We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it seems”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lae Lay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lae Lay Suites
Ranked #49 of 147 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what it seems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

On the surface Lae Lay looked nice... But up close its obvious this place is pretending to be something it's not.

The building and rooms look modern and well designed, but once you get there everything has built poorly and with cheap materials. Everything is clean and the service was really good, but for what they promote themselves as and the price of the rooms it does not deliver. Rooms are sparse and doesn't feel homely or interesting. What I found hugely disappointing was the quality of everything... The door was flimsy ply wood, cheap handle and lock that I could easily have pushed open if locked or not. The furniture and bathroom all looked and felt like it cane from the cheap isle in IKEA.

I realise I'm coming across as picky and if I book a cheaper local place I expect these types of things... But they promote this place as foreign owned/run and the price suggests more. It seems this place is pretending to be boutique like or mid/high end, but they built the place on the cheap.

The location I really didn't like, walking out the front is quite a busy and noisy road and you have to walk past a lot of bars with girls trying to get you inside or pole dancing. Not a nice area, but good if you like that sort of stuff. Views from the rooms are ok, but nothing to right home about.

The pool looked ok, but not many places to sit or lie down as the people from the pool access rooms take them all up all day. Not much shade around the pool either.

Food here was also quite disappointing... Breakfast was not nice, very little choice and done on the cheap. Why use fake fruit drinks when real fruit and juice is so cheap and easy to get in Thailand? The boss even remarked when I was checking in that the breakfast buffet was great... But it wasn't at all. Ordered a lunch here too and was not nice.

Plenty of better places to stay in phuket.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    30
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed for one week at lae lay suites in the first week of January. Absolutely loved it! The rooms were lovely, we stayed in the executive suite on the fourth floor so we had a awesome view over kata. The staff are friendly and nothing is to difficult for them. Rooms are very clean and room service did a great job cleaning every day. Everyone is friendly it was great to see the owner walking around and talking to everybody, a very different vibe from other resorts. Pool area is lovely and the sun is around all day. We walked everywhere from there, down to Karon is about 15 minutes and Kata about 10.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcntu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights from Dec. 30th to Jan. 5th.
We had booked through their website (through WideDiscovery) and had booked for an Executive Suite Room and had also asked for a high floor, and this is exactly what we got.
Check-in went well. The mother of the owner speaks French and it's our first language so everything went smoothly for check-in.
Staff are somewhat limited in English but it didn't cause us any problems, there is always a way to understand each other. The owner (Jain - pronounced Tchiang) and his wife do speak some English and one of the two are almost always around.
Room was nice, spacious, with a little fridge section, nice balcony with nice view.
What we liked about this hotel is that is was not big, and it was a little outside of the busy spots. Though it took us about 15-20 minutes to walk to Kata Beach but it didn't bother us, and when we didn't feel like walking, we simply caught a Tuk-Tuk to the beach!!! It's located in between Kata and Karon Beach but is closer to Kata Beach.
Rooms were well cleaned everyday; beach/pool towels are provided; nice Thai Buffet breakfast (included) on the poolside.
Jain and his wife were so helpful and recommended some good restaurants (Baan Bang La (italian/Thai) and Seafood at Karon). The restaurant at the hotel was quite nice too as we ended up eating there a couple of nights when we didn't feel to go out.
New Year's Eve, Jain was waiting for us at 1AM with a lantern that we were able to lit up and let go in the sky. Nice of them, as we really wanted to do that!!!
You can rent scooters (we didn't) or arrange taxi/tuk-tuk transportation.
This hotel is new (only 6 months) so the tuk-tuk and taxi drivers don't all know it yet, so make sure you bring a map with you to show them exactly where it is for your drive back.
We really had a great time, and even had the chance to enjoy dinner with Jain on our last night and had a great time sharing stories!!! We will definitely go back, if - or when we go back on Phuket Island.
PS for those who like a less crowded, a bit more quiet beach, try Kata Noi Beach. It's really not far and is a lot less crowded than Kata or Karon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titotherio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This place is great. Helpful and friendly staff. Well appointed rooms. Not so sure why people rave about the pool access rooms, We had one on the level about and had a better view. Breakfast was a little limited but filled the spot. Location is a bit back from the beach but the view is worth it.

Room Tip: Anything in the 2nd building. I think they are all suites in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kintrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I had the best time staying at Lae Lay. We were treated like family. The staff was unbelievably friendly, helpful, and kind. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The rooms were very modern, the buffet was delicious, and the view was beautiful. Everything was within walking distance. The staff even woke up early the morning we left and gave us a send off! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivSF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just had a horrific customer service experience at Lae Lay suites. Upon checking in we were told that our reservation was only for two people rather than three and that we would be forced to pay a substantial surcharge on top of the already full price peak season rate that we had paid- not a good value whatsoever given the location and set up of the hotel. We explained that we had in fact put in for a three person room and this must have been a booking error but that nevertheless we were willing to make do with the accommodation available without an extra bed. While at first the owner agreed his wife interjected in Thai and then he changed his mind and said no. After what proved to be a very frustrating discussion we were forced to pay or be left without anywhere to stay late in the evening. The staff and especially the owners made it clear that they had no interest in understanding our point of view and no interest in any type of compromise, despite the fact that we weren't asking for anything. This has completely tainted our experience here and unfortunately I would have to disagree strongly with earlier comments that this is a nice family run business. We had high hopes but were highly disappointed in Lae Lay Suites. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: No rooms will accommodate larger groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Lae Lay Suites for just under two weeks and were treated like royalty during our stay.
Jan, Gift and their team are more than accommodating; going above and beyond to ensure all our needs were met. I had dental work done in Thailand and could eat very little - Jan, his mother and the head chef made sure I had plenty to eat, and they even gave me the receipe to make one of the yummy soups I had (I've tried to make it since coming home - it is no where near as good!) haha
We stayed in the pool access room "Sand." We would definitely recommend spending the extra money to stay in the pool access rooms, we were originally staying in a deluxe room but found them to be very small - especially the bathroom. Both room options are modern and very clean with basic tea, coffee making facilities.
The food is amazing - we recommend eating Thai - there is a menu but you can ask the chef and she will make everything and anything you want!
The hotel is very quiet, (exactly what we were looking for) well designed with a beautiful pool with ocean views. Karon and Kata Beach are just five minutes away on a scooter (you can hire a scooter at the hotel for a good price too). The staff speak little english but will call people to come and be a translater (this provided very entertaining at times!) ahhaha!
We would definitley recommend Lae Lay Suites if you are looking for a well situated, quiet, clean, modern hotel. We really enjoyed our time here and are already talking about going back over next year with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Spend the dollars and upgrade to the pool access room - you will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
Karon Village Hotel & Bungalow
1.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#106 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#68 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanida Garden Resort
Vanida Garden Resort
#58 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Tranquil Villa
Kata Tranquil Villa
#7 of 108 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Lay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Lay Suites

Property: Lae Lay Suites
Address: 214/18 Patak Rd. T.Karon | A.Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Lay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lae Lay Suites Lay Lay Suites provides 36 deluxe and executive suites accommodation with spectacular views over the lush green hills and sunset over Kata Bay…an easy 10-15 minutes discovery walk to beaches, shopping, banking and many other facilities to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lae Lay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lae Lay Suites Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing