We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gaucho Steakhouse

El Gaucho Steakhouse
Ranked #80 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$56
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Brazilian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking
Description: A wine-focused steakhouse serving Churrasco and premium cuts of meat in a relaxed & casual restaurant alongside a fresh, wide array of salad greens, antipasti, pasta salad, condiments and much more to complement the sumptuous grill. A-la-carte dishes also available. Designed with industrial urban theme with inside and outside seating areas overlooking ocean view.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
316 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was supposed to be a special treat but we were disappointed! The quality of the endless supply of grilled meats that just kept on coming was not up to the standard we expect at home in South Africa & the bill was huge - 5800 Baht (which included a bottle of good wine). We complained about the fish dish, which was completely overcooked, & they gave us some of the famous Movenpick ice cream as a complimentary dessert - delicious!
The view from the deck was good looking out to sea, the staff were attentive & the decor of the hotel was stupendous - real 5* luxury!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    22
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great all you can eat meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I ordered an all you can eat meat - 1200 BT. one would think it is a little expensive, however, i receive so much great meeat - lam, pork (Which I personaly don't eat), beaf, chiken and more...
difrent parts, some griled with wine... very good meat, a dinner like that would have cost me *3 back at home. my wife & 2 year old dother had pho bo soop which was very good as well. great view to the sunset. all & all it was the best meal in Thailan in a formal restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but very pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We went for their speciality of the selection of meats. It was a great experience, the chef came out again and again with a different meat on a sword and sliced some off for us. We had a nice Chilean cab sav with it. Bill was shy of 6000 bhat for the two of us (£120) which is really a lot for this area. Service charge had been added on and then the credit card slip had a section for tip as well! Very cheeky! Service was fine but pretty average.

Nice for a treat, some of the meat was great, the rice and sauces for the meats were interesting (mango salsa went particularly and surprisingly well).

Helpful?
2 Thank JemimaRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and stunning sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The food was pleasant, my pizza was not as good as I get from home; however, was better than others I had in Thailand. The cocktail selection was good and were satisfying.

The best part of our experience however, was the view from the balcony at sunset. It was a perfect position to take advantage of the sunset, then the lanterns released at dark and the fireworks which followed that. The view made it a memorable experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pasta, Average Steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Dining experience was nice. Nice location and good service from staff.
Pasta was fantastic, really well done. Being from Australia, I have had some great steaks and we were disappointed in ours. It was tough and taste like cartilage. Staff offered to rectify.
Is not a cheap night out and didn't quite match what the promise of the evening was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgieC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gaucho Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing