We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, warm service in a beautifully-appointed comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding, warm service in a beautifully-appointed comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The warm, personal service at this resort makes you forget how large it is. Every aspect of our stay was effortless and comfortable. The hotel itself is beautifully-appointed without being ostentatious, and the location stunning, on a pristine, private beach nestled between the hills. Our junior suites were spacious with comfortable beds, ample ocean-facing balconies complete with sun loungers and a thoughtful drying rack for wet swimwear. The oversized bathroom had a large shower which housed a standard shower fixture as well as an overhead rain shower head. Breakfast was included: a massive buffet with an impressive selection to please guests from all over the world, always beautifully presented with foods replenished continually. Pools were massive and well-maintained. The biggest impression though, was the service. The resort's greatest asset is its staff: warm, friendly and giving the impression that nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heifscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'Heifscott'

Thank you for your review and your encouraging appraisal. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciate the warm, personal service by our associates. We thank you for this. At the same time we are happy that you also enjoyed the secluded beach, oversized swimming pools, and our venues. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again and we all look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,781
    873
    244
    105
    71
See reviews for
985
1,239
106
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. It neither pleased nor displeased me and although there was nothing particularly impressive, our overall stay was quite pleasant. If you are looking for the unique experience of a smaller 'boutique' hotel, however, this is probably not the place. Our room was spacious and clean and service at breakfast was attentive. We didn't get the chance to check out the beach but there's a very big swimming pool. I'd say that some renovation is in order, but then again, there was nothing too obvious that needed fixing. If you want to be close to Patong, it is about a 5-6 minutes drive away. I would consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATravellerDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear "MATravellerDxb'

Thank you for your review. We regret that your experience did not completely meet your expectations. We certainly hope that you'll choose to stay with us again so we could provide you with a far better stay than just the pleasant one you had. We wish you pleasant journeys and look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the service provided by the staff. It was exceptional. Other good things were the beach, the large pool and the feeling that the hotel, despite being pretty full, never felt crowded.
The food in general was good, not exceptional and reasonably priced after the SPG discount, except for the seafood buffet which was very disappointing. The breakfasts were good if a little crowded/hectic, except for the last day when we went down at 6.30am due to an early departure. The food at that time was all cold!
The rooms were spacious, clean and had good size balconies. It seems like they had been recently renovated. However, if this was the case, then why didn't they rip out all the old dark wood fittings which gives the room a somewhat dated feeling? Budget constraints?
One small complaint was the state of a hire car we arranged thru' the hotel. The car was filthy inside and didn't appear to have been cleaned for months. If the hotel uses third party companies for car hire etc. then they should make sure they supply suitably prepared vehicles.
On the whole though, a pretty good and relaxing experience and fairly good value for money.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms also have a pretty good view of the beach/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnesupern0va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'champagnesupern0va'

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay we certainly regret that we failed to deliver in some aspects. Rest assured that your feedback on the seafood buffet. Thank you for this and for your feedback on the car provided to you. This is definitely contrary to our usual high service standards and we will bring this up in our next meeting with the transport company. Meanwhile we hope you'll consider staying with us again as we are very much looking forward to providing you with a much more enjoyable experience. We wish you pleasant journeys meanwhile.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Le Meridian for twelve days after a stay in Bangkok and then the rain forest and we were really pleased we chose this hotel. The beaches on Phuket are all public and are a little mad and crowded due to all the tourists even in low summer season. The Meridian beach is a cove and can only be reached by hotel or boat and has no facilities other than those at the hotel so it feels like a private beach. It was nice to visit the hustle and bustle of Patong or Karon and then return to the lovely hotel and it's gorgeous beach.

The sea can be very rough in August but has life guards. We were very careful when jumping in the waves as the undertow is strong. It was actually relatively calm for half our stay which was great. It may be worth pointing out that all beaches in Thailand are now not allowed to have sun loungers, umbrellas or beach huts. This included the Meridian. I was initially a bit upset by this as we like to sit on the beach. The hotel does give out cushioned mats but this isn't comfortable for a long day and there is no shade. However, I did change my view when I realised the Thai people were all very pleased with this as the beaches were previously jam packed with loungers and hawkers and it does look much nicer and more natural.

The hotel food is very good and although five star prices it is fairly comparable with other decent restaurants. The only difference is all hotels charge 10 percent service charge and a large tax on top of the price which does add up...this is obviously no fault of the individual hotels.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough. Keow ( sorry not sure I have spelt her name correctly) who was at breakfast and the beach bar restaurants was fabulous, knew our room number and preferences and was very helpful. The guys serving behind the two beach bars were also very friendly and got to know our order very quickly. I was pleasantly surprised throughout our stay in Thailand that all people are very helpful and tips although welcome are not expected unlike many countries. This was our experience in and out of the hotel.

Valentine the baby elephant who visits the hotel twice a day was gorgeous and his Mahout obviously cares for him and has a really special bond. We also saw him up the road where the big elephants go out on treks and we were pleased to see he has other elephant company.

We were a bit disappointed with lack of activities and things to do for teenagers at the hotel. Also my husband enjoys water polo and beach volley ball etc. All advertised but never really happened. I spoke to the hotel and they blamed the beach conditions which were actually fine. They did put up a volley ball net then no staff member turned up at the allotted time. The general lack of buzz and fun in the sports and activities area would be my only reason for not returning to the hotel. We don't want to be over organised but a little more enthusiasm from the sports/activities area would be good. We know they could do it as when the companies attending conferences turned up it was a hive of activity in the sports area. Meaning not only could we not use the facilities, it was noisy but it showed the staff are very capable of motivating people to join in when they need to.

That was my only draw back and I felt the need to point that out to others with teens or husbands needing lots to do!

We had a few issues with condensation in our room and our kids room door electronic lock kept failing. They also suffered from a big leak from air conditioning which went on their clothes. These things were mildly annoying but dealt with very quickly.

If it wasn't for the lovely staff and beach then I would give this hotel a four but given that we had chosen this area for our holiday i couldn't have picked a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OxshottLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'OxshottLadies'

Thank you for your detailed feedback. While we are pleased to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay we do regret the lapses in our service delivery. I have shared your feedback regarding the absence of the water sports activities you mentioned for the team to review and follow-through. As you pointed out, sunloungers and beach huts have been removed. This was done to comply with a directive in place throughout Phuket Island issued by the National Council for Peace and Order. Mattresses for the beach as well as sun loungers around the pool area remain available for guests and currently we are also looking into improving this without going against the government directive. We are certainly pleased that you consider the secluded beach a welcome respite from the other beaches. We also regret the equipment failure in your room. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again despite this lapses as we look forward to providing you with a far more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

An old established hotel that has just been completely renovated. The staff are excellent, food is good and resort is very family friendly. It is the only resort in Phuket with a private beach. I keep coming back with my family every year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Qyaqoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'Qyaqoob'

Thank you for your review and for making us your preferred holiday venue on Phuket. We are grateful that you continue to stay with us whenever you are on the island and are happy that we exceed your expectations each time. We look forward to your next stay and wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a business conference with other families. The resort is very well equipped with both resources and services. It offers plenty of swimming room with large pools, loungers can be a bit hard to come by right next to the pool. There are really nice options for dining along the beach front as well as poolside which is all chargeable back to your room (bit expensive but a nice treat) private beach is lonely and you can hire kayaks, windsurfers and paddle boards as well as snorkelling gear, there are also plenty of sun loungers with umbrellas for shade. This hotel does have a lot of Russian guests as others have mentioned on here, but that's Phuket! Friendly staff, beautifully clean and well appointed rooms. We had a miscommunication (perhaps language barrier) with a staff member where we thought he was being offensive, the manager came and spoke to us and apologised and explained the situation personally as well as giving our children a gift, this was much appreciated. Overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'Tracy L'

Thank you for your review. It's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay during the conference. We hope the conference was successful too. We hope you'll stay with us again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a nice time at Le Meridien Phuket; however, it was not what we typically see in the Le Meridien brand. In fairness, Thailand during the monsoon season is probably not the place to be. Although the weather was very good and the crowds were reduced, the ocean is impossible to enjoy - red, no swimming flags everywhere. Phuket in general, seems to be the play ground of the young, expat, backpacking, traveler - not really our thing.

The best parts of the Le Meridien Phuket:

Secluded Beach in a beautiful area. I suspect that this is one of the best beaches in Phuket when it is not monsoon season.

Valentine the baby elephant. I loved this little guy and our 14 year old daughter would give Le Meridien 6 stars for the elephant alone!!! He is cute, sweet, well trained, and just a joy to watch. He seems to really enjoy his time on the beach. He seemed to love his handler.

Restaurants - The Japanese, Thai, and Italian restaurants were beautiful and the food was very good. The ambiance at these restaurants was beautiful. The food was very good. I was not as impressed with the dinner buffet, but the breakfast buffet was very good.

Nightly Entertainment - We enjoyed the evening entertainment at the buffet restaurant.

Staff - Well trained and friendly.

Areas for improvement:
Renovations need to continue. The rooms have been renovated and are nice; however, the overall layout of the hotel is awkward. We had a bottom floor oceanfront room with a huge patio, but it did not exit to the beach (large railings all around). Instead, you have to walk all the way down the hall to the main entrance and then double back to the beach. So, if you left something in your room, it was a VERY long hike back and forth to retrieve it (and I say this as a fit person easily capable of completing the hike). There are some beautifully renovated areas, but the work needs to continue. The promenade area (where shops, spa, and restaurants are) looks brand new, modern, and very pretty, but the pool area is depressing. The pools are HUGE but nothing more than concrete. No landscaping, no decorations, no nothing! I have never seen so much concrete in my life. It is simply an eye sore. When the sea is too rough to enjoy (half the year), the pools are where people will relax and enjoy tropical paradise. This point is completely missed at the Le Meridien Phuket. Every sea front tropical hotel we have visited makes the pools very inviting, but not the Le Meridien Phuket. The pools were simply the most unappealing I have ever seen. I counted exactly two palm trees in this VAST concrete expanse.

I believe the Le Meridien Phuket is on the right track with its renovations program, I hope it continues.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a premier Ocean Front room but the awkward layout of the hotel (no beach access from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 'Tess W'

Thank you for your review. We are certainly not proud to know that the hotel did not completely meet your expectations. As we celebrate our 27th Anniversary this November, we are are aware of the need to continually improve our services and facilities. In fact last year, we extended our rooms enhancement programme by renovating our Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Oceanview Junior Suites. At the same time we opened a new Latest Recipe restaurant and refurbished the Pakarang. We will continue to improve other areas and your comment on the pool will be shared with the team. We hope you'll consider staying with us again and we wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing