We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and noisy nearby construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kata Blue Sea Resort
Ranked #18 of 147 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and noisy nearby construction”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Yes, it is the high season but this hotel is overpriced compared to others we have stayed in. We stayed for 2 weeks in 2 rooms as we have a 2 young teenagers.

There is a very noisy large construction across the road from both our rooms which starts at 7:30am and goes until after 9:30pm. It is after 10pm tonight and they are still welding,hammering and shouting. You can forget about any sleep ins if your room is adjacent to the street. It would have been common courtesy for them to have mentioned it when we were booking or at least offered a quieter room. It doesn't look like it will finish for at least another month but there is a vacant lot just behind it that they will soon develop.

On 3 days we did not have any running water for at least 30 min and on one day this lasted from 4:30pm until after 11pm. This is not good when you are in the middle of a shower with shampoo still in your hair. We were told this was a general problem with the water supply in all of Phuket but did not hear about it or encounter it anywhere else.

The air-conditioning is good. The rooms are a good size. The pool is clean but not enjoyable because of the noise from across the road.

The cleanliness is not great. The shower floor was just rinsed down and still had soap scum on it and hairs on the drain when we moved in. The stainless steel bin had stains all around the outside and on the lid that we're not permanent. The top of the kettle and headboard were dusty and the verandah outside was really dusty from all the construction work. However, the room was swept and mopped daily and the towels replaced.

The breakfast was average, pretty well the same everyday but adequate.

The staff were nice but not helpful with travel advice. Most did not have good English. When we asked one lady how to get to Kata noi beach as we wanted a bit of a change, she told us we could walk. It is actually about 2 km away and involves going up a steep hill so this is not a good option for most people.

Very basic average hotel (not resort). Would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
50
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to steer away from Patong for this trip, and went for somewhere new, and around the same budget range. Since we'll be out of the room for most of the time, we decided to just go for a cheap, yet comfortable hotel, settling for Kata Blue Sea after reading some reviews here and there.

Our trip transfers (from airport, taxi back from the weekend market, etc) generally have some problems trying to find the resort. It's off a lesser-taken Y-fork road, and may be overlooked by many cars and drivers. That being said, it's quite walkable from the main road, and with it some peace and quiet from the busy beach-facing street.

The room seems fine to start with. We are in the same building as the reception and breakfast, and our room overlooks the pool (seems to be shared with a next-door resort). There is no free wifi, but paid wifi is available upon request, at a very cheap rate.

However, things start to turn out less than satisfactory. Our small balcony was dusty and uncleaned from the construction of a new hotel nearby, and while we can't comment on the noise since we're not in our room during the day, the cleanliness of the balcony is disappointing. Furthermore, there are baby cockroaches everywhere in our room, and though we aren't really bothered by them, the fact remains that the room is not as clean as we expected.

We didn't have a problem with the showers, other than a small leak that cause the water pressure to be slightly affected. The hot/cold water control is functioning normally.

All in all, I guess it boils down to your comfort level. In my opinion, we paid more than we should have, though we travelled in the high season, and we are not going to stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kangsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights over the new year period. When we arrived we were taken to the hotel's 'second building' which is about 300m away from the hotel down this little alleyway you would never know belonged to the hotel. The room was dark and dingy. We were moved after our first night to a room in the actual hotel which was more pleasant but still very basic.

Our major problem with this hotel is that we had no running water in our room for over half our stay. When we did have running water the pressure was very average and the shower sort of ran down the wall.

We were forced to pay for our hotel on our second day (not at check out which I thought was very strange) and therefore were in a bad position when we asked for a discount due to the lack of running water. We left at 7am in the morning and had to wake up the night manager who was asleep on the counch (we noticed this several times during our stay which seems pretty unprofessional) and he couldn't understand what we were talking about so I decided to wait until we were home and email the hotel about this issue... I haven't heard a response.

The swimming pool is nice but is next to a construction site and you get wafts of sewerage smells... so we didn't spend much time there.

The only redeeming features about the hotel was the location - which is good if you are looking at staying in Kata (although there is the smelly river on the walk to the beach but that isn't the fault of the hotel) and most of the staff are lovely and try to be as helpful as possible. I ended up feeling rather sorry for them in a hotel that has a lot of problems.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate_CHCH_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I spent the first 5 nights of our vacation here. The hotel was very helpful arranging a transfer from the airport (1000 baht) for 12:30 am. Our room had some plumbing issues and we were switched rooms when an empty room was available. Yes, beds are hard, but that's normal in this part of the world! Breakfast was fair ( fresh watermelon, fresh pineapple, cereal, toast, bacon, eggs to order and juices). The pool water was cold compared to the ocean water, but the pool area was very clean. The construction across the road was annoying but this is no fault of the hotel. Hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from beach and there are plenty of restaurants along the way. It is also walkable to get to Kata Noi and Karon beaches from here. There is also an awesome large market with clothing, souvenirs, bags, fresh food, and anything else you'd ever want, which is open on Mondays and Thursdays. Overall. Customer service is great and I wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone. P.S.there is no fitness center available, but it wouldn't let me deselect a rating-sorry!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

It is a great please to note that you had a wonderful time at our resort. I am glad you found our employees to be friendly.
We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The customer service we received at this hotel was friendly and the breakfast was ok for the price. However, the beds were the hardest we have ever encountered and the construction across the road did not make swimming in the pool very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy_t11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

It is a great please to note that you had a wonderful time at our resort. I am glad you found our employees to be friendly.
We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Kata Blue Sea Resort in April for five nights and had a great time. A few of the pros are:

Room Layout - there was PLENTY of room to stow away our 3 large checked bags and our 3 smaller carry-on bags. We didn't feel like we were tripping over our bags or each other.

Bathroom - the bath was big enough and not a "Thai" bath that got everything wet when you took a shower; a hair dryer and trial sizes of products were available.

Power - there were so many outlets it was fabulous! We are a high-tech family and having enough outlets for everything is sometimes a problem. I especially liked the outlet in the center of the headboard... which I found one night when my Kindle was about to die. It also had a "nightlight" button and the bedside lamp buttons.

Breakfast - there was plenty of food offered in the included breakfast... we even had the staff offer to cook us eggs to order
: ) The only problem was that it was the same each morning; after five nights it was tiresome.

People - what an incredible staff! Krishna (sp?) was the manager who was very helpful. He helped us hire a driver and made phone calls for us; the guy who cleaned our room (I hesitate to call him a maid), would wait to clean our room so we could sleep in : ) The woman who laid out the buffet for breakfast would wait for all of us to eat before she put everything away. (We were still adjusting to the time zone change and they were very understanding of that!)

The very few cons from this hotel are things that they really can't change:

Location - the walk to the beach is alongside a "river" that is a stagnant cess pool... or at least it was when we were there. It smelled of sewage and low tide... but it's the most direct route to the beach. If you don't walk you have to take a taxi or tuk tuk... I never saw any buses or shuttles to the beach. It's really only a 5-8 minute walk; but it is VERY unpleasant the entire way.

Beds - in Thailand the beds are VERY firm... and this was no exception. I was achy by the third or fourth night that we slept there.

Overall our stay here was great. The staff was wonderful and the room was comfortable and big enough for all of us. We enjoyed our days here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the front or the pool... the back of the hotel just faces a concrete fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RealityRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

It is a great please to note that you had a wonderful time at our resort. I am glad you found our employees to be friendly.
We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in April 2013 and had a wonderful time. Our room (facing out the front of the hotel) was spacious with excellent facilities (safe, satellite telly, hairdryer, air con, tea/coffee making facilities, good size fridge, decent size balcony with rail to dry clothes, good size shower and bathroom area).
The whole hotel was very clean and the location is excellent for walking into Kata and Karon (though if going to Kata beach I would actually recommend you don't use the stinky shortcut beside the river of sewage, instead walk along the main road towards Karon and turn left at the junction, it's only an extra 5 minute walk and is much nicer). We also liked the fact that although it was close to everything it was also tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main road, in what was a very pleasant and new looking development.
We thought the breakfast selection at the hotel was really very good considering the very reasonable price we had paid for our stay. It was mostly the same everyday but there was a good choice of cereal, toast, fruit, bacon, eggs (however you wanted them done - my husband had the omelette a few times and it was huge), cold meats, tea, coffee, juice and randomly one morning we even had chicken wings!
The pool area at the hotel was also very nice, it's not a big pool but was spotlessly clean every day and was a very nice place to just go and relax.
The only downside during our stay (and to us it was only a very minor downside and not within the control of the hotel) would be the building work going on opposite. They did start work earlyish and a couple of times during our stay worked into the evening a little, but even when we had a lazy afternoon by the pool we didn't find it too much of an issue and were still able to relax (I only mention this as although it didn't effect our stay, I personally can sleep through almost anything, some may find it useful to know there is work going on in the area).
And just to finish, I would like to say that the staff at the hotel are lovely, friendly, very chatty and willing to help with any issues/questions you have. We had asked the hotel to arrange our collection from the airport on our arrival, unfortunately the driver didn't turn up. The hotel did give an excuse, not sure if it was a true one or they just forgot, but again it wasn't an issue as there were plenty of taxi's at the airport for us to hop into and the fella on reception was very apologetic on our arrival. On our departure the hotel organised a taxi for us (with a stop off at Big Buddha on the way) and he did show up, spot on time, so I think the arrival taxi was just a case of bad luck.
If we ever make it back to Phuket we will definitely look at staying here again.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned ask for a room with a view, there is a fence at the back of the hotel very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Berks_Big_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennyphuket a, Owner at Kata Blue Sea Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Sawasdee Karp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket and for sharing a review of your stay.

It is a great please to note that you had a wonderful time at our resort. I am glad you found our employees to be friendly.
We will improve our service and management constantly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at our resort soon.

Kind regards,
Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Blue Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Blue Sea Resort

Property: Kata Blue Sea Resort
Address: 98 / 123 The Beach Center Project, Kata Rd, Kata Subdistrict, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kata Blue Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Blue Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Blue Sea Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing