We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,456)
Filter reviews
3,456 results
Traveller rating
2,008
923
327
113
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,008
923
327
113
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river luna bar kids club water slides deluxe pool suite mare restaurant jumping rock cliff jump adult pool the club lounge karon town ocean facing entertainment team seafood buffet two double beds main pool carpe diem
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 3,456 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the grand centara resort for nine days during june 2018 together with our six years old twins. The hotels location is outstanding. Just on karon beach and under a green cliff. Our kids had lovely time at the water slides, jumping and lazy river. The food was little expensive but very delicious. On the other hand i belive its time for some renovation (especially the main pool) . But i certainly advise anyone this resort and definately will turn back one day.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank boramazhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear boramazhar,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in Phuket.

It is a pleasure to see that the whole family has enjoyed their time in our resort. Your lovely comments about the water park and the food has been noted.

We hope to welcome you back during a future visit to the land of smiles.

Kind regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I went to this hotel 23rd - 26th June, 2018. The location is amazing with an excellent beach view. I had chosen 2 Deluxe ocean facing rooms. The rooms we had were in block 8 were more pool facing than ocean facing but a little part of the ocean was visible so no complains. The resort has a nice swimming pool + lazy river. The Cove restaurant has some Indian dishes (butter chicken, garlic naan, dal makhani etc). The breakfast options also have roti prata + omelette counters. I would recommend to not book breakfast online as they gave a check-in offer for 350 Baht per person per breakfast while the online booking price was much more expensive.
The taxi service at the hotel is also expensive.It is better to get a sim card at the airport and install GRAB on your phone and use Grab taxis for travelling around Phuket. We mostly used grab to travel to Patong beach which has lots of Indian restaurants and also for going back to the airport.
For the island tours, the resort options are too expensive and the service person is not helpful. Rather, go to Patong which has lot of tour agents (we went to paramount tours) and book the tour. The price for the phi phi island was 3900 baht at the resort while it was 800 baht at the tour agent.
The only complain I have is they have a room service lady (not sure what is her name) who keeps on ringing your bell if you do not have the "Do not disturb" button on. She disturbed us on the first day 3-4 times for minor things like "Do you want ice?", "Can I clean your room now, my shift ends at 6?". But later we pressed the do not disturb button and all was good.
Overall, a great experience and will definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vedang1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Vedang1990,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in Phuket.

It is a pleasure to see that you have had a wonderful time in our resort, and have taken the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers.

We are sorry to read that housekeeping rang the bell even when you had the "do not disturb" sign switched on. The team has been briefed on this matter, your feedback is appreciated.

Your lovely comments on the food have been noted, and shared with our chef.

We hope to welcome you back during a future holiday in Phuket.

Kind Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Stayed 3 nights with 2 children aged 8 and 5.

Stayed in a Deluxe Ocean Facing room which was very spacious: had 2 Queen beds, large bathtub in modern designed bathroom, and balcony with two lounge chairs. Pros: Spacious, comfortable beds, offers pillow menu (tho we didn't order from it), furniture and fittings thoughtfully appointed, provides flip flops, umbrella and beach bag.

Cons: 1) Floors could be swept and vacuumed better. I expect sand as its a beach resort, but a better job could be done with the daily cleaning.

2) Balcony floor was dirty (dust motes), sandy and sticky. Housekeeping very promptly responded when we asked for the balcony floor to be cleaned, however only a broom and a dry "mop" was used. There was no improvement so we left it as that and just went out only when necessary and wore slippers in the balcony.

3) Bathtub malfunctioned: 1st day the water couldn't drain out. Maintenance responded very promptly, however after their fix, on 2nd day the drain plug couldn't keep water in. This required another call and visit from Maintenance.

4) Shower stall drain pipe was clogged- so water pooled and flooded out of the shower stall and a strong sewerage smell emitted from the trap on the floor. The smell was so strong it wafted through the whole room (and the room is big). Housekeeping responded promptly to my call on day 1, however nothing improved. They responded again to my call on day 2, and again nothing. For the second time on Day 2, the housekeeping manager came to the room upon my call, and offered an aroma burner for the room, a non-slip mat for the bathroom and will send housekeeping to chemical-treat the drain. At the end of day 2, apart from the scent of Lemongrass camouflaging the smell of the sewer, nothing had improved and we lived out Day 3 and 4 as is.

From my experience, service is overall very good. Staff are pleasant, helpful and responsive. The estate is probably quite old and significant improvements to building structure and drainage is needed.

Facilities are superb and my family enjoyed them very much. Large kids club with mini-arcade (you need to buy tokens) and several Playstations. Pool is the best - 1 slide for children who are not water-safe, 2 long slides for all ages, a lazy river, and 2 adrenaline rushing Jumps. From an elevated platform, you jump into the water about 4-5 metres below. Resort is at the beach and the beach is lovely - clean, soft sand and private.

As they say, first impressions count. The lobby is surprisingly small for a resort this big, and needs a decor update to wow visitors. A trip to the washroom in the lobby while waiting for check-in dampened my mood somewhat, tiny washroom with poor ventilation (read: smell the sewer). Little things count as well, for instance other resorts provide ice water for guests by the poolside; Centara doesn't. Although the resort is sprawling, a buggy service is not explicitly provided. At night (say 9pm), other resorts would have doormen or porters to greet visitors, open taxi doors etc. At Centara, the only staff visible are 3 at frontdesk. Centara also will not call a taxi for you to the airport, they will only arrange the hotel's airport transfer at 1,800 baht, versus 900 baht for normal taxi. Other international and local hotel chains extend this service, it leaves a sour taste that Centara strives to squeeze every cent from you, up to the last minute of your stay. These aren't essential services but will go a long way in a holiday maker's memories.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing - the walk from the lobby will be shorter
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aurelia0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Aurelia0102,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent holiday in our resort.

First of all, we are sorry to read your disappointment in your stay. Your comments have been noted, especially regarding the cleanlniess of the floor, drainage of the shower and the experience upon arrival.
Your feedback is utmost appreciated and will be used to further improve our service and facilities.

On the other hand, we are glad to read that the staff were found to be friendly, and the room to be spacious. It is also a pleasure to see that the water park and kids club were enjoyed by the whole family.

We trust you had a safe journey home, and wish to welcome you back to the land of smiles during a future holiday.

Safe Travels,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Our second time at this hotel. Absolutely love the hotel. This time we managed to stay for a whole week and got a room with a pool. Lovely ocean view. Room was really nice and comfortable. Food at breakfast was ok, can get a little boring after a few days. But selection was good. I love being so close to the beach. Beach is amazing, really white soft sandy beach. Kids loved playing in the sand. Also the pools, lazy river n jumping cliff was loads of fun. I must reach out n thank the entertainment team Carpe Diem - Sandra n Seba for truly an amazing time entertaining the kids. They had tonnes of fun playing games with them. We also got a chance to give Dana to local monks organized by the resort called "Tat Baht". Was really great honour to do so. Can wait to come back again soon. Thank you for making our holiday a special one.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Psycho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Psycho88,

Thank you for staying with us again, and for taking the time to share your amazing feedback with us and fellow travellers.

Your comment regarding the breakfast variety has been noted, and shared with our executive chef to review.

On the other hand, it is great to read that the pools, beach and entertainment were to your liking, and makes you want to come back again during a future holiday.

Thank you for joining our Tak Bart activity where our guest provide food and drinks to the monks who visit our resort every Wednesday morning.

Safe Travels,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Our 2nd visit to this wonderful spot and excellent hotel. One of the many highlights was the Carpe Diem entertainment team of Sandra and Seb (Sven). Full of vigor and humour, for both us and the kids! Moss and his sports team on the water slides were also fantastic. In fact, all the staff were great! Absolutely fun-filled holiday at well appointed resort. Many thanks!! We will be back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank S943ZLphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear S943ZLphilc,

Thank you for staying with us again during your recent visit to Phuket.

We are delighted to read that Sebastian and Sandra have done an excellent job in entertaining your family. Your great feedback for Moss and the sports team have been noted, and shared with them and their manager.

We are glad to read that you will be back during a future holiday.

Safe Travels,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews