We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #75 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
“Best Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Phunawa Resort is not far from Patong beach and it is very quiet place, staff are very

friendly, helpful and cooperative, Phunawa Resort is good for families looking for relaxing

Phunawa Resort is very good for the price

Room Tip: Good Apartment for 5 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohd-AlHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    105
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
164
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Phunawa few day ago,this is our first visit at Phuket. Services here are excellent, staffs are friendly, polite and very helpful. The allow us to check in early and check out late with FOC. Pools are clean , v really relax here ! Food in hotel are delicious and price also acceptable. My family and me really enjoyed , we ll come back again !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Right here!
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in Mar last year, my husband, our son and myself. It was simply beautiful - the service, the location, the hotel, rooms, food, cleanliness...everything! To be very honest you can get more delicious food outside the hotel, but breakfast was sufficient for us. The rooms very spacious and comfortable. The service was amazing, as is anywhere in Phuket actually! Loved this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeingUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at the Phunawa in March 2014, on our first visit to Phuket. We booked it as it was the daily deal on Expedia, and was too good to pass up!

We arrived at the hotel all hot from the weather, and were pleasantly surprised with the cold cocktail and towels we were presented with - what a great start to our stay at the Phunawa!

We then walked through the beautifully landscaped grounds and pool to our room, and another "wow" when we walked in! We had a beautiful, spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite, with a patio overlooking the pool. A full-sized fully equipped kitchen completed the suite. Beds were very comfortable, air conditioning worked great, and shower flow was good.

Prior to arriving, I was a bit concerned that the hotel was not located on the beach in Karon, but that turned out to be unwarranted. The hotel is only about an 8 minute walk to Karon town, and being away from the crowds was actually quite nice. We found the walk to town to be very safe (even at night), passing by several other hotels on the way.

Thai food is simply delicious, and we had some very good meals on the main street in Karon, and also at the Pacific Club Resort, which is the hotel located next door to the Phunawa,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We travelled with our 6 month old and 2 and a half year old. After having a terrible experience at another hotel we arrived to a fantastic welcome the room, a grand 2 bedroom suite was amazing, modern clean with individual air con in every room. Cots for the kids were great. The pool was perfect for kids with parts that were shallow enough for our 2 year old to play and stand up. Roof top bar was great to chill out. The staff couldn't do enough for us and would entertain the kids at dinner so we could enjoy our meals.
The resort is close enough to the centre of karon to walk to and to travel into patong to shop is not a massive expense.
All together it was a great experience at very reasonable cost. The new owners are really trying to ensure you get the full Thailand service experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Mr. Darryl,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at info@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Siriporn Eardmak
Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fabulous location above Karon Beach. Brilliant room - we had a 2 bedroom Grand Suite which has kitchen and stove & microwave and coffee maker etc etc just like home, which with our 5 year old made it just perfect to enjoy the big balcony and literally 12 steps to the pool and not an imposition to hang around the room when it was the right thing to do - being in the room was a pleasure in itself so to speak.

Staff were brilliant and friendly, but here's where it slips a little, very/totally inflexible. When we asked for the beach drop off to drop us literally 500 metres up the road (we were the only people in the tuk-tuk) the answer was a flat NO! 500 metres in the hot sun across two busy roads with an active inquisitive 5 year old versus being dropped where we wanted to be where there is a safe stopping/drop-off zone - you would have won a friend for life :-)

The staff however were very good in dealing with the chap who seemed to think that it was quite acceptable to wear ONLY a bathroom towel to breakfast (& I mean ONLY a towel and it was very obvious and somewhat nauseating) and were brilliant with our 5 year old and his "special" requests.

A slight let down was car rental..albeit car rental is advertised, on the 3 occasions I tried to use the hotel service there was no car available with no options offered. In fact it was pretty much "tough luck"...we found cars on every occasion pretty easily. May I suggest you get a different or more car rental contacts.

If you are lucky enough to be in one of the (in my opinion) better located rooms at the bottom of the resort (furthest from reception for perspective) you will have the annoyance of the car park below being the staff "smoking" area which I have no objection to except for the laughing and shouting at 9pm and later - perhaps when you are trying for a romantic dinner on the balcony after the kids are in bed. Just an observation and easily fixed I'd suggest but a detraction from an almost perfect family resort nonetheless - & this is a family oriented resort, make no mistake about that.

One other last little observation, do you think that you could possibly change the breakfast buffet every day or two? It was exactly the same for 7 days - adding peas to the baked beans (!!!) on one day does not count as a difference I'm afraid. Do not mistake this as a complaint about quality or quantity of breakfast or the attentiveness of the staff etc. This is simply a suggestion as breakfast for me became boring to the point that I couldn't face it again on the last day and did my own thing.

Room service, albeit a tad slow-ish once, was very good in terms of quality and quantity and was actually very reasonably priced which was a refreshing surprise versus many of the other resorts/accommodation we have stayed at.

All-in-all however, one of the best places we have stayed at and will certainly go back. If you have kids, totally recommended with TV's, DVD player, great pools, a small yet functional kids play room, plenty of parking for your rental car and the place certainly never felt at all crowded or over capacity at any time even when we knew that the resort was likely quite full over the Easter break.

If you have never been to Karon Beach but are curious, it is about 12 to 15 mins in a Tuk tuk (350 Baht) south of Patong, the water is much cleaner albeit it little rougher as it is open sea, with all of the beach amenities of Patong and none of the sleaze behind plus is a much wider and cleaner beach for the kids to play on.......and a day or night out in Patong is just a short Tuk tuk/song-tail ride away - this being our 3rd stay in Karon both with and without kids.

Genuinely happy without reservation to recommend Phunawa to all of our friends - I'll just tell them where to get a car from.

Room Tip: Try for a ground floor room at the "bottom" of the resort - furthest from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our stay at the Phunawa Resort was à very nice experience. À Junior suite with à private teracce on roof, including à pool/jaccuci made our dags, and evenings, pleasant. Wonderful view over the Karon beach.
Nice staff and the resort was a bit fr.o.m. the busy city. A 15 min walk to the center was perfect.
Hotel Transport to beach was perfect.
We rekommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite on 3rd floor. The best one is no 1531.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#13 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#52 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing