We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value if you can stand the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is right on the main road through Karon Beach so be sure to ask for a room higher up. the rooms are a good standard for the price and the beds are comfortable! pools are nice with plenty of sunbeds snd some shade. There is a handy laundry room with a top loader and a dryer on 4th floor and a lift to get up there. Close to the shops and restaurants, this is a good choice if you want to be in the centre but not if you want any peace and quiet! Crossing the road to the beach is a nightmare so pick a place where you can see both ways easily!
We didnt have inclusive breakfast so paid for it one day but not worth the money. Fine if its included though.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road higher up but not too high as lots of steps.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here last week. Our room was on the 4th level and the pool was right below us. The staff did help to bring our luggage as there are many stairs here,even with the elevator. Our room was large and it was nice to be able to get a few English language TV stations, The pools on the second level do have poolside service. The towel exchange has bizarre hours...9-5 so if you want a towel early or come back after a tour you are out of luck. The breakfast that is included was very good. We ate dinner here a few times and the food was not as good as the restaurants around the hotel but was fine. The free wifi in room was very helpful. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The property could use updating and we were shocked when we wanted to do laundry at 8 pm to find the laundry room closed. The facility needs to enable guests to do laundry at anytime as those of us with early morning flights might like to have clean laundry. The hotel is close to the beach , restaurants and shops. The 7-11 is right next door as well. There is money exchange in lobby and a real plus for us was the very large scale in the lobby so we couyld weigh luggage beforew leaving so we could avoid a hassle at the airport if we were overweight. The view from our room was very nice and I love that umbrellas are provided for those unexpected downpours.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean but if you do not like stairs ask for a lower level.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlover710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I imagine in university hospitality management programs, there is a case study of what happens to a hotel as time progresses and the surrounding community develops. At some point, the entire hotel infrastructure needs to be re-furnished, not merely redecorated or expanded.

The Ocean Resort must have been a five star resort when it was built in the 70's or 80's. Now, the restrooms seem small, the Asian-style showers seem messy, the way-finding incomprehensible and the Wi-Fi hopelessly over-burdened except before 7 AM. The property sprawls up a hillside, but there really are no ramps. (Also, an odor of rotting food seems to permeate the rooms toward the back of the hotel in the mornings.)

All that said, service is wonderful, the bedrooms are large and face the ocean, the breakfast buffet is crowded, but the food is good, and the pools look inviting. Here is an example of the service: I needed a travel documented printed in color, but they only had a b/w printer. But somehow, when I returned to my room two hours later, there was my color copy! Given the price, this remains a good deal!

So what would the university class suggest to improve things? (1) Re-number the rooms, (2) provide a property map, (3) beef up the WiFi and (4) eliminate the odor. Then, start razing sections of the property and build new rooms. But during reconstruction, keep paying all those friendly staff so when the new hotel is completed, they will still be giving great service!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan_Yucaipa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had read the mixed reviews before arrival but was still disappointed in this hotel. On arrival we were taken to rooms on the third level. To get to the room you had to walk down a passage that had the outside units from air-conditioning of the rooms above which created both noise and heat, which hit you in the face. As the bathroom windows did not have glass, but did have a flywire screen in the window the rooms were very noisy. The views from the balcony were lovely but the room needed to be upgraded, it was very tired, but clean We asked to be moved which happened the next day. This room was on level 1. Basically the same, without the lovely view but also without the stairs (still had 50 stairs to get to the lobby). We had issues two days in a row with no hot water, not fixed when we left. Breakfast was good but you did have to pick your times or you had to queue. Plenty of variety both western and Thai but they could not cook bacon. Staff were helpful and pleasant. There are issues with people leaving towels on the lounges by the pool and also by guests playing games such as frisbee and volleyball in the pools, did not care who they splashed or inconvenienced. Easy walk to a lovely beach (this beach is dangerous with rips in monsoon season) and to Karon shops. I felt it was expensive but it was high season, might be better value in low season. I would only rate this hotel as 3 star (worst hotel of our trip.) Staff did their best but it does need a major upgrade (especially the air conditioners). Not sure what can be done about the stairs they are everywhere and it is not possible to avoid the stairs as about 100 steps up to the lift (if you can find it). Karon was much nicer and quieter than Patong. Expensive to get a taxi to Patong set price 400 bht lowest we got was 350 bht and prices of goods much more than Bangkok so at times we felt we were being overcharged because we were tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juss83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Best Western is just about 5-7 minutes walk from Karon beach, which is beautiful - clear water and not too crowded. It's also hardly 10 minutes walking from all the restaurants and pubs at Pataka. I went there in February with my husband and we loved the hotel. The staff was very sweet and helpful (particularly the evening batch!) and even upgraded us to a better room.

The breakfast buffet was lavish and had enough vegetarian options as well. They have a coffee machine which is on the house for guests all day and I have to say, I loved their cafe mocha.

The only problem with the hotel is that it has a lot of steps so just be prepared for that. But it's a lovely property and for its price, it's great value for money.

Room Tip: I recommend the sea-facing rooms on the fourth floor. While the balcony is shared, it's huge so...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShubhdaKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is one of the best of Karon, phuket hotels. It is very near to Ocean ( may be 100 - 200 meters ). rooms are big and very neat and clean too. balconies give the best view of Ocean. You can have the Sunset view by sitting in your balconies. I enjoyed this hotel. It peovide the best service for the money you spend here.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony to experience Ocean as well as sunset view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prateek29052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, before moving off touring the islands. A great location only a 5 minute stroll through a local market to the main town. The staff and especially the porter were all very pleasant, the porter did a great job carrying our cases up all the steps to level 4. The steps are the main concern with this hotel as they are plentiful if above level 2. The pools, of which there are 3 were nice enough, unfortunately there is a habit of putting towels out, (during the night I think) to reserve sun beds, I practise I detest. It would not be so bad if these people actually got to the sun beds before lunch! Our room was very large and well appointed. The balcony was again huge with lovely views over the sea. A nice hotel, however get a room on the lower levels and set your alarm early to get a sunbed!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#20 of 328 in Patong
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#28 of 135 in Karon
1,848 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Karon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £33 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing