We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful friendly but sad ending...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful friendly but sad ending...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful 12 days spent here, the hotel staff were fantastic, hotel magnificent and beach beautiful. There is so much to do here and very efficient staff. So sorry our 2nd last day I witnessed the tragic drowning of a man. I tried helping with CPR and staff, life guards did all they could, but it was not a happy outcome. I hope the hotel conveys our respects and let's the family know that we all tried as hard as we could to save him. We will defiantly come back again, thank you for a 100% holiday! worth every penny........

Room Tip: Only made SPA not good as it is very expensive, despite the discounts, the massages just up the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karinrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'Karinrac'

Thank you very much for your feedback. The Hotel Management is extremely saddened by this incident on the public beach. We thank you for your assistance and kind message and will try to convey this should we have the opportunity. The safety and security of guests is our paramount priority and we make every effort to take care of the safety of our guests. We extend our heartfelt sympathy and will continue to do what we can to assist with their needs during this difficult time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,822
    892
    246
    105
    73
See reviews for
1,006
1,262
106
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, staff were so friendly and room service was impeccable, the food (especially the buffet for breakfast) was so yummy and the beach is very clean which is a big contrast to the city's public beaches. Overall probably one of the best choices for a beautiful, clean and relaxing stay in Phuket, Thailand.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdw96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'Rdw96'

Thank you for your review and kind appraisal. We are happy to learn that all went well and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you again at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Cannot fault the rooms, which were really clean and fantastic with wonderful views, no complaints at all. Booked during the low season and the price and value for money was outstanding. The hotel has a "private beach" although there is no such thing, no outsider can access it unless by boat. The location is between Patong and Karon, so a lively day in the markets of Patong or a quiet day in Karon are only 10mins away. The dining options are many and diverse, with a great buffet breakfast. The only downside (NOT REALLY) was the amount of activities available (basketball, archery, mini driving range, chipping green, fantastic tennis and squash courts etc) for both adults and kids alike, within the hotel. There are a couple of shops, should you forget something, need a new suit (Fantastic quality and service) or simply need a haircut. The staff are all attentive, friendly and ever-smiling, brightening up the day. I spend half my life living in hotels for work, I would be happy if they were all like this...I will definitely be staying here when I come back to Phuket.

Room Tip: Cannot fault any, but choose an "ocean view" room. Doesn't really matter as all you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearloveslion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'bearloveslion'

Thank you for your review and we are certainly delighted with your appraisal. We are happy that your experience at the resort was not only pleasant but ideal and unforgettable. We are thrilled to learn of your approval, particularly after reading the extent of your stays in hotels. Thank you for your detailed feedback and we too look forward to your return. We all wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Today man (guest) drown in the ocean at the hotels private beach. The water had a tremendous under toe that pushed him to the rocks Hotel has a sign up not to swim but I felt hotel should have done a better job keeping people out of water. Other then then this unfortunate occurrence hotel is great. Very friendly great tennis courts. Gigantic pools.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mraplustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear 'mraplustraveler'

Thank you very much for your feedback. The Hotel Management is extremely saddened by the incident on the public beach in close proximity to the hotel. The safety and security of guests is our paramount priority and we make every effort to take care of the safety of our guests. Again, we extend our heartfelt sympathy and will continue to do what we can to assist with their needs during this difficult time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arriving at Le Meridien the word that came to mind was Impressive … having arrived quite late at night the check-in and hospitality was just as one expects from a Thai five-star resort.

The ocean view room had been freshly renovated and presented quite nicely with a balcony overlooking one of the pools and ocean. No bath. This is a SPG hotel and being a member has its benefits from considerations from the hotel group to discounts offered to members, so it is well worth joining.

Dining options are superb and plentiful. Room service was ordered around midnight and it arrived promptly, hot and was deliciously fresh. Breakfast dining is available from a couple of areas but one is the fantastic open-aired Pakarang Restaurant situated right in the middle of two absolutely huge pools & of course air-conditioned comfort is also available. Breakfast options are plentiful and varied to suit the most discerning of tastes; the produce absolutely fresh. Waiters are plentiful and highly attentive. The Thai people are absolutely beautiful, friendly and accommodating, it helps to put a smile on your face and appreciate their culture; they are never intentionally rude or unhelpful. Show your appreciation and it will come back ten-fold.

A number of shops with varied services are offered (such as Jim Thompson), beautician, jewellery, clothing. The services of staff at the spa were exceptional and highly skilled, options varied.

Le Meridien offer transport services into Patong on a regular basis … the times are quite good and the service regular and reliable. Patong is just short ride away. A nominal fee is charged for one way to Patong (Jungceylon shopping centre) and a modest return fee to the resort is also charged, however times are set and therefore predetermined. It is cheaper, comfortable and more reliable than arranging transport independently.

The pools are absolutely huge, clean and pool lounges are plentiful … The beach area is private to this resort and not one vendor or hawker was noticed, once again dining options are plentiful and there is no shortage of lounges either on the beach or at the pools. Staff monitor both the beach area and the pools. Overall, I was very impressed by this resort. The attentiveness of staff in all instances is highly reassuring. I found the majority of Le Meridien staff are quite well versed in English so overall there is not much of a barrier compared to the majority (in my opinion) of other Thai resorts. Security is evident, the high staff concentration ensures one’s needs are met and then some.

Overall, a wonderful resort where every need can be met without venturing outside if that is your wish. Great resort facilities for families, couples & very safe & accommodating for single travellers as well. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this resort, they never put a foot wrong during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashlen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'ashlen13'

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are certainly delighted to learn that your stay met your expectations. It was certainly our pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Don't be fooled by the decidedly 80's exterior of this hotel. The guest rooms have all been recently remodeled, are modern, and are in pristine condition. The public areas of the hotel are well-kept as well, and the beach is everything you've imagined for your visit to Phuket (clean, soft, large, warm water, cerulean blue).

There is no club room, but when I visited, platinum SPG members were offered (in addition to standard amenities) a free cocktail for the room occupants from 18:00-19:00PM in the hotel bar. We felt these drinks were a fantastic value (would have been about 700 baht/$23) as we watched the sun set over the beach from our table every day.

The reason I give this hotel four stars is because of the good, but overpriced food in the hotel's restaurants. We ate one meal at the hotel's Thai restaurant, and the the hotel's breakfast every day. Each of these meals were plentiful, and delicious. It was, however, painful to see prices at three times the local rates. There are no good walkable local restaurants, and prepare for the hotel to give you a really hard time if you order delivery (persist, and order form Lemongrass in Patong!!!). I advise visitors to rent a car/motorbike to visit the restaurants in Patong and Kata beach.

Room Tip: The hotel's beach view rooms are worth the extra money. The rooms that don't advertise a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'Alissa D'

Thank you for your review. We are happy to have you and do appreciate that you included us in your holiday. We believe that the prices in our dining venues are competitive to restaurant prices in similar category resorts on the island. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Phuket.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed her for one night after researching a lot of hotels and locations. We wanted to be close to Patong as it was a quick stop in Phuket.
Pluses:
- Hard to beat location – less than 10-minute taxi or TukTuk ride to/from Patong
- Beautiful beach that is private to the hotel
- Great front desk staff as well as staff at the breakfast restaurant
- For Platinum members, good recognition including upgrade, complimentary breakfast etc.

Minuses:
- The beach service is extremely poor. The life guard who also provide towels etc. were super rude. First, I saw one of them walking from beach towards the hotel and asked him how I can have towels set-up. He said I should help myself with towels from the stand and set-it-up on the loungers myself. Later he came and collected “Towel cards” from me for the number of towels. We used the lounging chairs literally in front of the shack where they had towels. When I was done, I asked him if I can have the key cards back. First, he told me rudely those are not key cards but towel cards and then he asked me to go collect the towels and bring it back to return the cards. I did not indulge him further and left the towels and the towel cards there and went to front desk to revalidate my room keys for a late check-out. I asked for the manager on duty and let her know. She was very apologetic. Later, when I was checking out, the Director of rooms came and apologized for the incidence;
- For food or drinks at the beach, you have to go back into the hotel bar and order it. I got a beer and coconut juice and they asked me if I can carry it back to the beach myself. I wasn’t too annoyed but it would have been awesome if they had this service at the beach
- The hotel looks old and tired. We stayed in a renovated jr suite, which was nice. The pool was huge but did not look very clean and on both days we saw a person standing over the pool and cleaning it.
- They told us baby elephant visits from 10:30 to 11:30 Am and in the afternoon. We told our daughter who was very excited about it. However, the elephant never showed up and that is fine but it would have been if the hotel had let us know that rather than my daughter anxiously waiting for an hour and half and leaving disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'CAWorldtraveler'

Thank you for your feedback. While we are pleased to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay we sincerely regret the lapses in our service delivery. I have shared your feedback with the team on the towel service and your dissatisfaction with the associate you interacted with to review. We are sorry that your family missed the baby elephant. His visits are actually regular. However there were days when his caretaker was unavailable or unwell. In such cases we were notified late. We do agree that we should improve how we communicate this to guests. Thank you for this feedback. We do hope you'll choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Phuket. We wish you and your family pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing