We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phunaka karon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Ranked #69 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Poor service. staff not so helpful. staff refused to send spoon to rooms. Wanted to charge 50 bahts for spoon. also asked to pay for pool drink not incurred by us. refused listen and told us that we could not leave if we did not pay. hotelw as to far from main road and beach. shuttle bus limited.

Room Tip: rooms on third floor seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thangam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear thangam a.

We thank you for the review left. It is very important for us to know what to improve in our work.

It's been many changes during the time passed. The staff hire policy has been changed to improve the service and communication skills of Phunaka Team. Moreover, we improved the pool service so now you can enjoy pool drinks for 100 THB only from 1 to 3 pm (Happy Hours Promotion).

We cherish the hope that you'll be back here to enjoy our improved service and beneficial promotions.

Best Regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

nice hotel for good prices! got a nice view but the "escalator" was quite slow ... and while waiting for it there was lots of bugs... and they were HUGE ..so it was quite scary

the location is alright.. right outside the hotel there is this family that rents motorbikes, so we rented from there ... the slope to go up the hotel was too steep, so we park our motorbike at the place we rented that is just outside the hotel...

this hotel has nice view overall... services was ok ... didn't use much of the hotel facilities this time... o .. btw the food was alright.. but better if you go out to the streets...

value was good for the price we paid though ... still recommended :)

Room Tip: higher "floors" ... longer the "escalator" ride ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner in February/March 2013 for my 30th birthday. This was our second stay within 12 months and it was as fantastic as the first time. Our room was on the highest part of the premises and we had a corner room so had an excellent view. Being in thus part of the resort meant one less flight of stairs too which was a bonus. I absolutely love the friendliness of all the staff there, always smiling and saying hello. The room is cleaned daily and breakfast is delicious. We had dinner once which was the Italian buffet night and the food was brilliant. The staff helped my boyfriend organise a gorgeous bunch of red roses for the day of my birthday which were delivered to our room as a surprise from when we got back from the beach. The walk to the beach and main street is really not that far and we felt pretty safe walking around at night. The one thing I would suggest is if you need laundry, there are plenty of local places that do it much cheaper. Other than that, can not fault this place and really looking forward to another trip there next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank box83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean and quiet. Perfect place for a total chillax holiday. Infinity pool over looks karon from the mountain .. and pool bar staff mix a great mai thai. Towels, robes & deck chairs all provided. Just bring ur swim suit & good book.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for 3 days. It's very good memory for me and would like to come back again. The rooms are spacious, luxurious, stylish, and comfortable, with the fantastic view from the hotel room and from the pool. It is the private and relaxing place you should not miss. The service is really excellent. All staffs is friendly, serviced-mind, and polite. Breakfast is very nice, good view from the breakfast area. I would recommend everyone to experience your time here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanny188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Only positive things to say about our 3 night stay. Service was friendly and polite from the outset; clean spacious rooms with a fantastic view over Karon and out to sea; and great views from the pool. Jacuzzi was the icing on the cake.

I wouldnt be put of by the hillside location, the 5 minute walk from the town to the hotel isnt really steep at all; and although the roads inside the hotel are very steep there is a lift to each of the villa complexes. Some have complained about the lift but for me it added to the novalty and character of the hotel.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

1. Make sure of beach bag, laundry bag, slippers. If you don't see these things, report immediately, because when you check out they will claim these stuffs (when they never put it there in the first place), even search your luggage if they are not there. They will charge you crazy.

2.Don't bother to pay more for room with outdoor jacuzzi, the Jacuzzi is very old and dirty, maybe they never changed it from the first they built the hotel. You wait forever to get the hot water come out.

3.The food is tasteless and they charge for everything. Even for a cup of coffee or cappuccino.

4.The

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dessy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear dassy_r

We thank you for leaving the review, your opinion is very important for us.
It is sorry to hear that your stay with us was not so pleasant. We must say that our special Coffee promotion gives guests a chance to enjoy morning coffee for 45 THB only. Moreover we improved the check in system so now you have a chance to check all of the room facilities together with Reception staff to avoid any misunderstanding that you've mentioned about.

We sincerely hope you'll choose our Resort as an accommodation for your next visit.

Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#3 of 135 in Karon
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.4 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#34 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#35 Spa Hotel in Karon
#54 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £20 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing