We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful private beach. Huge grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Enjoyed a marvelous 4 day stay at Le Meridien Phuket last week (Dec 2013). It is a huge resort

Pool - The pool, or rather pools are a prime feature of the resort, and cater to everyone. There is a rectangular pool for serious swimmers, small circular one for kids, a part for general relaxation, deeper areas where diving classes are held (The resort offers free 2hr diving lessons for beginners). All the restaurants (4) have poolside dining.

Beach - Private beach. Fine sand. Blue waters. Shallow beach for long - Perfect for swimming and enjoying. Resort offers canoes, hobie cats.

Service - Service is good. People are friendly - room service and at restaurants. Upgrades, free wifi was offered, me being an SPG gold member.

Location - A bit far from Patong. Ride to the main area is 200Baht each way.

Restaurants - Good food, prices a bit high. Bar and beach bbq restaurants the best. Breakfast buffet good. Can do with more options in food.

Grounds - Huge - 4 tennis courts, archery arena, outdoor chess, and a lot of things we couldnt even explore

To sum up - excellent beach, lots of activities go on throughout the day, good for both families and couples, though people wanting privacy might want to stay away during the high season (Dec)

Room Tip: Ocean view with terrace - choose higher floors - 4th floor ocean view is obstructed by palm trees. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear 'Debdutta'

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly approve of the resort's wide range of recreational facilities. Might I add that all non-motorised facilities are free for guests. I know that our Food & Beverage team regularly conduct visits of dining venues outside the resort for price and quality benchmarking and do note that our prices are competitive among restaurants in other similar category hotels on the island. Thanks for your appreciation of the secluded beach next to the hotel and our associates' service. We look forward to having you at Le Meridien Phuket again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We love this resort sooooo much are almost reluctant to say just how wonderful it is just in case it is fully booked the next time we try to plan a visi. We come twice a year usually February and October to break up our cold English winter! We have been doing this for the last seven years! We love the peace, the facilities, spa, gym, pools etc. Patong is five minutes away in a Tuk Tuk for 300 baht, also hotel cars will take you for same price. You can peruse numerous art galleries and have your own portrait done! Another hotel 'secret' is the nightly entertainment, fantastic musicians and dancers, also disco in the cellar bar lePatong a few nights per week. You can have a wonderful holiday without leaving the resort. Also hire a scooter and explore, wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: Garden views quiet, pool rooms can also see the sea! Junior Suites have full sea view and more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear 'Jean B'

Thanks for the love :) We sincerely appreciate your confidence and that you choose to stay with us whenever you are on Phuket. We're happy to know that we reciprocate your support with enjoyable stays each time. Thank you again for your kind appraisal. We look forward to your next visit and all of us wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Just checked out after 2 nights stay. There are three great things about this resort: private beach, private beach, and private beach :). OK. The green cascading roof is spectacular. For a resort of its age in Phuket they do a good job maintaining thanks to a recent renovation. The deluxe ocean view room, part of the renovation, is modernized and well appointed. Though the shower drainage was very slow and flooding the bath room whenever we used the waterfall. It is also true the walls are thin. Thankfully our next doors were responsible so we got quiet nights. we heard the deluxe garden view rooms have not been updated and so quite dumpy. pay extra for the ocean view because it is worth it. One major issue with this resort is its isolation from Patong - at least 4km away. There are 5 different international cuisine restaurants inside the resort. we tried 3 and they were all decent but of course carrying hefty price tags. so to eat something more local and reasonably priced it is a hassle. After 3 nights at the crowded Karon area, this resort felt like heaven. The private cove was quiet and sprinkled with resort guests only. We were able to really enjoy the warm, clear, teal colored water and great waves that Phuket beach is known for. Though due to its location, 2 nights were just enough for us. Taxi a few times a day to get to and from the resort would have been a pain if staying longer that that. For this reason I cannot give it 5 stars.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nguyenntvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear 'nguyenntvu'

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. I'm happy to learn that you too liked the secluded beach and the privacy it provides. Thank you for mentioning the room renovations we completed in October this year. In fact during each phase of this year's renovations we also performed soft refurbishments on our Deluxe Garden View and Deluxe Pool View Rooms. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the room you booked and stayed in. Our F&B team regularly performs quality and price inspections and we firmly believe that the prices in our dining venues are reasonable and competitive compared to other restaurants in other 4 and 5 star hotels on the island. Many thanks for your time in posting your review. I hope you would choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this resort with 2 families and 5 kids so being kid friendly was a prime consideration. Le Meridien did not disappoint with lots of things to keep kids occupied. Huge pools, gorgeous beach with soft, rock-free sand, kids club, mini golf, even a baby elephant coming out to play! Our only disappointment was there was no free shuttle to the nearby town. If you wanted to go even for a bite to eat or to walk around, you would have to pay about 1000 baht (us$35) round trip. Ended up eating at the hotel a lot which had pretty good food but not great Thai food. Overall great family experience especially if you just wanted to stay at a resort most of the time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear 'Ken C'

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket and thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know that your family and your companion's enjoyed your stay. We certainly take pride in being able to provide wonderful experiences to each guest and our child-friendly venues and services do receive positive feedback regularly. I regret that you did not find the resort's location completely convenient. It certainly is a matter of choice between a secluded beach or being right where Patong or Karon is located. For us we do believe that we reasonably offer both in some way as we are only 5 kms away from both popular districts. Many of our guests do consider the secluded beach right next to the hotel a respite from these areas which tend to get busy and crowded. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your return to Phuket.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked an ''Ocean View High Floor Deluxe Room'', upon arrival got a 2nd floor a room facing the pool, complained, I was told this was a junior suite!! Cheating…

I asked for the room I booked, I was told they were fully booked that night, may be next day.Next day came I got a room on the ground floor….Complained again,, finally I got a ‘’lower category room on the 4th floor’ ’I was told they might refund me the difference as it is a lower category room,, I asked if they would offer any good will, for the time wasted, I was told : what have done wrong??

Sink and shower were blocked, called three times ,nothing was done.

Breakfast is a very basic.

I wrote to the General Manager while I was still in the hotel,,, till today no answer..!!

Staff are lacking basic operational skills and customer handling.

This place is a Russian package holiday camp,,, far away from being star rated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MaxDaoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 'Max D'

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely regret to learn that you were not pleased with your stay. I have inquired about the letter that you intended for our General Manager but could not locate this. If you could let me know through almario.mungcal@lemeridien.com with whom you left your letter along with any other details to enable us properly address your concerns. We look forward to receiving this and for the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Every time I come to Phuket, this is the only hotel I wanna stay. They have a nice bed, nice room, very friendly staff, most important : cosy private beach!! The price is reasonable. It is near to the nightlife but sit in quite beach, you can choose to stay in hotel for a quiet time or take a tuk tuk to Patong beach,'it is just too easy. If u want a relax, trouble free trip, this is the choice!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 'Jess C'

Thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed your recent stay and that we exceed your expectations each time you stay with us. Many thanks for making Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort your preferred venue whenever you are on Phuket. We sincerely appreciate your appraisal and endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Phuket again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Pros:
1. Nice private beach right at the doorstep.
2. Great for those with young ones - the pool is massive and there is a section that was shallow enough for my 2-year old to wallow in. The kid's club was well equipped with toys to keep her busy. There was a toy house on the beach where my daughter played hide-n-seek. We also arranged for car service to and from the airport which came with a child's car seat.
3. Good service. They offered to change our room to a quieter one when they placed loudspeakers right outside our room for an event one night. The service staff at the café were very friendly and recognized us within a day as we brought our little one there for meals every day - they knew to bring a plate of steamed rice on a kid's plate whenever we arrived.
4. Good food - there are a variety of restaurants (Thai, international, Japanese and Italian) so our palate didn't get bored during our 3-night stay. The quality of the food was good and we enjoyed our meals.

Cons:
1. Rather dated resort. We weren't excited about our room which was just adequate.
2. Quite far from the airport. The car ride to the hotel took 1.5 hours in bad traffic and rain (we were told it takes 45 minutes during a smooth ride).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaroloGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 'BaroloGal'

Thank you for your review. The average drive from Phuket International Airport to the hotel does take around 45-50 mins. As what you experienced, the ride could take longer though during heavy rain which obviously affects traffic as well. I wish you could have had a more pleasant journey to the hotel. It's great that your daughter enjoyed our child-friendly venues. Allow me to share that Australia's 'Holidays with Kids' magazine has again included Le Meridien Phuket in its 'Top 10 Family Resorts in Thailand' for the third consecutive year. As we celebrate our 26th year, we are aware of the need to continually improve our venues and facilities. In fact last October we completed several enhancements at the resort. All Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites were completely renovated and to date all 470 rooms and suites are renovated. A new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' restaurant has replaced the previous Le Cafe Fleuri, and the iconic Pakarang Restaurant has been refurbished as well. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we all wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Family Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £85 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing