We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly Staff”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #89 of 134 Hotels in Karon
1 review
“Great value and friendly Staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. Staff were always friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast had a good selection and changed daily.
Great location close to the beach and not noisy. Close to shops and night life.
We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanvido.michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    127
    44
    17
    14
See reviews for
56
149
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent 4 days in Phuket, and we stayed at Grand Sunset. The staff was absolutely wonderful. It was my birthday one of the days, and the staff brought me the most delicious chocolate cake with burning candles which just made my day! The rooftop pool is a perfect place to enjoy the sun, their breakfast is good and the staff will help you with everything. My girlfriend and I both loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilfchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel is well located near beautiful Karon Beach which is the best location is the best part of Phuket, but up a very long & drab laneway which was often a drag.
The air-conditioned room was clean well maintained but very small & basic, as was the TV selection. The free WiFi was most welcome. Beach views were minimal but we has a good view of the hinterland. The personal service was attentive, respectful, very helpful and faultless with none of the hard sells evident throughout Phuket. Rooftop pool was good, but the beach is the go here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good, but all offer the same amenity & aspect. Ensure you get a room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBARCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in Golden Sunset during off-season, end of May beginning of June. High surf prevented all but wading carefully into the warm waters, with warnings of the riptides. Nevertheless we enjoyed the beautiful beach, and picturesque surf immensely - Karon really does have a gorgeous beach. Back at the hotel, they have a beautiful rooftop pool, warm, clean - a lovely retreat where you can swim or bask in the sun, getting in the swimming you couldn’t do in the ocean as a result of the surf. The hotel and our room were basically immaculate, with only a strange smell in the hall to complain about on certain days. It did not carry over into the room, which was bright, with a nice view of a lovely green area, and even of the beach a short walk away from the small balcony. The room was a very comfortable size, airconditioning was very comfortable - all in all, we were very pleased with our week’s stay, and would recommend Golden Sunset to anyone. The staff were always very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The location of the hotel is also very good - it is back off the main beach road a couple hundred feet, within walking distance of numerous eating establishments of assorted varieties. We were extremely pleased with our choice of this hotel, and would love to return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Vientiane, Laos
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

With 3 nights experience in Phuket, we stayed in Grandsuset Hotel. It was a warmly greeting from all staffs out there which feel like a place for your vacation. the breakfast is really good, we all enjoyed it so much. When you woke up, so you can listen to the sound of the sea and its start your day in Phuket. A hotel is 3 minutes away from Karon beach, so you didn't waste your time travel from your place and soak yourself in the awesome sea. the room, however, if you afraid of white that easy dirty, but it's always keep cleaning. It will be great, if there are some spare slippers that we can use to take a walk along the beach (in case of an emergency). But most of all the rooftop pool is so private and we can experience watching a beautiful sunset while relaxing in the pool. Thank you so much for a warmly welcome and we gonna come back to visit Grandsunset Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanvisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Thankyou so much for a awsome 6 nights. The room was lovely. 2 bedrooms. Great breakfast, good proximatey to beach and shops restaurants etc. Staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating. I would definately come back to this resort...Karen

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our first time in Phuket. We stayed in Grand Sunset Hotel for 5 nights. (30th June - 5th July 2012). Greeted warmly and served with a welcome drink upon arrival. Reserved for a deluxe room but surprisingly they upgraded us to Grand Deluxe room at no extra charge. One of the staff, Pladao, took our luggage and sent us to our room. Room is nice, comes with a balcony & separate living room. Its not very big but its spacious for two person and cozy. The air-con is working great. We do not need to wait long for the room to be cool. Great rain shower in the bathroom.

Staffs are all very helpful & friendly & TRUSTING. To ensure communications and instructions given to the tour agencies for our island and land tour are very clear, the staffs from Grand Sunset made all the calls for us. Pladao made most of e calls for us.

They have a permanent night staff, Jauhari. He's able to converse well in Malay as well so I reckon it will be very convenient for guests who are more comfortable to converse in malay.
Jauhari has also been very helpful. One of e night we were unable to sleep, we called him and asked if the tv in our room installed with DVD player. He said it is not but we can get the DVD player from the reception at same time we could choose which movie we want to watch from the rack. They have quite a number of movies there.

If you feel like staying indoor, you may want to hang around at the hotel lobby as they have a nice seating area. You may also play some board games or do your reading. Or perhaps, have a great time at the pool located on the rooftop. Nice sunset view. Spectacular.
May also consider going for massage at Normala or dine in at the restaurants, all located just few doors away from the hotel. There's Subway restaurant, tailors, tour agencies and mini-marts nearby as well.

To rent a bike?? Its just located on the next street. 3mins walk. The beach is about 5-7 minutes walk. The laundry service from the shop nearby is 45baht per kg. Located just opposite the bike rental shop.

We feels that this hotel charter to our every needs.

- Rooftop pool
- Nice sea view of Karon beach from the pool
- Nice sunset view
- Near to the beach (Karon beach)
- Near to massage place (you may also do your mani-pedicure/waxing/hair braiding etc)
- Near to eateries/mini-marts/Movenpicks/Other high-end restaurants/Subway/money-changer
- Nice & clean room
- Rain shower in bathroom
- DVD player and movies
- Free wifi
- Great friendly service from staffs (Very service-oriented)
- Very kind and helpful staffs
- Very convenient location
- Only 10mins to Patong beach (Via taxi) 300 baht
- They serves nice buffet breakfast as well

Special thanks to Pladao and Jauhari.

Pladao, thanks for making the birthday surprise for my wife worked.

Room Tip: Do not worry about choosing a good room. Upon check in, the staffs will ensure you have the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohana_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 134 in Karon
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#98 of 134 in Karon
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#100 of 134 in Karon
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#93 of 134 in Karon
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#113 of 134 in Karon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing