We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Upon reading some of the reviews prior to staying I was not sure that we were going to get what we thought we were paying for, boy was I wrong. From check in to check out we had no hassles, we never waitied for service, everybody was so warm and friendly, they went out of their way to help of just chat. Our room was a great size for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, more spacious than many we have stayed in before. The pool facilities were fantastic, unforunately the pool pump broke down when we stayed and the main pool was closed for 2 days but this did not impact on our stay. The staff worked day and night to get it right, the lazy river was still operational so there were still plenty of options for swimming.

I would throughly recommend this resort for families of all ages, it has everything you could want if you never wanted to leave the resort. With Karon on the doorstep there are many choices just a 200baht taxi or tuk tuk ride away or literally a 5 minute walk into town along the beach. We would definately not hesitate to recommend the Centara Grand to friends and family and would defianetly return if ever back in Phuket. Thank you for having us a wonderful place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nimon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Nimon2014,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.
Im delighted you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    711
    265
    97
    73
See reviews for
1,266
847
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week, the room was large and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet selection was good although the dining area was somewhat crowded during breakfast however we have often seen this at other hotels. The pool area was very beautiful and the kids loved the slides and lazy river, however the lazy river did seem a little dirty and the kids pool was full of chemicals with yellowish water on a couple of occasions. These were our only negatives on the hotel, which are more than outweighed by the positives. Overall it was great value and we were particularly impressed with the professional, attentive and friendly staff through out the hotel, they are a credit to the Centara and it would not be the same without such quality staff.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GDrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sawasdee GDrak,
Thank you for taking the time to provide Trip Advisor readers a review from your recent stay. Hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I would like to start this review by saying for the last 3 years I stated at this resort since it's opening and it was very good. Since that time the hotel service has gone down tremendously. The check and check out takes forever and they spread us as a family over several buildings even though we asked to be put together at reservation. The pools had murky water, and the state of the facilities was poor. Rooms had problems with air conditioning, and facilities that were free now became expensive to use.
To be honest I don't think I will return to this resort next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Qyaqoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Qyaqoob,
Sorry to read you had a disappointing stay. I a few thoughts in reply on the issues you mention.

"rooms were spread through out the resort" unfortunately sometimes we cannot place all rooms together especially when occupancy is high. We will try our best however we usually can manage these requests within the first days of your stay.

"check in and check out takes forever" again if the occupancy is near capacity things may take a little longer and I apologise for this inconvenience.

"Murky water and facilities were poor" we do offer complimentary drinking water in our rooms and I apologise if the town water was not crystal clear as we do have our own filtration systems to overcome this.

"Facilities that were once free are now being charged for", Im not sure what facilities you are referring to.

I note your comments that you are considering returning next year, so Im guessing there must be some positives about your stay. Feel free to drop me a line as I am happy to help you with your concerns and hopefully see you return in 2015.

Kind Regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caringbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Everyone says the Thais are beautiful - and I am sure they all work at the Centara Grand. Everyone we came into contact with was smiling and kind.. We stayed in the rainy season and had two days of torrential rain but we managed a couple of long lunchs to pass the time. eating and drinking in the hotel is expensive compared to Karon or Kata and probably not worth spending the money. I have to say i was a little bored with the breakfast come day three as there was little variation but the coffee was hot so not complaining too much. My two boys loved the water slides and the pools although the Lazy River could do with a good clean - my cozzies were a littl discoloured thanks to the yucky water. The steps in the Lazy River are impossible to see so had a few bloody toes. The rooms were not too bad - although sharing with 2 adults and 2 kids does get a little cozy after a few days. The rooms could do with a good scrub but the linen and towels were clean and the ladies were always accomodating if we needed anything including cleaning our room at a particular time due to nap time with the kids. We prefered to walk to the top of the hill to get local cabs rather than use the hotel as we wanted to support the locals. same price as the hotel and when the weather was crappy better to use the hotel but negotiate with the local cabs for any day trips as they are FAR cheaper than the hotel. We didnt get a room with a pool as we have little kids and to be honest if we were there again I wouldnt bother with it. I didnt see anyone in their provate pool in the 9 days we were there. everyone prefering to be along side the pool. plenty of room by the pool to watch the kids or avoid them if you prefer. overall a great place to stay and we will be back - I have to pay attention to the beautiful staff especially the Security guys. Not once did I walk pass and they didnt salute and smile - even when i though they would melt with the heat. We will be back for sure!! Please note they take a holding deposit on arrival that we were unaware of... no biggy as they deduct the final bill from it but still.... Enjoy!!

Room Tip: There is an option to be away from the pool on the hill if you prefer - there is a private pool up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniellebarry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Daniellebarry76,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. Im pleased you found our staff so helpful and kind and had a great stay overall. re price concerns I recommend guests purchase Bhat Bonanza upon check in for free spending money (makes all food and beverage as well as spa prices cheaper). Im delighted your kids loved the pool and water slides but note your comment on the lazy river water colour. I appreciate your comment on supporting the local taxi's however our car service is outsourced and is a local operator. Im delighted you plan to return, see you next time.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very good resort for family, our room was spacious with ocien view ,the facilities for childrens qre amazing , large pool for adults and slider for childrens.
The italian restaurant was also perfect , Chef Matteo cooked a superb meal for our diner,
the breakfast in all day dining was good with large choice of food from over the world.
Special Thanks for all staffs, everyone was smilling and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Sawasdee Jocelyn J,
Thank you for taking the time to provide readers a review from your recent stay with us.
Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will share this with the team especially Chef Matteo.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We worried about the rainy season before we arrived in Phuket, and arriving in torrential rain and lightening, we thought the worst. However, after arriving and all the corridors and balconies were flooded, we woke up to Blue skies and sunshine. Only saw a few showers for 11 days after that. We were in block 4 on the top floor, and after quite a trek from the pool, the views were fantastic. We had 2 premium deluxe spa rooms, but didnt really use the spa but enjoyed the extra space on the balcony. After we had spent 3 nights in Dubai, the hotel was not to the same 5*standard but we enjoyed every minute. Special thanks to Boy ( pool bar manager) and Han who made mango daiquiris at happy hour for us! As a party of 13 from ages 7 - 40 something's we had a great time, visiting Kok Chang elephant trekking, Phi Phi Islands, Tiger Kingdom and even a cashew nut factory!
Special Thanks to Martyn, quality manager for a fabulous stay and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sawasdee Studdy

Thank you for providing a review of your stay and trust you had a pleasant journey back home to UK.

I am pleased to read that you had a fabulous holiday with friends and I will pass on your special thanks to Khun Boy and Martin.

Hope we can welcome you back to Thailand and Phuket in the future.

Safe Travels,

Michael
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited during the start of the rainy season but it was great weather nevertheless. We went for the deluxe pool room and it was fantastic! Approx 2m square by 1m deep so fab for cooling off in the hot weather. The main hotel pool is very good with a swim up bar. There is also an adult only pool. For the kids a lazy river and rubber rings to float round on. There are 3 restaurants all serving top quality food but the Italian restaurant was totally superb and we went 3 times for some of the best a la carte food I've ever had. We put everything on the room bill all week including drinks and were pleasantly surprised by a very reasonable final bill. Top tip in Phuket is to hire a moped at only about £3 per day (miles cheaper than taxis). Get from a reputable renter and discover the island. Thai boxing, tiger kingdom, snorkelling trip to phi phi island all highly recomended.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sawasdee Derrick G

Thank you for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the pool facilities and the Deluxe Pool Suite. I am glad to read you liked our 3 restaurants and you found the location fabulous.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Safe Travels,

Michael
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing