We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total waste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #33 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
KL, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total waste”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Villa Pool we stayed in had a dirty pool. It was not maintained. water heater didn't function properly. water was rather cold. Check in and check out was not smooth at all. Had to wait for a long time to clear even though there was not many people waiting. We were falsely told that wifi was chargeable and we found out later at night that it was actually free. Had we not call them to find out about the wifi charges, we'll be left internet-less. Everything about this hotel was negative. The hotel is up on cliff so you need a mini car to bring you to the reception desk, where the main entrance is. Out of 10 calls, only 5 calls were answered. Very poor service. Reception desk calls were never answered too when we want to complain about the dirty pool. Never had i experienced such flaws at every angle in other hotels. Yet this was the most expensive hotels we ever paid for!! THB10,000 a night! Totally a freaking waste.

Room Tip: If you were to stay in Pool Villa, avoid room #406
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazzyjapzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Villas.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We will work harder as a team to improve and hope one day you would return.
Safe Travels and thank you for your feedback
from the Centara Villas Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    360
    122
    52
    29
See reviews for
114
723
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Centara villas is actually located on a hill slope. The lobby is located on the top of the hill and the cottages are located on the slope. Mid slope they have created a platform for the swimming pool and from swimming pool there is a small way which leads to karon beach. Hotel claims its a 7 -8 min walk but this way is open only uptil 7 in the evening. The lobby is nice and is partially open exactly opposite the reception table giving a nice view of the ocean. Since the hotel is located on hill slopes and each cottage is located at quite a distance be prepared to climb a lot of stares. The cottages are a little small, but the private varandha outside the cottage is good, and bathrooms are also of good size, but the shower does not have a good pressure.
At breakfast, the buffet was ok. Limited options for vegetarians.
The hotel is pretty far from patong beach as well as from the karon Beach and the road is quite deserted so don't expect any hotels, small shopes or any other thing outside the hotel.
There is a bike rental agency sitting right inside the hotel lobby.
All in all if u like to spend your holiday in isolation, just looking at the green trees and blue oceans, you don't like to party, this is the place for you.
P.S.: Don't forget, there are too many stares, that too steep ones.... They do have tuk tuk, but even after that you will have to climb few steps.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ankitjjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and will work on our improvements.
Your feedback will be shared with the team.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel situated on top of a hill overlooking karon beach... Lobby, restaurant, bar and our hotel room had amazing views. We did a lot of researching on trip advisor looking at hotels because we wanted to stay somewhere nice on our honeymoon and we certainly were very happy with everything during our stay... Food at Restaurant,pool, walk to beach short walk through cool rainforest, spa, bar and everyone who works at Centara were so friendly. Def will be recomend it to everyone who travels to Thailand. Don't really know how anyone could write bad reviews about it really..Thanks centara!!Dylan and alison

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The good:
- the view is beautiful
- quiet
- staff is friendly
- close to beach

The bad:
- rooms were not the cleanest.
- rooms leaked because of heavy rain. Water on bathroom floor and main room. Water came in from the walls. Though the rain was heavy for a couple days.
- rooms were leaking for a long time because it's evident there was water damage for a long time. Paint was bubbly and musty smell.
- walk to beach needs a good cleaning. There is a nice walk thru the natural setting, but there is a lot of garbage/litter. Kind of ruins the moment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComebackShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am sorry we did not deliver per your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team and issues addressed accordingly.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Firstly Let Me start by saying that this hotel is certainly not as bad as some of the reviews state. I think people at times can be petty and very Nit picky. The hotel is far from perfect but I still had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Booked an ocean view room by mailing the hotel directly and had absolutely no issues, They responded immediately, Got a very good deal to be honest. We booked a car also through the hotel to pick us up at the airport. No issues there either. We were greeted by very welcoming staff and a lovely cold coconut drink. Check in was swift with no issues, As we were celebrating our Anniversary the staff decorated the room in rose petals and presented Us with a bottle of Champagne. Another really nice touch. Room was nicely decorated with huge comfortable bed. Now to tackle the steps and other issues that people are complaining about. Firstly its built into a cliff side so there are bound to be inclines, It states this on the website and also in numerous reviews. My advice is if You are lazy or have mobility problems stay somewhere else. There are 2 tuk tuks on site to ferry people to pools and restaurants, If I was feeling unwell from the previous nights escapades I would ring and the tuk tuk usually arrived within 2 to 3 minutes and brought You where You wanted to go. The views from our room and all bars and restaurants are stunning, I wish I was still waking up to them. Pool areas are nice and the only issue I had there was on some occasions towels were not available but apart from that really enjoyable. Food in both restaurants was really enjoyable and I thought breakfast was plentiful with a decent selection. Nan a young lady at breakfast is a sweetheart and has the best English of all the Restaurant staff. Some do not speak English very well but still their English is better than My Thai. Special mention to Sa and Wai in the Spa. Incredible views again and wonderful treatments. So good We went back on a second occasion. The hotel is about 5 mins either way to Karon or Patong by taxi. We preferred to stay here for the peace and tranquility. The hotel lays on a bus twice daily to both towns which is great and then You just get a Tuk Tuk back. All in all I loved Our stay and would definitely go back. Highly recommended. A peaceful haven with warm welcoming staff and stunning views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom71_Tina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and will work on our improvements.
Your feedback will be shared with the team.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm to check in, to be advised our room wasn't ready and that we had to wait in reception, 40 minutes later I had asked when our room would be ready...finally taken to our room the cleaners were still in there which was very frustrating after waiting nearly an hour. What makes everything more difficult is that none of the hotel staff speak very good English.
We were also shocked to find out we had to pay for the wifi as this is normally free at most hotels, we weren't told this on check in, I had to ask at reception what the costs were.
The room itself is ok, we have a deluxe ocean facing room, which you can't really see the ocean as it is obstructed by trees.
Trying to get towels is another matter, as reception had not given us a towel card we had to try and bargain with the towel boy to give us our towels!
The hotel is all set on a hill with some very steep steps up to reception and restaurants, there are tuk tuks but not very many.
The pool area is nice but the covers over the wooden sun loungers are very stained and tatty, the towels are also tatty some with big rips and holes in them.
The food at the hotel is nice, but the breakfast is hit and miss some days there are only small amounts left and some things not fresh.
Looking closely at this hotel it is slightly over priced for what you get, this is one of several hotels we are / have stayed at in Thailand and the most expensive and have to say it is one of my least favourites I definitely wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AB_SU48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am sorry we did not deliver per your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team and issues addressed accordingly.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our second to last stop out of a total of 7 hotels we stayed in on our recent trip to Thailand and sadly it was the one we enjoyed the least. There are a lot of good things I have to say about it, but equally some things did let the hotel down.

We arrived at the hotel around an hour before check in but the staff were very welcoming and a room was made ready for us. The room itself was really lovely, very clean and tidy, extremely comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was lovely, as were the towels and complimentary robes. We were in a spa villa and loved the jacuzzi and had a stunning sea view from our balcony.

We really liked the pool area, its very clean and again has wonderful views. Also the restaurant is nice, we loved the food although it was a little pricey. Breakfast is included and is brilliant.

Other good points were that we returned to our room from the beach to find a surprise fruit plate and bottle of fizz which was amazing! We also had a lovely refreshing coconut on arrival. The staff were mostly very friendly and the free shuttle bus to Karon and Patong is handy.

We did have a few issues however. The walk down to the beach is certainly do-able but not ideal and a nightmare coming back. Generally getting around the hotel is not easy - a hell of a lot of steps up and down to get to the pool or reception which is very hard work in the heat. There are a few little tuk tuks that whizz around so you're ok if one happens to pass you but the one time we phoned reception to ask for one we were told it was a 10 minute wait.

Another problem was that hardly any of the restaurant staff spoke English which was not ideal at breakfast because things such as bowls and spoons are nowhere to be seen and it was difficult to ask for them, and equally when we had dinner there and had questions about the menu.

A 10% service charge and 7% tax is added onto your restaurant bill, be prepared. We weren't over the moon about this but thought it was to be expected, until we found that it's also added on when you buy drinks by the pool! This we thought was crazy as there's no service involved - it's just a guy handing you a can out of the fridge which was already way over priced (about £1.50!!). You also have to pay for wifi which was disappointing.

We were unable to borrow towels from the pool, and we don't really know why. The attendant didn't speak English and just pointed us towards a sign that was written in really bad English so we didn't get it until we noticed people arriving at the pool and coming back from the beach with the hotel towels so we assumed they'd stopped lending them out because people weren't giving them back.

One night we wanted to watch the hotels in house movie channel but had to phone reception because it wasn't working. The receptionist said they'd check it for me but I never heard back so I called again after 20 mins. I was told again that it would be checked and then they called us after 10 mins to say they were sending someone to look. After then waiting for the repair guy we ended up missing the first hour of the film which was a shame.

After two out of our three days here we actually decided to check out early. This was no reflection on the hotel at all - we already had plans to meet up with relatives also staying in Phuket but when we found they were staying really close to the airport, we decided to spend the night with them as we had an early flight the next day. When we told the front desk we were checking out early they didn't ask us why which we found really odd. Then when we were in the car about to pull away, someone from the front desk came and opened the car door and said they'd had an email from their sister hotel in Phuket saying we'd had dinner there and hadn't settled the bill! This was extremely confusing and we explained we hadn't eaten there but the receptionist didn't look at all convinced and just said she'd check again.

So to sum up, we loved our room at the hotel and thought the pool and restaurant were lovely, great views, lovely food and a few nice extras. Really feel that the service needs to be improved though and would not recommend staying here if you're not fit and healthy because the steps and the beach walk are hard work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_Roe1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and will work on our improvements.
Your feedback will be shared with the team.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#23 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing