt very full on leaving. The Cove restaurant served buffets and a-la-carte - they were very happy to 'mix and match' which was very good considering the age range, The Beachcomber served excellent BBQ steaks and fish. Obviously some slight niggles - dessert could be very slow especially in the Mare restaurant, the room was not always made up without a phone call, the service in the pool bar was poor for a few days but picked up. Our room keys repeatedly stopped working. But these were very small problems compared to the overall joy of a great hotel with very friendly staff. It was our first trip to Thailand and we will return - with a Centara Grand hotel being our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChrisCBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sawasdee ChrisCBlake,
Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket as your holiday destination and for sharing your valuable feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you and your family had a pleasant stay. I notice that you provide some excellent advice regarding the baht “bonanza”. Baht bonanza does give you value for your money. We are also happy to read that breakfast was excellent and that you enjoyed the dinner options at our restaurants Cove and Beachcomber. I am glad the service in the pool bar improved. As we strive to provide the perfect holiday experience I have also noted your feedback on service in Mare when ordering dessert, that you sometimes needed to make a phone call to have your room made up and that your key card had to be reprogrammed.

I am glad you enjoyed your first holiday in Thailand. We are looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully at a Centara Grand resort.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were there off-season so the ocean was out of bounds. Luckily the pool grounds were great so we were more than happy to spend our days lazing by the pool. There were 2 long slides which we all enjoyed (2 and 5 year old kids, and us!)

If u want an ocean view, i think u should ask for block 1 or 2 (near the lobby) and if u got block 7 or 8 (if I remember correctly, 7 was ours), you might want to ask for levels 3 or 4 rooms as our view was supposed to be "ocean view" but was heavily blocked by trees. Very private, but I'd much prefer being able to look out into the ocean :)

Overall, very nice hotel and great rooms. Not too far from Patong (if I'm not wrong it was 400baht by cab or tuk-tuk).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeeryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sawasdee Zeeryan,

Greetings from Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and for sharing your lovely feedback.

We are very pleased to read that you found our hotel nice and the rooms great and that you had a pleasant stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely room that was right overlooking the ocean. Beautiful inside with very good air conditioning and a ceiling fan as well. Being on the 3rd floor there was a lift available which at times we did use.
Hotel grounds are stunning, staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The pool facilities are fantastic, had our kids been younger I'm sure we would have rarely left the resort. Having teenagers we did still enjoy the river float on tubes!
The buffet breakfasts were amazing, wonderful choices available and a small wait to have your eggs cooked freshly in front of you did not seem much of a chore as I have heard others say.
The location between Karon and Patong townships does mean a short taxi fare or a walk (too far to walk to Patong). We found it too hot to walk so used a taxi each time ($8 NZ).
We did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast and one lunch time. Prices are not cheap there, and we preferred to change our eating place for every meal as that is part of the holiday experience.

Room Tip: Beachfront means you are not far from pools and restaurants. Did see many apartments set back on hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sue883,

Thank you for staying at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your holiday experience.

It is a delight to read your lovely feedback. It is great to know you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming, that the buffet was amazing and the facilities fantastic.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing