We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + great service = Great stay!”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #87 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Me and my wife stayed and the Grand Sunset from Nov 23-26th. From the moment we arrived the friendly staff made us feel welcome. We were an hour early for check-in, no problem they were able to get us a room right away. The room made a strong first impression as it is very modern and attractive, including a wall-mounted flat screen TV for example. The walk to the beach is about 3 or 4 minutes, and there is a wide variety of restaurants nearby as well. In spite of the convenience it is just off the main road enough to be quite peaceful. The rooftop pool is really the icing on the cake, with gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains and the beach. The pool even lights up at night for a really nice effect. The only downside for me was the lack of a restaurant (not completed yet) which meant going out for breakfast and the hot water, which takes about 2-3 minutes to heat up (mildly annoying).

Good location, nice room, etc. but the real reason for recommending this hotel is the staff. They greet and smile at you every chance they get and they will really go out of their way to meet your needs. They went above and beyond for us every time we asked and were happy to do so. They even had our bags shipped to our next hotel for free, leaving us free to go out for lunch and enjoy the day. My wife can be quite demanding, but they were never put out and met her every request with a smile.

Thanks a lot for making our stay very pleasant!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbllflr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel from the 26th to 29th October and had the most amazing stay at this hotel. The only thing I regret is not booking my entire Thailand holiday at your hotel, but will definately do so the next time I plan to come to Thailand. I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you guys for making my stay very memorable with the most amazing manager and staff.

This hotel is very close to the beaches and some great restaurants. Also very close to the markets. Most of all this hotel has the best service I received in Thailand and extremely helpful staff members. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Phuket.

10/10 - Brilliant all round.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean and forest. Brilliant views from the pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridwan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hotel is clean and modern. Close to the beach with several resturants close by. Karon beach is less busy then either Kata or super touristy Patong and this hotel is great if you just want to enjoy the beach or the quiet rooftop pool. Be sure and rent a scooter to check out the rest of the island as taxis are over priced. Front desk people are very nice and are willing to help if they can. Hotel does not have real tour desk and you will get a much better price if you go to the tour company on the next street.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj2sink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Grand Sunset Hotel was a beautiful hotel at the perfect location for Karon Beach. Beach is a 2 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants, bars and spas also within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Karon Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sigma81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank monik86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#104 of 137 in Karon
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#76 of 137 in Karon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.5 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#58 of 137 in Karon
306 reviews
0 mi away
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £30 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sunset Hotel offer a contemporary retreat of beautifully decorated modern suites overlooking the beautiful Andaman Sea. A warm welcome from our friendly and caring staff awaits as your are swiftly transported to the sumptuous surroundings of your pristine suite- your home away from home. for the duration of your stay. 56 Rooms with 3 difference types, Studio Deluxe , size 25 Sq.m ,1 Bedroom Grand Deluxe , size 40 Sq.m. and 2Bedroom Suite all room with Balcony . Indulge yourself on your lavish Sky Lounge Pool Sky Bar, which offers a sanctuary of total relaxation an privacy in which to gently ease away the pressures and demanded of your day. Grand Sunset hotel is a fine Phuket hotel accommodation option for busy travelers and families alike. Additional travel throughout Phuket and Thailand is efforless, with proven and reliable tour operators, taxi's to pick up you from your front door and Phuket International airport all easily accessible from our prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing