We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thailand Experience at the Phunawa”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #77 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 5 January 2014

]Just got back from Thailand stayed at the Phunawa hotel we did expect to stay at the Dewa hotel but it changed its name and forgot to let arriving guests know,so on the morning we arrived we drove about for what seemed an age .
I travelled with a friend and expected to have a either a separate room or twin beds .We got an oversized king size bed in one room even though there was a room next door that was kept locked so we didn't use the other bed .
Our suite was spacious and well equipped .it had a fridge freezer cooker and television .
All of the hotel staff were very good and respectful from management to pool boy.What ever was asked of them they would do their upper most to oblige The breakfast had a good selection of foods and beverages.Again staff were on hand to assist. We stayed in a corner room (room1111) and for me it was the right location for us . I would recommend this hotel and I would definately stay there again.Thank you to the staff of the Phunawa for assisting in my trip to Thailand a wonderful experience .Guests who stayed in room 1111

Room Tip: Make sure that you stipulate what kind of room you require such as twin? double .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Value Client

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Phunawa Resort Karon. We are very happy to read that your stay had been a success and we are most grateful for the compliments you have accorded us, which is most motivating for our team.
We hope you will find time to visit Phuket again in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings.
Note: We make the Phunawa sign board at the main road done On February 2014.
Warm wishes from all of us at Phunawa Resort Karon Phuket.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a great stay in Phunawa!
Service: Very good, even in busy New Year's time. Staff spoke english very well (we had some trouble in other places in Thailand)
Food: Breakfast was very good
Room: huge! There were two rooms (we only used one), two bathrooms and complete kitchen amenities (we didn't use). Great option for families.
Spa: We wanted to use it, but it is currently in renovation
Location: 10min walking to Karon Beach (great beach!) which is very reasonable. Very quiet place, which was a plus for us. However, many taxi drivers have trouble finding the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCapelao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Value Client

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Phunawa Resort Karon. We are very happy to read that your stay had been a success and we are most grateful for the compliments you have accorded us, which is most motivating for our team.
We hope you will find time to visit Phuket again in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings.
Note: We make the Phunawa sign board at the main road done On February 2014.
: Spa open already.
Warm wishes from all of us at Phunawa Resort Karon Phuket.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed for a week with my wife and adult son in one of their 2 bedroom Jr family suites that was poolside. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable....and included all the amenities of a kitchen (which we never used). We opted for the inclusive breakfast package, as the property is situated back from the beach by a 10 minute (approximate) walk up the hill. We specifically wanted that, to get away from the crowds and hustle and bustle on the street....and no...I DONT want another tuk-tuk, massage or suit!!! HAH...( you`ll catch on quick, if you`re planning your "first" trip to Thailand). The staff were extremely eager to please and were very pleasant. As the proprty is located on a hillside, there are considerable steps to be encountered with-in, so if you have limited or impeded mobility, this perhaps may not be the place for you. Am a little disappointed they wouldn`t match AirAsia`s website price (which they said as well as advertised they do)...but it wasn`t worth the fight,....to ruin my holiday. On Dec 6th , i believe, they again re-branded this property to the PHUNAWA RESORT. I would come back, and recommend to all...this reasonably priced property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saskatoonbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Value Guest,


Thank you very much for your feed back, we are pleased from your comment our resort, we are delight welcome you to Phunawa Resort. ( new name) In future assistant please do not hesitate to inform us, we are pleased to assist you. The value of your feedback we will share to our managment team for improvement our service.

May I wishing you Happy New Year, All The best to you and your family.


Kind regards,

Heng KH.
The Management Teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was excellent to visit in this place. My friend recommend this Hotel and it was ''AMAZING'' how huge rooms we had. We feels like freedom our kids had own bedroom and we had own room with my wife, one of our kids have food allerci and it was easy to made private food for her, and we enjoy many evening in Hotel restaurant and I really enjoy this ''Green curry soup with chicken'' It's my one of favourite food in this holiday. Test and ENJOY.. THANK's FOR TO KITCHEN!!!
´´PHUNAWA HOTEL'' is excellent choose, for to people appreciate good service, silent, good swimming pool and kids likes a lot jacuzzi, some rooms you can enjoy nice KARON SUNSET to sea, AMAZING rooms wih all equipment!!! WE will coming back 100%

Room Tip: All rooms are suite, we had family 2 bedroom it was perfect for us 2+ 3, we take one extra bed. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year and it was dewa then now it has changed hands and has got even better.The staff here are really exceptional and this time we have our kids 2,5 and 14 and they just love all the staff. We have our daily walks to karon and if our 5 year old can handle it we reckon everyone can.The only problem we have is getting the kids out of the pool to go out. The food here is great and also a good price. We would highly recommend to everyone and would like to thank Mr Lek and his staff for a great time and we will enjoy our next three weeks left of our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank pete7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

friendly staff along with peaceful surroundings make this one special. you are in the middle of lush green forest on one side and can see the sun setting from your terrace on Karon beach.. We stayed in two bedroom suite and though a part of resort was under repair work, we could hardly notice any noise.

Room Tip: top floor has roof access with private jacuzzi and nice sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashoksuyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittiya S, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Mr.Ashok,

Thank you very much for your spent your holiday with us, we are really happy your holiday time increase the value, We hope in future Karon Sovereign All Suite Resort, is the one you will choice for next visite.

Have a pleasant time.

Heng Kh.
Direcotor of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The location is set off the main road, maybe a 5 minute walk to the nearest 7-eleven. This is a good so you don't get traffic noise. The staff were absolutely fantastic and the restaurant staff were so friendly we ate there every night. The rooms were nice and theres a nice area to relax by the pool. There isn't too much in the way of shopping in Karon and its about 350 baht to get a taxi to Patong. Karon is a much nicer place than Patong, cleaner and the beach is nice, clean and quiet. Karon is a nicer place for couples. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcheyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Princess Seaview Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £34 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing