We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #36 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and price!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My best friend and I celebrated our 30th birthday in Phuket and went back and forth on whether to stay in a nice Spa resort or just a hotel and were sooooo glad we chose the hotel. The location was perfect. Walking distance to the beach, food, shopping, everything. The resort was very clean. AC was wonderful. Staff was friendly and the front desk were extremely helpful with booking activities and answering dumb touristy questions. The breakfast was included in our package and was perfect for a nice light meal. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel one night and it too was good. I can't say anything bad about this hotel. It's not fancy, but at $40 a night we were just looking for comfortable and clean. We spent all of our time riding elephants, scuba diving, hiking, etc. so we just wanted a place to sleep. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Wanderlust11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    355
    126
    25
    18
See reviews for
168
376
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here in July of last year for 3 nights. Booked hotel online with good recommendation. Hotel looked all right from the exterior, but soon discovered that the interior was old and in need of updating. Karon is located about 1.5 hours from the airport, so the ride was long and tiring.

The hotel building is on a hill, so those who have trouble with stairs/steps will struggle. Definitely not child-friendly, even though the hotel is billed as being a "family-friendly" place to stay. Could not locate any elevators either, but apparently some were available. The layout of the hotel was confusing and amenities were difficult to track down, even after instructions from staff.

Upon entering my room, the air-conditioning was off and the room was musty and warm. However, it didn't take long for the air-conditioning to do its job. The beds were creaky and sounded like they were about to break from even the most subtle of movements. The floors were a bit dirty and in need of at least a sweep, but that sort of thing is bearable.

The front hotel staff seemed well-trained and the room staff seemed friendly and accommodating. My one observation was that the staff break room must have been located near mine because there was always plenty of laughter and talking late at night. Went to check the source of the noise and saw a group of cleaning staff gathered underneath the deck of my room. Easily forgiven.

The food in the restaurant was nice and the service was welcoming and friendly. Tried the room service on my last night and found that the burger meat was a bit undercooked and the spaghetti a bit overcooked. Not fine-dining but was not expecting it to be. Passable. The prices of the hotel dining was okay, but very expensive compared to the cheaper options nearby. Karon Village is less than a 5 minute walk away and is a street full of restaurants, pubs and bars. Great place to hang out.

The beach is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel if one of the pools was not to your satisfaction. Having said that, the hotel pool was fine. The hotel does have 5 pools to choose from, depending on the "height" of your hotel room. Saves you going all the way to the bottom level if you are staying near the top.

There was a heavy storm one night while I was there, and discovered the electricity had gone out during the night. Slept with the air-conditioning on and woke up in a sweat. Happened one other time during my stay, but the second time, the power outage lasted only briefly. As I've said previously, the hotel needs to be updated, including it's electrical wiring and emergency backup power supply.

If Karon gets boring, grab a tuk-tuk (cheaper than a taxi) and head over to Kata, which is only a few minutes ride south of Karon. Plenty of activities, shopping and dining there too. Patong is about 45 minutes away and over the hill, if you are seeking a more vibrant and popular tourist setting. Patong is fine but it's not for people with young families in my opinion.

Room Tip: Choose one of the deluxe rooms as they seem to be more comfortable and roomier. For snacks, avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al_Loh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungälv
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 10 days at Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort, and we had a fantastic stay. The room where very fresh and the cleaning where done in a very good way. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good and you have a great selection of both western and thai courses to choose from. If you have breakfast at 9:00-10:00 the restaurant will be crowded and you have to way in line to get seated, but we never had to wait for long in that queue and if you come earlier (like you will if you go on sightseeing) there we never any problems.

We lived on the fourth level of the hotel and I have read some comments that it is a tough walk up the stairs, but really.... that is only a problem for a disabled person. For some afternoons we stayed in the hotel pool area and it was easy to find a sunbed, but I can belive that it is more crowded earlier in the day.
We lived in a family room with four beds and we really had space enough for the whole family.

The hotel is approximately 300 meters from the beach, that was close enough for me, on the way down to the beach you find a seven-eleven store so that was quite conveniente as well.

All in all, we have a great stay and I can really recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels are probably more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndersJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I booked the best western in Phuket because I thought that because it was a chain it was going to be a relatively good stay. However within the first 2hrs of staying there I saw a rat by the pool, our room's air conditioning was leaking and I slipped and fell and to top it off I couldn't have a shower without the whole bathroom flooding. I was extremely disappointed in the room that we had been given, because to me they put us in the worst part of the hotel, next to people who actually live here. The walk to our room was yucky and old and you pass by fans and you think you are being lead to a dungeon. After I fell and couldn't even wash the conditioner out of my hair I decided that I'd had enough and complained. When we complained they said that the manger wasn't in but they upgraded us to a MUCH nicer room like we were originally promised when I made the booking! The next morning we went to complain to the manager who we recognized from the day before, but the girl who served us said she wasn't in till 9:30. Came back at 9:30 only to find out that the manager was in fact the girl we recognized when we approached the counter before. She was apologetic and nice to us, but there was no need for her to hide and lie and tell us that she would not be in till 9:30 when she was serving at the desk! All in all when we were giving our nicer room it was a reilef because we were about to pack and leave for a different hotel! I have traveled a fair but and NEVER have I been so upset and disappointed about where I have stayed! The buffet is great here though, and you are in perfect walking location to the beach and Karon central shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbySac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent a few nights here during Christmas. The overall experience was partially just ok and partially good. The room was quite small and dark with insufficient light in the bathroom. The aircondition appliance was quite noisy and did not cool the room very well, probably because the entrance door could not be tightly closed so the heat came in from outside. The room looked quite old and worn and could do with some renovation.
The hotel is built on a hillside, which gives nice views if you walk up (or take the lift) to the upper section, where the third pool is located. The other two pools are down on the first level, which was basically just outside our room, very convenient. The pools are not huge, but large enough for swimming. We did not have any problems finding available sunbeds by the pool in the mornings, but if you come later they may all be occupied. Although the hotel is near a busy road, we were not disturbed by traffic noise, probably because the first level of the hotel is one level above the road because of the hillside location.
In the reception area there is a computer where guests can use internet for free, although the time per person is limited. The wifi connection in the room was ok, but could have been better. Breakfast was quite good, with yoghurt, cereal, bread, cheese, juice, fresh fruit and some cooked options.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

During a previous visit, in 2011, we met a couple who were staying there and thought the place was really nice. While we waited to share a cab from their hotel at one point, we had a quick squiz and it was very clean and the pool areas were lovely.
We decided to stay our first week in Karon this year (2012) as our friends there were getting married and the bar they own and run is only a short stroll from the Ocean Resort.
The entry foyer was spotless, and the reception crew were courteous and efficient. It was odd, however, that there was an Occidental working the reception. Very rare. Anyway, the lovely Thai girl with teeth braces was particularly helpful as she offered to contact the airport to see how our baggage claim was progressing – Virgin Australia had failed to put our suitcase on the plane– and her consulting with the lost baggage counter at the airport was a great time-saver and we showed our appreciation appropiately.
We opted for a Ocean View Deluxe room, which was on the 3rd Floor, and the views were nice out over one of the three pool are to Karon Beach.
The room was spacious, clean and had all the appropriate bits and pieces expected from a 3.5 – 4-star hotel.
It had a flat-panel TV with cable and the standard complimentary two bottles of water per day, coffee and tea-making facilities and an in-house safe.
The bed was ENORMOUS. If there is such things as an Emperor bed, this would be a Despotic Overlord bed. Even my wife couldn’t annexe so much of the bed that I had more than double of my normal ½ foot of sleeping room! It was nice and firm and was made up each day.
Another bonus was the supply of razors, toothbrushes, toothpaste and so on which were in the quite nice bathroom. As we had no toiletries with us – thanks Virgin - it was another weight off our shoulders after 18 hours’ travel. The only negative about the bathroom was the shower. It is over a quite high-walled standard bath so if you have short legs you’d have to climb into the bath like climbing over a fence. Carolyn and I didn’t have that problem as we are 6’1” and 5’9”tall. Children may have difficulty. A safety tip: use one of the hand-towels on the floor of the bath when you shower as, when you try to step out you can slip.
Room service was quick, decent sized, supremely tasty and appropriately priced. From memory, the service stopped at 22:00 during our stay.
People have mentioned the stairs and you can’t write a review on this place without mentioning them. There are lots of them. There are also elevators. Admittedly, we didn’t go to the other parts of the hotel or use the minimart so we don’t know how many elevators there are or where they are situated apart from the one we used. We had two lots of stairs to climb: one to the first pool area, then another (which also had a ramp for suitcases etc) to the lift which went up to the fourth (top) floor. If you are infirm or recovering from a knee or lower-leg injury, this place is not for you.
Having said that, the Best Western Ocean Resort n Karon Beach is all we needed. Somewhere that was clean, had a comfortable bed, and with pleasant staff and surrounds. It’s not the cheapest hotel in the area and that has some benefits: it has a slighter older clientele which leads to less noise from party goers returning at 0300 from a large one.
All in all, it advertises what it delivers: 3.5 – 4 stars.
If you are on your first trip to a country, and are reluctant to try “local” hotels, a best bet is to stay in a chain hotel. In this case, the Best Western delivers the basics without great pomp and will generally be a good choice for the seasoned or rookie traveller not looking for too many frills.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View rooms only require a few stairs to be navigated then it's elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheOracleofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent two weeks here on a special deal from a German tour operator. We were picked up from the airport which worked very well and brought to the hotel, which is set on a well-maintained compound with 3 nice pools.
We had booked a 'superior' room which had ocean view and a huge bed; the only thing that took away from that view was the ugly 'lagoon' before it (see picture). The complimentary water bottles and the coffee and tea in the room were a nice touch.
The rooms were nice, airconditioned, and the TV had lots of international channels; however, at times, they could have been more thorougly cleaned (under the bed, for instance).
Breakfast was O.K., the selection was alright but didn't change at all in the two weeks we were there, which made it boring after a while. The quality of the fruit was not great, unfortunately.
Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel; In our opinion, with a few small changes, this hotel could receive a better star rating than it has at the moment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#14 of 322 in Patong
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#76 of 134 in Karon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort

Property: Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing