We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hideaway but not good for service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hideaway but not good for service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

A friend and I have just come back from a 7 night visit here. When we arrived to the hotel check in took about 30 mins or so , we were given a drink but just wish it check in took half the time.

Arrived to the rooms , and it was nice but as it seemed like no one had stayed in their recently it was not 100 % clean. We wanted a little bit of luxury and booked the jacuzzi room, which was the best part about the stay.

We were not overly impressed with the services , everything took so long and it didnt seem like the staff were very happy doing their job. I thought Thailand was the land of smiles , but it didnt seem so and there is no little touches to make it special.

As its a bit hilly to get around the hotel , there is a tuk tuk service which takes you from door to door. Which is great but not when you have to wait 30 mins for one, whilst getting bit by mosquito .

If you are really looking to get away from the world , and have all the time to wait then this is the perfect hotel. As the hotel is in the middle of no where, they do offer a free shuttle to karon and Patong , which is very good and needs to be booked a day before.

Whilst we were at the hotel , there seemed to be complaints every day. We were even asked for our feedback and informed the management how we felt. However it doesnt seem like any action was taken.

Again , if you are really looking to get away from everything , then this is a good retreat.
Just wish the staff were more on the ball and would be better if there was decent service. Also again , for somewhere like Thailand you do expect one of two little touches to make it an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool room or spa villa as its the only bit of luxury you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel1986_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear love2travel1986_25

We thank you for taking your time to review your last visit at our resort and we assure you that we listen to all our guests when they speak out.

Actually our check in time is predicated on the amount of time required by the Thai Government to obtain certain information, prior to us issuing a Villa key, which is why we try to lessen that time wait by complimentary beverage.

It is indeed noted about our staff appearing somewhat unfriendly during your visit and besides giving language training we have attempted to instill some charm directed to our guests, however that’s sometimes lost in the cultural gap. But we will reinforce during our next training seminars.

Our hillside location is the reason customers choose our Hotel and, yes that comes with situations similar to being in the Thailand hills, complete with mosquito’s and other of natures little annoying pests, but we do try to control by spraying weekly.

Yes, we receive critiques daily, from our guests, some complimentary and some not.
Let me assure you we look into each critique and log into our records for management follow up. Your comments are always well appreciated in helping us to provide the quality of service that you expect for your “amazing stay” on your next visit.

With best wishes from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    357
    119
    50
    27
See reviews for
110
707
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We loved this hotel the views are just amazing looking over Karon beach and you can see the big white buddha.
The villas are built on a side of the cliff so it makes it very steep this is not a issues if you are not fit like myself as a TUK TUK is at the end of your phone, you just ring up reception the the guys just come and get you it takes all of 2 minutes and it makes it even more fun.
The restaurant was very nice and you looked out over the sea or over Karon beach, We loved it and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaringHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Sawasdee krub Khun DaringHolman,

Warmest greetings from Centara Villas Phuket!!

It is lovely hearing you enjoyed your stay with us this month. We all look forward to your return visit in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Sam & all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Everything's great - location, food, territory, room... 5 minutes walk from Karon beach. Nice and quite. Highly recommended if you value the quality of rest and sleep more than money :) The only con - aircon was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: actually all villas are Ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavelZhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Pavel294474,

Wonderful that you had such a delightful visit in our resort last week and we welcome you back any time for the same.

Regarding your complaint about the Air Conditioner in your Villa 122 you were correct as I visited the room after reading your review and had our engineers repair the problem.

Next visit please do not hesitate to call the front desk anytime, day or night, and we will attend to the problem immediately as there is always a Manager on Duty.

See you and welcome you on your next visit with us.

Yours sincerely,

All the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Ok the hotel is lovely. Up on the hillside away from the town. You can get a short TucTuc ride into Karon for a few quid or there is a jungle path from the hotel pool at the bottom of the hill which is a nice walk but DARK at night. Also watch tide times as you might get wet feet sometimes. The path leads out onto the beach in front of the main Centara Hotel.
Karon is lovely. Quiet on the beach but a few livelier bars at night. NOTHING to crazy though. The beach is amazing. Watch the swimming as it has a bit of a tide but nothing thing too serious. Just swim where the other bathers are if your not sure. There are lifeguards also.
The town next alon the coast is Patong. Read about it and its everything you will imagine. Number 1 though. Its safe. If your a nice person you will have a fantastic time. FANTASTIC!
There is a free shuttle service from the hotel over but you will have to TucTuc back for about a 7 quid.
The Hotel itself is really nice. Service is great. 4* prices. Top pool is quietest. Fresh towels to take to the pool or beach and STEPS.
Remember the hotel in on a hill/cliff in the jungle. There is a road that runs through the grounds and a free golf cart/buggy that can be called from phones at pick up and drop off points to take you around but if you reasonably fit its quicker to walk. You will learn to love those steps. Trust me.
All in all a great holiday. Would def go back again.
Tip: if you are going to hire a car is fine. Cheap to. But get an international driving licence from home first. They are only a tenner from PO but without it your not insured yet they will still let you have a car.
Tip 2 if you on FB look out for Jamies Phuket Blog Page

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Cubix F,

Thank you for your review of our resort and it’s unique settings and that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return again.

We do our best to maintain our service at optimum 24/7 and appreciate when our guests appreciate this and having an abundance of fresh towels available, anytime for the beach or our pools, are must for your comfort and thank you for taking notice.

As most of our regular guests understand the nature of our natural location on a hillside the steps are a necessary evil, however, we do offer the golf cart pick up along the way as an alternative.

We are centrally located, between Patong’s night life and the solitude of Karon and are pleased that you found the available transportation affordable and easy to use.

We welcome your next visit and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards,

Ross and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

When going on holidays I tend to pick the resorts that are out of the main town, both for relaxation and also because you generally get a decent deal due to the location. Saying that Centara Villas is only a 10 minute 'tuk tuk' away from Patong and will cost around 300 bhat ($AUD10) to get there, so don't worry about being outside of the action, it's nice to go to Paton and enjoy the craziness and then go home and enjoy the relaxation of the resort.

This hotel is not for unfit vacationers or visitors who can't walk up and down a bunch of stairs. They do have a tuk tuk for the villas closer to the pool, but as we were situated in the '100' villas so we had to walk up the stairs to the lobby as the tuk tuk didnt reach our villa. It's a small price to pay for the beauty of being located on the side of a cliff.

Otherwise very enjoyable stay, nice and quiet and amazing views. We got upgraded to the ocean view. I would not recommend paying the extra money if you are on a budget as the resort is situated on a hill with trees.

Watch out for the staff they can be a little bit dodgy. We went over to Phuket as 3 x couples. The first couple (Couple A) arrived who had pre-paid for their ocean view but were told they could not have it. The second couple (Couple B) received their paid for ocean view but when it came to ours (Couple C) - we had planned to pay for the upgrade when we got there but almost did not get it. When Couple A arrived they complained that they had not received their ocean villa, the staff then looked at the list of arriving guests and pointed towards our (Couple C) villa and said we will swap you with these people, luckily they (Couple A) saw it was ours and complained even further that they tried to take away our ocean view. It was all sorted in the end, so just watch what is going on.

Overall very nice stay. The breakfast is plentiful and the lunch and dinner choices are good. We paid for breakfast and lunch once, as dinner and lunch can be a $AUD30 affair, much cheaper options in Patong.

4 Star.

End Note: As usual when visiting Asian countries, don't drink the water, wash your teeth with the provided water bottles.

Room Tip: Rooms in the '100' cannot reach the 'tuk tuk' book in the '300' and '400...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Spammy,

Thank you for taking you time to express your views about our Villas and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Regarding the mix-up regarding your upgraded rooms let me assure you I have researched your complaint and the results as follows.

As you were a party of three families the confusion appeared when a single party arrived a day prior to the other two families. Upon arrival, even though they booked a ocean view due to extenuating circumstances their room was still occupied that day.

The staff always tries to do their best when situations like this present itself, however, sometimes we cannot control the situation, only offer an apologies and present the guest with a credit and some compensation.

When, the next day your other two parties arrived ocean view villas were then available and one of the parties had booked ocean and not the other. The staff had an obligation to offer the remaining ocean view villa to the original first arriving guests (I believe your parents) as they originally booked the same. They choose to remain where they were but did offer the upgrade to you which you took. As you indicated “all sorted out in the end” anyway so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We feel the staff acted in the most professional way to accommodate our guests and really have no motive to be dodgy, but sometimes nervous, that our guests are not pleased as I assure you all the staff only wishes our guests are pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family on a return visit soon,

Best regards,

Ross and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misawa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for from 18-22 April for mini getaway from the kids. We were in room 118. Everything was great! Friendly staff, great food, and convenient location. We will definitely be returning. Patong and Karon left a lot to be desired, but I think mostly because it was 'bike week' and it was very crowded. We got around this by visiting phi phi and surrounding islands (booked there at the resort). All in all the resort really showed Thailand's beauty by itself.

One recommendation. My wife and I took the Thai cooking class at the resort. Pricey, but you get a 5 course meal. The resort does take you down to a local market in Patong for an hour, but kind of leave you on your own. I would recommend cutting out the trip to the market kind of takes away from the experience. We were done browsing after about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Definitely book an ocean-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvargas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Dvargas 21,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your last visit and that you confirmed that you will return and we will look forward to that visit.

Regarding the cooking class field trip to the open food market, your experience of being left alone, has been noted and already passed on to our Chief Chef for corrections in future trips.
Thank you for drawing this to our attention so we can attend to making our service even better for our guests.

Best regards,

Ross and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion so those who love this place don't blast me for my personal opinion. Having spent many an hour researching potential hotels/villas for our return visit to Phuket, I chose Centara Villas based on Trip Advisor reviews.

Yes, we were disappointed in some respects. The villas looked great, some had views, they were clean BUT they were quite basic even considering we paid for an upgrade. Really difficult these days to live without more than two sockets, very small wardrobe and hardly any drawer space.Toilet wasn't separate which on holiday is quite a necessity if you know what I am saying!!
The best part of the villas was that you weren't attached so weren't disturbed by inconsiderate neighbours. It would have been great to have had some loungers on the balcony and not just chairs.

The views from the restaurant is really the main attraction but food we found to be average.
We would have spent much longer and more money in the bar if there had been comfortable seating and not just stools and directors chairs. The spa was very good value so I took advantage of many treatments.The pools were great but as usual you had to be an early bird to get a sunbed.

All our previous hotels have had mosquito spraying in the early evening together with shrubs outside. We saw no evidence of this and consquently despite taking half of "Boots the Chemist" with us, we were bitten so badly we had to pay visits to Pharmacies due to huge swellings.
I also agree some staff could have been friendlier. It is suppose to be "land of the smiles" and YES I do my best to try a few words in Thai.
We absolutely adore Thailand and have been many times but if this had been our first visit we may not have returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieanddavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Front Office Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Jackieanddaven,

Again we thank you for your candid opinion of our resort and would like to assure you that we take our guests opinions seriously.

Regarding the amount of outlets in each Villa we realized that is a problem and are currently under way installing additional sockets in each villa.

We appreciate your comments about the furniture in the bar area and we will certainly entertain some additional comfortable seating if the space allows.

We do spray as most hotel twice weekly as trying to be as green as possible and keeping that to the minimum has been effective.

Staff friendliness is import and our priority and we shall review with the staff in our next meeting.

We are pleased you took your time to draw these items to our attention and welcome you back to continue to “adore” Thailand and Centara Villas Phuket.

Warm regards,

Ross and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing